We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent-had everything I needed” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Trail
Certificate of Excellence
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent-had everything I needed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

Comfortable, clean, well appointed, everything I needed, including a fitness room, a restaurant, and free internet. The only drawback, is the price, and the up front deposit of $300 per night, no matter the price of your room. For 3 nights I paid $900 up front, on VISA, so have enough room! Final price was $571.00 (169$/night). Really close to a McDonald's, 3 blocks away from fabulous spaghetti at Le Colander restaurant, and from Trail's End another recommended restaurant.

Room Tip: I never really looked out of the window, view did not matter here. Once you're on the street, yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Farida D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewRogersGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Thank-you so much for the wonderful comments! We are dedicated to providing our customers with all the amenties expected in a large city. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    82
    34
    8
    2
See reviews for
39
40
11
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

We had been staying in Trail for work but stayed up the hill in Rossland. As the weather got worse and the hill got very icy we decided to stay in Trail and stopped in at the Best Western. We asked for a Corporate rate which gave us a better price (we WERE working in Trail) and were impressed with the room and the bed (very comfortable). Their rack prices are very high which discouraged us from even stopping before but like I said....ICY roads made us try it. We were looking for a place to eat that night and the staff suggested the Smelter pub across the road which offered the most amazing hamburgers. They didn't have much else on their menu but these burgers were HUGE and the ambiance in the pub was cool. It is a VERY old building and the locals that were in there were friendly and told us some of the history. All in all nice!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzi_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewRogersGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Thank-you so much for your wonderful comments. We look forward to serving you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnaby
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

We stayed at this hotel for one night, Oct 1, 2011. Although very clean, centrally located in Trail, we felt that it was a bit over priced. We paid through internet booking $170.00
Considering it is Trail, not downtown Vancouver, we felt this was rather high. It is clean, the restaurant is open early in the morning. The room is comfortable, the bed was a queen size, nice fluffy pillows.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mammatVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

It's an older building but completely redone inside. the bed was great as usual.
The staff was terrific

Room Tip: King size bed is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patriciamcinnis55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagle, Idaho
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

This is a nice hotel that has been renovated completely and tastefully. Rooms are smallish but very nicely done, flat screen TVs, comfy bedding and pleasing decor. We found it very clean and enjoyable. Excellent Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BMan25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewRogersGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2011
Dear Guest: Thank-you so much for your wonderful comments regarding your stay with us. These remarks truly compliment our commitment to you now and in the future. We always invite valuable feedback from our guests! Please stay with us again the next time you are in Trail and we will be delighted to take care of all your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trail
2.4 km away
Glenwood Inn & Suites
6.8 km away
Prestige Mountain Resort Rossland
7.6 km away
Casa Alpina
Casa Alpina
#4 of 4 in Rossland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 km away
Sandman Hotel Castlegar
Sandman Hotel Castlegar
#4 of 8 in Castlegar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
22.7 km away
Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites- Castlegar
23.0 km away
Fireside Inn & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Hotel
Address: 1001 Rossland Ave, Trail, British Columbia V1R 3N7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Trail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Trail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the mighty Columbia River in the West Kootenay region of British Columbia, Trail is a special place of international sport and civic pride, of natural beauty and industry. You will find our award winning boutique hotel downtown in the heart of Trail's business district - your own personal oasis and a true home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Trail
Trail Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing