We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveller rating
30
17
16
10
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
30
17
16
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews on site restaurant place to stay nice outdoor pool liquor store older property an error dining room return trip room was clean and comfortable newfoundland ferry cottage pet tv sandra amenities accommodations wifi
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 81 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2018

The Clansman was a great place to stay with my 2 grandsons. The outdoor pool was open early in the morning and closed at dusk. It was enjoyed by all. The rooms were clean and the restaurant has a great variety of dishes for all to enjoy. Very friendly and helpful staff, great location and near all amenities.

Date of stay: August 2018
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra A, Public Relations Manager at The Clansman Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to write us such a lovely review. We always enjoy hearing about how our guests enjoyed their stay. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and hope to see you next time you are in the area.
Melanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018

Good place to stay if you are not looking for anything too fancy.This business has been family-run for 52 years. It is dated,but clean and it was just what we were looking for in a place to lay our head for the night. There is a restaurant in the motel as well as a few restaurants in the vicinity. Convenient for those booked on the ferry to Newfoundland.
Staff very friendly and helpful.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Fran K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra A, Public Relations Manager at The Clansman Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we always appreciate all feedback from our customers. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and everything met your approval. Thank you.
Melanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018

We recently stayed here for a family gathering in the area. July 2018 ...booked because of its location. The staff very accomadating, (sp?) & friendly. However, the hotel is in need of a "facelift" ...rooms clean but old....

Room tip: A room near the main building area...ie closer to the restaurant
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank danieldD3294CI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra A, Public Relations Manager at The Clansman Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review we appreciate all feedback from our customers. We are currently working on updates to our rooms and property, as we are an old motel, 53 years. We are glad that you did enjoy your stay with us.
Melanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018

This is an old property but is kept up well. Room was clean and comfortable. The restaurant that is attached served good food at a reasonable price. They have a pool. WiFi was good. The only bad thing about our stay was that the TV was still in store display mode and they couldn't find the TV remote to fix it. But all in all it was a good stay.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Thank spbuchanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra A, Public Relations Manager at The Clansman Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review we appreciate all feedback from our customers. Thank you for bringing the TV issue to our attention we will have someone check that and fix it right away. We are glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you if you are ever back in the area.
Melanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018

this is a nice older property. It is well cared for and convenient to the highway, but in a quiet almost park like setting. We enjoyed a good night's sleep and it was convenient to visit the waterfront and other attractions. There is a restaurant attached but we didn't eat there (just because of timing) which would be handy for many travelers.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BCbikeGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra A, Public Relations Manager at The Clansman Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We always enjoy hearing about our guests stay and are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much. Hopefully we will see you again and next time you will be able to stop by the restaurant for a delicious meal.
Melanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews