We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (542)
Filter reviews
542 results
Traveller rating
313
166
33
21
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
313
166
33
21
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the west coast grill overlooking the marina prestige lakeside walking path lounge chairs pool and hot tub water front grassy area coffee shop a lake view room rooms are large small balcony business and pleasure the ground floor lake and mountains place to stay within walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 542 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Enjoyed our anniversary thoroughly. Room was great with a lovely view of the marina and mountains. We had a glass of wine (wine glasses are provided in the room) on our balcony. Ate dinner at the West Coast Grill which was fabulous. Highly recommend the cold and the hot seafood towers! Brussels sprouts were yummy too. Front desk staff were polite and friendly. Couldn't have asked for a better hotel to celebrate. This could be an annual destination!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank TrailSoccerMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, Manager at Prestige Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind words and this wonderful review! Have a great day! John Le Bleu, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018

We stayed for 3 nights in the African Room. It was very nice, a corner room with full views of the lake. Full jetted tub in the room, king size bed. Nice deck to sit and have your morning coffee.Breakfast was good in the restaurant. We will go back.

Room Tip: splurge and stay in the african room or any theme room available. Wont be disappointed.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lisa1416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, Manager at Prestige Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Thank you for your review Lisa. We strive for 100% satisfaction, and it is great to see you had such a positive experience at Prestige Lakeside Resort & Convention Centre. Have a wonderful day, John Le Bleu General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018 via mobile

Ended up choosing this place after some friends said they stayed here, wished I asked more questions and read reviews first!
I will not recommend this place, for $300+ a night, I would expect my bed to be the comfiest of them all, and it was not, all you pay for is the lake view.
The beds were Hard and lopsided, it seemed like I fought the whole time just to stay on the bed and not roll off to one side. The mattress hard, so if you have back or joint problems, you may want to think twice. Super soft pillows.
Small balcony area, not enough to easily walk past another guest sitting with you.
Quite a walk uphill to the main shopping street of Baker Street. A mini mall just steps away though.
A great restaurant on location, with lots of patio seating.
There is a nice walk way along the lake.
Our room was equipped with a mini fridge, coffee maker and a small desk.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank JustATravelGurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights, the room was lake view with a small balcony which had two chairs which was good for morning coffee, or a glass of before bed. Room was clean the hotel does seam to be a bit dated but in good shape.
We ate at the hotel restaurant ( West Coast Grill) very nice patio food was good. Happy hour 3- 6 is a good deal, appies $7.50 and $5 drinks, my daughter used the pool each day which was clean and warm. It’s a easy walk to downtown restaurants and pubs. ( we really liked the Cantina Del Centro). Room prices are on the high side, but location is great.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank krakengoodtimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2018

Friendly staff, nice restaurant, and there is actually two bars. For the price which is affordable, that's about as nice as it gets. I stayed there one evening, enjoyed it, and it was walking distance from other establishments in town to eat and drink. Depending who you are, I'll explain below, will determine how long you want to stay here in Nelson.

Heads up if you're NOT FROM the west coast area of the USA all the way up to Alaska. I never thought I'd get in an argument over asking for a stupid straw. Yes, a straw. Apparently, asking for a straw for your drink can start a world war crises in a bar the closer you get to the west coast. People tend not to mind their own business about it, they act all hurt, and because people have nothing else to do in their life, they take it upon themselves to save the world by eliminating straws which was a movement started by a 9 year old kid 8 years ago using bad numbers and had nothing to do about a stupid sea turtle choking on a straw off some stupid island out in the Pacific with a population of 500 people.

If you are traveling from mid-America/Canada and are making your way west, just keep in mind that the salt in the air destroys brain cells, and you start running into those people who are absolute idiots starting around Nelson who tell you that you are a bad person because you want a straw with your Crown and Coke. I asked for ice too, hope I didn't accidently kill a polar bear by doing that.

I'm from mid-America, former military, work in Oil, and generally mind my own business. These traits are considered bad things in Nelson, and it's also where a lot of Americans went when they fled the Vietnam war, so there are 70 year old hippies walking around town I guess looking for a festival or something. Most of the people in Nelson are nice, but just be aware of the environmental-wacked-out-pot-smoking idiots.

Wouldn't have brought this up if the idiot in the restaurant would have minded his own business, and not confront me and the world because we use stupid straws. But don't worry about the hippies at this hotel, I didn't see any, just some stupid people.

Other than that, nice place, nice room, the staff was awesome, waiters and bartenders were cool, and they didn't seem to mind straws.... for god's sake..... straws.

Room Tip: Ask for lake side if have a choice and avoid straws....
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, Manager at Prestige Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2018

We appreciate you taking the time to let us know how we did. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our beautiful waterfront location. I am sorry to hear that you were disturbed by one of our other restaurant patrons. Please know that not all Nelsonites, BC residents or West Coasters are like this. We are generally polite and accommodating folks.
We hope you will come to stay with us again, and that you will find the locals more welcoming.
Thank you for choosing the Prestige Lakeside Resort Nelson.
Melanie Leeming
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews