We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveller rating
96
1
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
96
1
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pot of tea make tea on arrival home made cakes kitchen area warmest of welcomes sitting room b and b egyptian cotton sheets self catering overlooking the garden three nights bed and breakfast fresh fruit salad barn conversion received a very warm welcome lovely hosts
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 99 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2017

Much enjoyed two nights here in this beautifully restored old cottage, on the outskirts of Eye. Very warm and welcoming hosts, delicious breakfasts, and a beautiful garden to linger in. There's a gorgeous sitting room for guests' use, with an honesty bar. The bedroom was small but comfortable - there's a shower but not a bath. It's not totally quiet - you can hear some traffic noise on the Diss road, but only silence obsessives like me would notice that! If you're tallish like me, you'll need to mind your head on the low beams - but that's part of the authenticity! There are some lovely cycle rides near at hand - I recommend a gentle ride up the Waveney Valley. Overall, a place to treasure.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarcusWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

My partner and I stayed at the cottage because we were attending a wedding in the area. The place is hard to find as the satnav takes you to the wrong location, but once you know where you are, it's easy to come and go as there is free parking onsite.

When we arrived we were greeted by the lady who owns the cottage. It was raining and she met us by the car with an umbrella, which I thought was a nice touch. She gave us a tour of the cottage and showed were we could make tea and coffee, and gave us a key so we could come and go as we pleased. We then didn't see the host again until breakfast/when we were checking out, so it felt like we had the entire cottage to ourselves.

Breakfast was lovely. There was a wide range of cereals, fruit and juice available to help yourself to, and the host cooked you whatever you wanted. The food quality was lovely and the portions were generous. It was a lovely atmosphere - sitting in the conservatory, eating breakfast, hearing the birds outside.

The whole cottage had character, which was lovely to look at, but we struggled being so tall and did hit our heads on the low ceilings and doorways a lot; but we were warned to be careful upon arrival.

There was a television in the room; access to towel and toiletries; and the bed was very comfortable so we had a lovely sleep both nights.

We got to explore the barn next to the cottage also, as some family were staying there. It was nice having our own space but still being close enough to socialise. The barn was self-catering rather that bed and breakfast, so it was perfect to cater to everybody needs.

Although it was expensive, I would consider staying again if I came to the area in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank emma_pelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017 via mobile

Really relaxing and very friendly bed and breakfast - Aly is a great host - comfortable bed and superb breakfast in a quiet location - nice local pubs and walks - You can walk direct from the house onto the 'Mid Suffolk Way' - Highly recommended!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank B23G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

We've stayed here twice now; once in the main building (B&B) and once in Chobbs Barn (self-catering). The rooms are clean and well-equipped - the kitchen in Chobbs Barn would put to shame many full-size villas that we have rented, lots of pots, pans, crockery and coffee capsules. The showers work well, the beds are comfortable and all is as you would hope that it would be. The B&B breakfast was very tasty and filling.

More B&Bs should be like this place.

Aly is a great hostess and really tries to make your stay comfortable.

We will return when we are next in the Eye area.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CharAp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017 via mobile

Wonderfully warm welcome from Ali who was the perfect host!! Every little detail had been thought about and the breakfast was immense and out of this world!!!! Awoke each morning to the sound of birdsong feeling refreshed after a deep relaxing sleep within the folds of the duck down duvet and Egyptian cotton sheets. The shower was powerful and hot which is rare in anywhere but my own shower!!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sez007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews