We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (486)
Filter reviews
486 results
Traveller rating
208
163
69
27
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
208
163
69
27
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ferry terminal strip mall starbucks coffee complimentary breakfast central location front desk staff recommend this hotel one night stay business trip quadra island an older hotel room was clean small room would stay again pleasant stay hash browns french toast
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 486 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2018

Service was very good, especially Susan at the front desk, she was excellent. The room was immaculate, on the small side but so clean size didn't matter. The complimentary breakfast was very good, hot and plentiful. There was nothing we disliked about our stay and would book in the D.I. again.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels
Thank cgbergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy H, Manager at Coast Discovery Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Glad to hear you were a "Happy Guest" and we met your expectations. I will pass on the kudos to Susan!

Hope to see you again soon,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018

This is a clean quiet hotel which we used for one night on our way home. i would choose a hotel much closer to down town if i wanted to explore Campbell River. it's much better value than Painter's lodge and the service and cleanliness far out ranks it.but doesn't have the same holiday amenities.

Room Tip: Coffee is awful.Beds really comfortable with nice fresh linen.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy H, Manager at Coast Discovery Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

I'm glad you found us so convenient being right downtown in the centre of everything! Our staff strive to make sure every guest enjoys their stay!

Hope to see you again,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

Standard 3 star hotel, with the rooms and decor nothing to rave about. But the staff were 5 star and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable and comfortable, even with the air conditioning problems. It's not a destination hotel, but a base, so use it as that and don't hand around it too long. The area is filled with camping, kayaking, trekking, boating activities, so get out and explore. Then come back to the Coast Discovery Inn fora rest before heading out in the evening to checkout Campbell River's limited restaurants and nightlife - try the Beachfire Brewery, with superb ales and the best food I've had in BC.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms with air con!
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy H, Manager at Coast Discovery Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Nice to hear you found us to be in a good location and enjoyed our staff! We all strive to make sure every guest has an enjoyable stay and so happy to hear you did! We live in an unbelievable part of BC and are very lucky, awesome to hear you got out and about to see the surrounding areas. The whales have been unreal lately just right out front of the hotel passing by! Lucky us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

Stayed here for one night as part of a tour - Ideally placed for the harbour. Great for a walk in the evening although the rest of the town appeared closed.

Rooms clean and modern looking.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018

The rooms and hotel was a typical 3 star property however all the rooms in the south wing do NOT have A/C. I was not aware of this because I would expect that all hotel rooms in warm climates would have A/C. The room we had faced west and it was 30C outside - they provided a fan that blew the 30C heat in the room.

Room Tip: Only the north wing has A/C, the south wing is unbearable in the summer time -the south rooms have 2 queen beds, the north only has kings
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels
Thank Travellero20151204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy H, Manager at Coast Discovery Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2018

I'm sorry you found your room too warm but yes only one section of our hotel has air conditioning. Our climate is not considered a warm climate as we only have hot weather maybe for a few weeks at a time other than that we are a cooler climate here in Campbell River. Usually the cool breeze from the water is enough to cool down our rooms during the warm weather. If A/C requested at time of reservation we do our best to accommodate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews