We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous, huge cabin on the edge of town”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Golden, Kootenay Rockies, British Columbia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Wringwort...
Looe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fabulous, huge cabin on the edge of town”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

From the minute you turn into the drive, you know that Smiley Wolf is going to be somewhere really special! The photos do not do it justice - it really needs a floor plan as this cabin is very spacious with 2 lounge areas, an office table and 2 patios and a balcony. We are a family of 5 and we had more than enough space. The location is stunning - off the beaten track but just a few minutes into town. We loved Golden - it felt like a proper home town and as far away from Banff as it is possible to be!! The cabin has everything - a properly equipped kitchen, dining area lots of seating, two bathrooms, gas barbecue, fire pit, hot tub and masses more. We found it to be a perfect base for touring the area and you definitely need a 4 or 5 night stay to make the most of this place. Lots of thoughtful touches - beautiful art works, a childrens trail, a comprehensive information book. We went up to nose around the other Mount 7 lodges nearby and to be honest we loved Smiley Wolf more even though the others looked good too. Listen out for the train whistle in the morning - fantastic. Definitely would recommend this place summer or winter.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The road up is off the beaten track but you get used to it after a couple of rides
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everywher...
London
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great mountain lodge”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Excellent lodge with everything you need to enjoy a few days in the mountains: hot tub, wifi, full kitchen, tv etc. just outside golden, close to hiking & biking trails. Loved it!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisandM...
Okotoks, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Home away from the Hill”
Reviewed 17 April 2013 for a stay in February 2012

If you don't feel the need to be right on the ski hill this is an excellent alternative. We travelled with our two teenage sons and a friend for each. The cabin is spacious up to date and well equipped. The hot tub provides that welcome respite at the end of a long day on Kickinghorse Mountain. The drive to the hill is only 15-20 minutes and well worth it for those who like to cater for themselves.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew F
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
“It was a shame we couldn[--]t stay longer”
Reviewed 28 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

The manager of the property was very helpful and down to earth. After taking a quick tour of the property we'd regretted the fact that we did not book a longer stay. We're seriously considering returning to this place. The Cabin overlooks the scenic Kicking Horse Valley, provides all of the amenities of home, a fire pit (wood and axe), hot tub and hammock. If you arrive in August the cabin is surrounded with carmine jewel cherries and saskatoon berry bushes which we were able to pick fruit from to enjoy with breakfast. If you are traveling with a family there is a small hand crafted play house in the back yard for kids to enjoy. The only two things that would have made this place even better would be an allowance for pets (we were not traveling with our dog, but would be in the future) and a stereo equipped with an auxillary-in jack or ipod dock so we could play our own tunes. We highly recommend Smiley Wolf.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being surrounded by berry bushes and cherry trees.
Liked least: A no-pet policy, lack of a stereo with aux-in or ipod dock.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RaniM59
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Loved every moment”
Reviewed 22 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

The cabin was excellent . Clean, large, very well equipped .
The location is a bit out of town though it's quit and surrounded by nature.
We highly recommend !!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Liked it all
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$218
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing