We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best of the best”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
L'Ancienne Bergerie
Ranked #1 of 1 Galey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best of the best”
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Brilliant all round. Couldn't recommend enough, great host amazing view, top cheese selection :)))))

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nethen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
57
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

At this place you feel welcome and at home immediately. Here in a remote and genuine mountain village, Rebecca and Kevin Banks from the UK have renovated an old farmhouse to top standard. The dinners are a mix of French local with international infuences. Nothing has been spared in their preparation of the rooms and dining area, all with a relaxed and open atmosphere. From the hotel there are several hikes depending on what you want to see and how fit you want to be. We will definitely come back!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jobeStockholm_Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solihull
1 review
Reviewed 1 October 2011

We needed somewere to stop over on our way from St Cyprien to Bilbao before catching the ferry home to the UK. I'd found so many bad reviews of chain hotels in the general area that we decided to go off route and find something different. And we're so glad that we did. We were the only guests, the main summer season having just finished, and arrived at 18:30, to a warm welcome from Becks, a cold glass of beer, and a stunning view. Just time to freshen up before the (prebooked) 4 course dinner, starting with an aperetif of chilled muscat wine, followed by a fantastic Chevre Chaud salad made with salad ingredients from the garden (including walnuts) and the goats cheese from a neighbour. I have to say, neither M or myself are keen on goats cheese, but this really hit the spot, and we polished the lot off in no time. Main course of home-raised pork steak with fried apples from the orchard, potatoes and courgette from the garden, what a depth of flavour to the pork! (I'm pretty picky about meat provenance, and pork in particular, but Kev & Beck's pork ranks as good as the Old Spot or Tamworths from my local rare brred butcher). On to a locally produced cow's milk Tomme (from another neighbour), which was excellent, and needed nothing but a piece of Beck's home baked bread. And then (we were struggling by now), a quince frangipane tart, again from garden produce. Accompanied by a bottle of very acceptable red wine (I forgot to ask Becks what it was, but it was full of soft fruit like a Merlot).

And so to bed. A very comfortable, firm mattress, beautiful traditional French furniture in the room, and the bathroom was beautifully appointed (wish mine was as nice!), clean, thick fluffy towels.

Breakfast could have been a let down after everything else, but it wasn't. Tea, coffee or hot chocolate, according to choice, choice of 2 cereals, selection of (very nice) viennoiserie, home baked bread and selection of home made jams - it sounds most unlikely, but if you haven't ever tried watermelon and orange confiture then you should.

Safe to say that if we are ever in that part of the world again, we'll happily go back to L'ancienne Bergerie. And who knows, we may even go there specially and use it as a centre to explore more of the Pyrenees.

Thanks to Becks for making us feel welcome, comfortable and satisfied. Good luck, although I'm sure that with all the effort you have put in, you won't need it!

x
Chris & Moira
September 2011

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cestas, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Accueil trés chaleureux, chambre élégante et trés confortable dans cette ancienne bergerie admirablement restaurée , excellents repas variés et toujours joliment présentés, mélant les produits du jardin ainsi que ceux du terroir .
Nous avons passé une trés agréable semaine dans cette jolie vallée préservée du Couserans où les activités sont omniprésentes, en particulier la randonnée .

Merci à Rebecca et Kevin qui se sont toujours montrés disponibles et attentifs ..

En bref c'est avec grand plaisir que nous y retournerons.
Aliette et Régis Ardaens
Aout 2011

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank regis a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skien, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2011

2 nights at this fantastic place during TDF - that was not enough - the place, rooms and atmosphere is fantastic.
Rebbecca cooked fantastic with homegrown/ local food and wine and the nights got long in friendly company outside.
They showed us a nice walk to a tiny village-bar to watch the TDF caravan smashing trough.
We will love to come back for å longer stay and enjoy the friendliness and the great walking area.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RuneHjort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galey
18.7 km away
Chateau de Beauregard
Chateau de Beauregard
#1 of 4 in Saint-Girons
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
2.5 km away
Auberge de L'Isard
Auberge de L'Isard
#1 of 1 in Saint-Lary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
19.2 km away
Hotel Eychenne
Hotel Eychenne
#2 of 4 in Saint-Girons
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.0 km away
Haras Picard du Sant
Haras Picard du Sant
#1 of 6 in Saint-Girons
5.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
8.9 km away
Au Detour du Larrech
Au Detour du Larrech
#1 of 6 in Castillon-en-Couserans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
29.2 km away
Auberge les Myrtilles
Auberge les Myrtilles
#1 of 1 in Couflens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Ancienne Bergerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Ancienne Bergerie

Property: L'Ancienne Bergerie
Address: Lieu Dit le Chateau, 09800 Galey, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Ariege > Galey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Galey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a quiet location at 702m on the hillside of the Vallée de la Bellongue, facing due south, in the French Pyrénées. The renovated former "sheep barn" offers wonderful accommodation with modern comforts, rustic charm and delightful character. Sleeping 9 guests in four generous en suite bedrooms. Breakfast and dinner are served on the terrace in the summer months, with stunning views into the valley., and in the winter months inside the cosy living/dining room which is heated by a wood fire. A great location for walkers, cyclists and for admiring the mountain flora and fauna, or simple relaxation. Dinner is served to our guests, by reservation. Each evening a set 4 course dinner of home made dishes influenced by a south west France (Gascogne) theme, using produce from our garden and our home reared Gascogne pork, complimented with seasonal wild food picked from a plentiful source, and local artisan cheese. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing