We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveller rating
4
5
5
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
4
5
5
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gravel road great campground campers facilities fishing
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 18 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2018

It is a nice area though on the lake close to Port Alberni on Vancouver Island. About 5-10 km going towards the entrance are unpaved road ... which I was told is terrible when the fall comes because of the potholes.

The problem is the very strong winds that are blowing all day and all night! There are people who are renting all year round there ... living seasonal there and they built some sort of weird construction around their huge RVs to block out the wind!

So for whomever would like to explore it ... and you go with the tent ... get some wind breaker to put it in front of your tent looking towards the lake. And ... do not put any tarp above the tent ... otherwise you'll not sleep at all ... the wind and tarp together are like an orchestra!!!

The recycling at this campsite is terrible! There is nothing actually ... there are 2 washrooms, no facilities for drinkable water or to do the dishes. The bathrooms and showers are clean though

Room tip: Choose sites with trees and bushes in front of it
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caddy2016, General Manager at China Creek Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

Thank you for your feedback and yes it can be windy here but those afternoon thermals also draw kite boarders and kite surfers alike. We do have sites on the "Creekside" that are more protective from the elements and when the weather heats up, the cool ocean breeze can be very relaxing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2018 via mobile

We’ve never been treated so rudely by any staff anywhere and we travel, They made with our reservations and refused to acknowledge it. Easy fix on in an un full campground but they choose to be obstinate and difficult.
Also, too small of campsites in areas and no rhythm or reason to pricing, partial hookups the same as none. Nice location but they need new management. We left.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caddy2016, General Manager at China Creek Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

It is most unfortunate your stay did not go as anticipated. Should you give us a chance to redeem ourselves, please reach out to me in advance to ensure all arrangements are to your satisfaction.

Mike Carter
mcarter@alberniport.ca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018

We had a fantastic stay at china Creek Campground. The view from our campsite was the best. We enjoyed waking up to the birds signing in the morning and the luxury of having hot and cold running water, very clean washrooms and showers were the best by far. Thank you for a great stay

Room tip: This is a camp ground
Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank kenmarilyn21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caddy2016, Manager at China Creek Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Thank you for the kind words and for staying with us. We can't wait to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

Biggest issue was getting to the campground. Rough forestry road with big rocks and fast drivers for about 10km. Once we got to the campground it was good. Lakeside with nice views, clean shower facilities. Probably wouldn’t stay again due to the roads getting there, but other than that it was pretty good

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank joshg46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caddy2016, Manager at China Creek Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Thank you for the review, Josh. We agree that the gravel road isn't ideal, but as you've stated, once you get here there are great views and facilities. We do hope you'll brave the gravel road and come out to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018 via mobile

Stayed there for may long 2018. There were some rowdy campers the first night. But they have amazing staff (especially the evening/night attendant). She was very helpful and the party site was evicted. I'm all for drinks and having a good time, but these people were screaming at 2 a.m. and threatening to kill each other and having fist fights. The rest of our stay was incredibly peaceful and relaxing. Facilities on site were cleaned daily. They have a large community fire pit surrounded by picnic tables. It's right a long the ocean as well as the creek. We honestly lived it all and will be going back there for sure.
Thanks for everything guys!!!

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Travelbus74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caddy2016, Manager at China Creek Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Thank you so much for your review and we're happy we were able to turn your night around from the party site. Can't wait to have you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews