We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge collection of cheeses to choose from.”
Review of Le Grand Fromage

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Le Grand Fromage
Ranked #46 of 108 Restaurants in Nelson
Restaurant details
Reviewed 12 October 2018

We came across this little nugget of gold only yesterday (3 days before we leave Nelson (we've been here 5 weeks!) and were very impressed with the whole selection of artisan crackers, chutneys and jams to accompany the cheeses on offer.

Will definitely be back when we return in May next year.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Hazel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (11)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 11 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2018 via mobile

Delicious imported and local cheeses, and lots of other fun goodies! So many delicacies in a single shop.
The young man working was very helpful, and educated.
The only thing I could recommend is some samples for those who are making several purchases. I was buying $40 worth of cheese so I had hoped there would be some samples offered but I had to ask for 1 and he said yes.
Otherwise super high quality & helpful, informed customer service. Definitely will return!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank marybM4141AP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2018

Their specialty grilled cheese sandwiches are a real treat. They have a great selection of cheese but you have to be prepared to pay for the experience. The shop is quaint with a lot of culinary specialty items.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank KootenayBliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2018

This is a very nice cheese shop . Lots of variety, fair price , generous with samples and knowledgeable . I bought some cheddar infused with scotch whiskey .. yum! Only drawback.. the caramels at the counter looked good but were grainy and terrible ! Not even worth a buck a puece. Threw them out!

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Debra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

I came after seeing the review saying there was vegan cheese, but there was none or the employee didn’t know about it.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank AnnieB2764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Grand Fromage also viewed

Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
 
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
 
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Le Grand Fromage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing