We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,372)
Filter reviews
1,373 results
Traveller rating
710
409
154
61
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
710
409
154
61
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hydro path steam room ocean view romance suite orca suite hydropath experience steam cave get away oceanfront room murphy bed hot tub calamari mid week relaxing experience beautiful grounds recommend this resort couples massage
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 1,373 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2018

On a return visit to the Kingfisher Oceanside Resort to celebrate a birthday and a wedding anniversary, we were delighted to find the central courtyard transformed into a stunning garden with water features and fire pits. A major renovation project was also underway to upgrade one wing of guest rooms. Work progressed quietly and did not detract from our stay in any way as we were in the building closest to the waterfront.

Check in and check out were friendly and effortless. Our "romance" suite was lovely, parking was easy, and our view was pure coastal beauty. We treated ourselves to a visit to the hydropath and found it has been maintained very well over the years and is still an experience not to be missed. We also had one dinner in the resort dining room and a lunch and a breakfast in the bistro with separate TripAdvisor reviews posted.

The resort is ideally situated between Qualicum Beach and Courtenay which offers a great range of recreational, shopping, and dining opportunities. If complete relaxation is the goal, guests need not leave the property.

Room Tip: Suites on the lower level (#300s & 400s) have unobstructed ocean views and undercover parking.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Just2LetUKnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingfisher_Resort, General Manager at Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2018

Dear Just2LetUKnow,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent visit with us; we are so glad to hear it was a 5 star experience! We are so excited about the recent updates around the Resort and look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future to showcase the next phase of upgrades!

Warmest Regards,

Aaron Greasley
General Manager
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort & Spa
aaron@kingfisherspa.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018

My high school girlfriends and I have been coming here for mini-reunions for years. We love it! This last trip in particular was great as the spa and pool have been updated as well as the garden. We find there's lots of places to relax and unwind, whether it's sitting on our decks, wandering around the beach area, lounging by the pool, or sitting around one of the fire pits in the beautiful garden in the evenings. We had an awesome dinner at the restaurant and found that all of the staff, even the maintenance guys, were super friendly. We are already looking forward to next summer!

Room Tip: In the heat of the summer, the lower suites with patios are a little cooler. The units down by the ocean have the best views.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Catharine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingfisher_Resort, General Manager at Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2018

Dear Catharine P,

Thank you for your continued support over the years! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the recent updates to our spa change rooms and new Serenity Gardens! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warmest Regards,

Aaron Greasley
General Manager
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort & Spa
aaron@kingfisherspa.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

On the plus side, the resort is beautifully maintained with amazing gardens on the water. The grounds are not huge but very well laid out so you don't feel overcrowded. There is a small beach path to walk along and the sunrise is gorgeous. The decor throughout is lovely.
On the not-so-positive side, the accommodations are very nice, but there is no air conditioning so if it is hot, as it was on our visit, the rooms can be uncomfortable. Also, the bathroom fan was noisy and couldn't be shut off. ....don't know if this is deliberate since the rooms can get muggy....
We stayed in the ground floor ocean suite.
The layout is ok but the bathroom light shines through the glass door into the bedroom and this can be distracting at night....
Service was uneven (i.e. we had one small bar of soap that wasn't replaced for 3 days but 5 containers of shampoo which were not touched during our stay). The bedroom tv did not work when we got there but after several tries it was resolved.
Staff at both the restaurants and hotel were very nice and friendly but at times seemed inexperienced and service was generally uneven.
The food at the restaurants was very good but again, the staff and service was inconsistent.
Given the price for our stay, we were expecting better service and better functioning accommodations.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roni1166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingfisher_Resort, General Manager at Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2018

Dear Roni1166,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay with us; we are sorry to hear it was not a 5 star experience this time though we are glad you enjoyed our new Serenity Gardens and the cuisine in Ocean7 Restaurant | AQUA Bistro & Wine Bar.

We appreciate your feedback as we use this information to continually improve our guests' experience. Your comments on the dining service and housekeeping service have been shared with our management team. We hope that all guests bring any issues to our attention as soon as possible in an effort to rectify the situation prior to departure. This way the matters such as the television and bathroom fan do not take away from your overall experience.

We are excited to announce that starting with phase one of our Oceanview Courtyard renovations being completed this Fall, our rooms will now have air conditioning moving forward. It will take a few years to install in all 64 of our rooms as we are doing these major renovations in phases to lessen the impact on our guests.

Our sincerest thanks and we hope to welcome you back again for a 5 star experience!

Warmest Regards,

Aaron Greasley
General Manager
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort & Spa
aaron@kingfisherspa.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018

This hotel is in a beautiful position with great views across the strait of Georgia, the staff were friendly and informative. Our room was excellent with a mini kitchen and jacuzzi. Breakfast was great and the restaurant served fantastic food the hotel offers spa services. If you want peace and quiet this is the place to wind down and relax. We would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Vancouver Island.

Room Tip: Choose a upper floor
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bryancrawford54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingfisher_Resort, General Manager at Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2018

Dear bryancrawford54,

Thank you for sharing your 5 star review with us! We are delighted you had a quiet and relaxing stay in our Beachfront Romance Suite; it truly is perfect for a couples retreat or special occasion. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Warmest Regards,

Aaron Greasley
General Manager
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort & Spa
aaron@kingfisherspa.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018 via mobile

We chose this resort after checking out many other options.Thank goodness we did!

It was a very pleasant surprise to be upgraded to the honeymoon suite (and this after we arrived at almost 9 pm due to missing our ferry.)

When we checked in they knew me by name and the clerk was very pleasant.

When we went to our room,all I can say is wow. Two tv’s, fireplace,a kitchenette,and separate room with king size bed.

Water so close I could hear it lapping the shore from our bed.

We had the 1 hour hydro spa the next morning and it was the most unique experience I’ve /we’ve ever had.

It relaxed us so much, my wife changed her massage scheduled for later that day till the next morning!

We dined last night in the fine dining room.
We ordered wine and it was delicious.
We also ordered the crab parfait and seared scallop appetizers to share.Omg, they were so good I had to stop myself from eating her share too. Lol

I ordered the seafood pasta and she had the duck entree’. It was filled with shrimp and more scallops done perfectly.I cleaned my plate and well let’s just say, I have hated duck for many years and have avoided eating it,the Chef won me back after she gave me some of hers.

We finished off with Creme Brûlée and it was scrumptious!

We are already planning to come back for our 1 year anniversary

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Dale Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingfisher_Resort, General Manager at Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2018

Dear Dale Q,

Thank you for taking the time to share your 5 star experience and congratulations once again on your recent nuptials!

We are thrilled you had such a wonderful first visit to our Resort and got to experience all the Kingfisher has to offer. We cannot wait to welcome you back for your first year anniversary!

Warmest Regards,

Aaron Greasley
General Manager
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort & Spa
aaron@kingfisherspa.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews