We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place! Romantic! Pleasant service! Recommend for Couples, Business, Solo, Friends!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Gananoque
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2015

Nice Place! Great Romantic View! Pleasant service! Clean! Would recommend this place for Couples! Business! Solo! Friends! Regarding Family's it's depends what they looking for...We are travelling with a small child. The room we got has 2 beds (I was too tiered to realise it right away). It's not really suitable, when you travel with a child. And the room pretty small for 3 of us. We didn't get a nice view. But it's ok. The place is nice and quiet. For next time would prefer something with a nice view, bigger size room, 1 king/queen bed(for child safe sleep) and with microwave and a small fridge. If they have it, don't mind to come back!

Room Tip: Recommend to choose a Room with the Lake View and Upper Floor for the ones, who prefer less noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L_Advise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2015

Thank you for your review. Should you choose to return some time we do have more spacious rooms with fridges and microwaves. We can also supply extra beds or pack 'n plays for little ones. There is a great splash pad and beach just a short walk away. Our small grandchildren recommend it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

198 - 202 of 531 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2015

Our room was huge in this nice, cozy inn, as well as the bathroom. It was the Prime Minister room.We had a sheltered terrace with a river view over the cottages roof, lot of silence, and a sunshining day that helped to enjoy the boat trip. Breakfast was good, although we had to wait a bit after ordering. The gardens facing the waterfront are beautiful and I guess that are used as a chill out in summer. Most of the clients were middle aged or elderly looking for a peaceful place. Excellent location to start daytrips to Thousand Islands or Prince Edward County

Room Tip: Ask for the cottage rooms facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pilar050756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2015

Thank you for your review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the spacious Prime Minister's Suite so named because we had the pleasure of hosting a PM a few years ago. While some of our guests come seeking tranquility many others take advantage of the activities in the 1000 Islands area from golf to kayaking to cycling to helicopter tours and more. Our staff can make recommendations and reservations for any adventure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2015

My husband and I spent a June weekend here with another couple while we enjoyed Gananoque's boat cruise to Boldt Castle, and the Thousand Islands Playhouse. It was a wonderful weekend and the inn added a lot to the experience. The staff were welcoming and gracious, and the Watermark restaurant provided a delicious dinner. The included breakfast was buffet style with a few more options and more personal service than a typical breakfast that is included in your hotel price, and the setting was more elegant than usual. The inn's location is great for walking to the theatre, to the boat cruises, to restaurants, and to the little bit of shopping on King Street. My only complaint was that there was no common room where we could play cards in the evening.

Room Tip: If you choose a queen bed, you also get a couch sitting area, whereas if you get 2 doubles there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ArmandaMoncton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2015

Thank you for your review. We are happy to see your lovely comments about our staff and your dinner in Watermark Restaurant. While we do not have a common room aside from the lobby on request we have set up a card table there in a quiet corner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2015

For those of you looking for old world with up to date ammenities then this is the place for you. I wouldn't say it's for young kids. No swimming or games. It's relaxing, romantic, quiet, excellent food, amazing staff, comfortable beds, very clean rooms, 2 restaurants, and it's right in the centre of town. Take the cruise to Heart Island!!!, but don't forget your passport. It's in U.S. waters. Take a great camera, and money for the great shops and restaurants. Even a live theatre around the corner.

Room Tip: They are all great. Depends on the types of beds. The girl on the desk is helpful enough to help y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank snowshoesnotallowed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2015

Thank you for your review. We are happy that you found our history and traditional style appealing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2015

We enjoyed a room by the river with views over the Thousand Islands, good food and service in the pub and the main restaurant, and excellent spa services.
A great centre for exploring this region of Ontario!

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2015

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your positive comments about both restaurants and our spa. We're glad you had the opportunity to sample our amenities during your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gananoque
1.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
1.6 km away
Country Squire Resort & Spa
0.5 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Thousand Islands Harbour District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Quality Inn & Suites 1000 Islands
10.9 km away
1000 Islands Harbor Hotel
1.1 km away
Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gananoque Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gananoque Inn and Spa

Address: 550 Stone St S | Ontario, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 2A8, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Gananoque
Price Range: €88 - €203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gananoque Inn and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the St. Lawrence River, the Gananoque Inn & Spa occupies the original the Gananoque Carriage Works factory. Converted to a hotel in 1896, the historic and charming Inn provides two river front restaurants, private docking, waterfront accommodation, and fireplace and Jacuzzi suites. The Inn is the perfect location from which to explore the 1000 Islands, the nearby UNESCO designated Rideau Canal and Kingston Fortifications. Golf, fishing, island tours, kayaking, cycling, summer theatre and shopping are just a few of the nearby activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Gananoque Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gananoque Hotel Gananoque
Gananoque Bed Breakfast
The Gananoque Inn And Spa Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing