We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$137
Homewood
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$137
Delta Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$159/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$133/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$107
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$109/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

HB Guest Home(Waterloo)(Great Value!)
US$94
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
HB Guest Home 4(Waterloo)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
US$154
US$121
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$97/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$117
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveller rating
36
1
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
36
1
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 38 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2014 via mobile

Thank you soooo much ,Stefan and Wendy,while staying with you 2,we weren't guests ,but ,,,more family or Friends that we have known for a long time, but what is more inviting (if that is possible )is the house,it just wraps around you like a warm blanket on a chilly night . It felt like home,(as it should be) thank you again, hugs Andy&Carla

Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Andy v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I'm not sure what I enjoyed most. The lovely old-suburban street, the closeness to the heart of downtown, the beautiful yard and landscaping that makes you feel like you're in a forest clearing, the old 1880s mansion and antiques, the huge bedroom, the unbelievable breakfasts by a cooking professional, or the professional massage by Stefan, the co-owner. Talk about perks of a place!

In my e-book, Food for City Building, I argue that local tourism and local food go together and the two groups should work together to enhance each other's offerings. This B&B has all the makings to make this work.
One owner is a formally-trained pastry chef and the other self-taught to a high degree. They also teach a course at community college on the business of B&Bs.
Steffan made the point to me that a B&B owner needs a second job, preferably using the building, to keep the owner and the investment in the building busy during the downtime between the end of serving breakfast and the return of guests after a day's meetings or travels. A second job also covers the off-season, such as December, which is always slow. Not a problem for Stefan, who preserves food and serves small family dinners and teas during the daily downtimes and the seasonal slows, thereby getting full value from the professional kitchen.
Anyone interested in running a B&B should take his course, and even try reading my book!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wayne300944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Hillcrest House is "the" quintessential B&B. From your first step on to the property, you feel like you're entering another era, especially first seeing the open, grand entrance hallway with the Victorian-styled rooms leading off of it. Tastefully decorated, yet suited practically to accommodate guests comfortably, this beauty is worth another visit.

My husband and I spent 3 nights here. The Bellinger Suite feels like a home-away-from-home. Stefan and Wendy are down-to-earth and practical, and extremely accommodating. We changed our plans closer to our arrival date, and they subsequently changed their plans to accommodate us.

The breakfast was delicious, even with our dietary limitations.

We hope to visit again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirst7575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Stayed two nights at beginning of September with my daughter who was moving into residence at St. Jerome's (U. of Waterloo), then one night on my own.
We had a large suite with separate sitting room and our own bathroom as well as queen bedroom. Entirely private. The house is a turn-of-the century gem, beautifully appointed with lush gardens featuring several seating areas. The breakfast room, like the house, is spacious and lovely. The multicourse breakfast I enjoyed stayed with me all day! Stefan and Wendy are thoughtful hosts, responsive to guest preferences and needs, just really pleasant folk to start your day with.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladiablesseyvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

My husband and I stayed one night at the wonderful Hillcrest House B&B in Waterloo. We toured the K-W countryside earlier in the day and were greeted by our charming hostess Wendy upon arrival. We had booked a dinner prepared by her husband Stefan " Trust the Fat Guy" chef.
What a fabulous meal, and so very entertaining. We never laughed so much. Thank you!
Breakfast the next morning was wonderful, fresh fruit, homemade granola and raisin bread french toast with bacon. Oh! so delicious. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews