We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than Expected!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Pocaterra Inn
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 January 2012

We spent a one night getaway in early January. Because we brought our small dog with us, we were put on the ground floor. Our room was a "walk-out" room with a French door leading out to a small patio. From there, we could hop over a small stone wall and take our dog out to the dog walk area and avoid taking him through the hallways. Brilliant. The room itself was quite large, more than enough room for the 5 of us and included a microwave and small fridge. Even though we faced Highway 1, we seldom heard any of the traffic.

Our kids loved the waterslide while we hung out in the large hot tub. We also discovered a game room with tv's, fooseball and table tennis. Just ask at the front desk for paddles, balls etc. There was also a sauna, steam room and fitness room. Cookies and hot chocolate were available in the lobby and the hotel is just a couple of minutes walk to Tim Hortons.

Morning breakfast had more than enough variety. Make your own Sausage & Eggers, cereals, toast, bagels, pastries, fruit, yogourt, eggs, etc.

Our only minor irritant was that fireplace in the room didn't work. We didn't discover it until it was late in the evening and didn't bother to call maintenance. Otherwise, we really enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: Pet friendly rooms on ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familyof5adventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,085)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

929 - 933 of 1,086 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2011

I had surgery in Canmore and we chose this hotel over others because it was just down the road from the hospital, on the quieter side of the road and a previous review spoke of the great breakfast. It was a beautiful, spacious room, with nice gas fireplace and mountain views. The staff gave us a room on the first floor for easier access due to reduced mobility post-op. It was so quiet, I was able to rest comfortably. The staff were very welcoming and friendly. The breakfast was awesome - eggs, fruit, yogurt, cereals, toast, etc. - way better than any other continental breakfast we've had elsewhere. The rates were very good also ($107/night), might have been off season rate (?). We got better rate by calling hotel directly than using a third party site. We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Call hotel direct rather than use third party site. They can give you a better rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BusyMom007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Stayed here with a volleyball team for a weekend tournament. Great staff, comfortable, spacious room. Loved it being a non-smoking hotel. Kids loved the pool. Breakfast was great. This was the second time we have come here. Great rates for teams.

Room Tip: rooms on main floor are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

My wife, dog and I enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We went for a quiet mountain getaway and that was what we got. Our room was nicelt appointed with a fireplace. We had a lovely view out of our window. The staff were very helpful and suggested a very nice restaurant. I would go back to this hotel again

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tornane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

I stayed at the Best Western Pocaterra Inn during a 4-day getaway and loved the place. My room was quiet and had the touch and feel of a mountain retreat. Finally a hotel with top notch WIFI, - the connection was stable fast and never expired during my stay. Pool and hot tub are also worth while mentioning. The sauna did not warm up to my likings.

Breakfast was crowded every day. The selection was OK, nothing fancy but certainly more than sufficient. I really appreciated the hot beverage that is available during the main check-in hours.

What I liked best is the central location. You can walk to most places and some trail heads in Canmore and it is only a short drive to Banff and the National Parks.

Overall the Best Western Pocaterra Inn was a great choice for me that I can recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Markus N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canmore hotels
2.5 km away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
2.6 km away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
1.5 km away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#14 of 28 in Canmore
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Silver Creek Lodge
Silver Creek Lodge
#12 of 28 in Canmore
578 reviews
1.9 km away
Coast Canmore Hotel & Conference Centre
9.7 km away
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Pocaterra Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Pocaterra Inn

Address: 1725 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1L7, Canada (Formerly Best Western Plus Pocaterra Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Canmore
#9 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
Price Range: €74 - €239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Pocaterra Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst the towering peaks of the Canadian Rockies, the Best Western Plus Pocaterra Inn is your ideal lodging choice while visiting Canmore Alberta. From the warm welcome in our lobby to our spacious guest rooms, you are sure to experience superior service while staying with us.Our hotel features tastefully decorated guest rooms with a multitude of amenities including stunning views of the surrounding Rocky Mountains, fireplaces, free high-speed wireless internet, microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers, and LCD TV’s. Guests can enjoy our daily complimentary hot continental breakfast and access to our business centre, fitness facility, games room and meeting rooms. In addition, our hotel features a whirlpool, steam room, sauna and indoor swimming pool with a large waterslide perfect for the whole family to enjoy.Just minutes away from Banff National Park the Best Western Plus Pocaterra Inn is a great place to explore the Canadian Rockies, natural hot springs, lakes, glaciers, canyons, and ski resorts. When visiting Canmore Alberta, the Best Western Plus Pocaterra Inn will make your stay feel just like home, but better. Our relaxing atmosphere, tastefully appointed rooms and friendly hospitality are the perfect complement to your visit to the Canadian Rockies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Pocaterra Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pocaterra Hotel Canmore
Best Western Canmore
Canmore Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing