We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service......fresh, flavorful food”
Review of Cantina Del Centro

Cantina Del Centro
Ranked #3 of 108 Restaurants in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$17
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have the opportunity to eat at Cantina Del Centro about a dozen times per year when in town on business and I have never been disappointed. My latest visit, November 19/2018 was more of the same.....great service from Jazmin and Vanessa who were engaging, full of information about the menu and the new location and quick to explain their "hamburguesa" special served in conjunction with a local Nelson promotion.
Our table ordered a variety of tacos, the usual market salad (always fresh and full of flavor) and the burger special which was a huge hit! The food was complimented with a number of bottles of Modelo Nergra Mexican Lager, all served in a timely manner by our wait staff in the cool decor at this funky little restaurant.
Looking forward to my next visit already!

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bigrich53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The food was quite good (not exceptional), and the staff very friendly (but distracted). This must be Nelson’s tiny attempt to replicate San Francisco’s Zuni Cafe from many years ago.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Poxbox61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nelson has become known as a "food gourmets" holiday destination because of restaurants like Cantina. With no restaurant chains in town (unless you look really hard) but lots of different dining experiences restaurants like Cantina give you authentic, excellent and different dining experiences. In a town full of great restaurant choices Cantina is one of the top! If you like authentic Mexican try this, you won't be disappointed.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2018 via mobile

We stopped in and had an enjoyable time listening to the music and soaking up the atmosphere of late tourist season. The food was OK too.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank danielles532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2018 via mobile

Recently had occasion to visit Nelson, a town known for its funky vibe and multitude of great restaurants.
I had occasion to take lunch at this restaurant and although the food was a 7 out of 10 for quality, fla our and price, the staff seemed disinterested and disengaged. Refills of water were slow and refills of more potent beverages non existent. Lots of chatting time between floor staff that could have been roaming restaurant serving guests and doing quality checks. Odd thing to say but if you are hungry do not pick this restaurant. Problem would be resolved with a floor manager in the restaurant and someone in the kitchen as expeditor.
Feels like no one cares there and it is to a degree the same feeling the food invokes. Sad really because the comcept at the restaurant could work

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Carl N Katherin... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cantina Del Centro also viewed

Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
 
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
 
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Cantina Del Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing