We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (262)
Filter reviews
262 results
Traveller rating
241
18
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
241
18
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother gueststea roomnova scotiadutch pancakesbaked goodswonderful hostssun roombreakfast was delicioushost hostessenjoyed our stayyogurttruro arearoom was spotlessgreat coffeewealth of informationlovely homeeach morning
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 262 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2018

Backer's Chest is superb. We enjoyed a gorgeous room and the kind of warm welcome you can only hope for from hosts. Topped off with a luxurious and indulgent breakfast of the most delicious kind. Beautiful! We deeply valued the chance to get good advice from our local hosts which enhanced our Nova Scotia journey, and to hear what life is like for those that live in this beautiful region. We are so grateful for your kindness to us while we were there.

Room Tip: All of them are lovely.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2017

Great breakfast, bed and personal company. This is the best rated B & B in Truro and after an 8 day stay we can see why. Delightful breakfasts with a European ( Netherlands) influence, great beds to get a good rest, and very engaging conversation time with the proprietors.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MiltonJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017

Need I say more? The other reviewers have summarized well. I will add that our arrival was delayed due to seeing, doing and being tourists on the Atlantic side of Nova Scotia. However, we called to say that we would not be able to arrive until 9:00 pm. As we pulled into the drive, the lights were on and our hosts were waiting to greet us. Our room was amazing! Breakfast the next morning was a Dutch "pannenkocken" made-to-order. Mine had bacon and apple. My friend ordered up a fried egg on top. Conversation with our hosts was delightful. I don't think there would be a better place to stay in all of Nova Scotia. Truly.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Hollis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017

This was a wonderful experience and our first ever B&B. It did not disappoint. The rooms are immaculate, comfortable and decorated well. The bathrooms have good lighting and come with many supplies you may have neglected to pack - cotton swabs, etc.
The breakfast was awesome. We had a Dutch breakfast of bacon and apple crepes. So tasty. The homemade granola was yummy. The entire experience was a 5 star for sure. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: This is a B&B. All the rooms are tidy but offer comfy beds.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

WE had the great fortune to have found this B & B while in Truro, and it was a real lucky find.
The Host & hostess were from the Netherlands, so their breakfast was a number of Dutch specialties that they like to make for their guests. What a treat, and oh so, delicious.
The room was huge and beautifully decorated, and very clean.
We enjoyed our stay there very much and would definitely go back again if we are ever in the Truro area.

Room Tip: They had rooms with king beds and also rooms with twin beds, so would be able to compatible for all types of guests.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loisb560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews