We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$144
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comox Valley Inn(Courtenay)
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anco Inn(Courtenay)(Great Value!)
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$178/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (711)
Filter reviews
711 results
Traveller rating
273
246
127
46
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
273
246
127
46
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgames roomnew wingliquor storebest westernsthe riverfamily restaurantcentral locationolder partcourtenay bcfront desk staffmain buildingnice roombeds were comfortablepool and hot tubcontinental breakfastcomox valleyvancouver island
Filter
Updating list...
688 - 693 of 711 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2008

My wife and I are local to Vancouver Island (Victoria), and love exploring parts North for skiing, climbing, hiking and other adventures, but don't look forward to a 3h+ drive for a day of fun. Enter the Westerly ...

This gem is central to the lovely town of Courtenay, close to shopping and local attractions (skiing, golf, hiking) and a perfect staging point for access to points beyond (Northern Strathcona Park, Mt Cain, Cape Scott).

There is something for everyone: locals are all over the pub; we often grab a quiet pint in the lounge. Usually after a swim and a soak in the hot tub.

Breakfast in the restaurant is fast, and you can go as healthy or as bacony as you want :P

We've always had great service from the front desk staff and food services staff.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank sam_and_jaime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2007

Was there in November, rain was terrible. But was there for golf and it was 10 minutes away, great course, Crown Isle. All the ammenities of a GREAT golf trip right there at the hotel, did not have to go anywhere. Liquor store, good bar and lounge and restaurant all on the premises.
The Hotel staff was excellent. Beds were very comfortable.

Stayed: October 2007
2  Thank SCREAM11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2007

Stayed for 2 nights in November. The weather was terrible so we ended up stuck in the hotel more than expected, but had a great time. Staff were very friendly, and the restaurant and pub had great atmosphere. Rooms were large and very comfortable and clean.

Stayed: November 2007
2  Thank Crash222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2007

Having never visited Courtenay, I was pleasantly surprised by the beauty of this city. Our first contact was with a very cheerful and professional check-in person at the Best Western Courtenay Hotel.
The purpose of our trip was to golf, but when we were not golfing, we spent all of our time in the hotel. After our golf games, we loosened up in the hot tub and sauna. Then we went o the Snookers Lounge for a cocktail and to play a game or two of pool. we decided to have dinner in the Lounge and watch some of the hockey game.
Our waitress was great and she told us, we had to go over to the Pub to see a local band that had a karaoke component. Nothing short of pure entertainment.
The rooms were a fair size, very clean and they have 'heavenly beds'.
Overall, we had a great stay at this property.

Stayed: November 2007
4  Thank Screamer14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2007

We had our wedding at the Westerly and the wedding party stayed at the hotel. It was the worst hotel experience we've ever had. Thankfully we were able to not let the experience with the hotel and it's staff ruin our wedding however we feel the need to warn other engaged couples or travellers alike.
Our experience included:

When moving from our one bedroom suite to the Honeymoon Suite on my wedding day the staff offered no help.
A staff member being so rude (could be considered bullying, I'm not kidding) my 6 year old boy.
Banquets manager being incredibly patronizing and condescending.
Wedding Dinner Buffet being cleared while guests were still
eating.
Dessert being removed before we even announced it was there.
Staff removing unfinished wine glasses while guests were
dancing
Staff not manning the cash bar (I had to go into the back and
ask them to come out)
No tea or coffee served as per contract

We weren't the only unhappy people. Every single one of our guests that stayed at the hotel has their own complaints.

So far the hotel is unwilling to seriously address our situation and so far Best Western Head office hasn't been any better yet.

Don't think that because this hotel has the Best Western brand that you'll get the quality and service that you've received at other Best Western hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank SeanDVancouverBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D R, General Manager at Best Western The Westerly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to comment regarding your wedding at the Westerly Hotel.

As the new General Manager, I wanted to assure you that feedback is extremely valuable to us as it is through this input directly from our guests that we are able to continuously strive to deliver a positive and memorable experience for every guest.

Please accept our apologies for the fact that we obviously did not leave you with our minimum expectation of a positive experience. This is not the normal course of business at the Westerly, and this feedback has allowed us to improve both our service delivery and product.

We hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you in some way in the future. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your wedding.

If I can provide any assistance, please feel free to contact me directly.

David Rooper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews