We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality European feel with wonderful breakfast and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lady Macdonald Country Inn
Ranked #3 of 31 Canmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2010

Located right in the heart of Canmore, Alberta the Lady Macdonald Country Inn is conveniently located in between Calgary and Banff National Park. This B&B is fairly large with twelve colorfully decorated rooms. While the Inn is distinctly Canadian, it does have a European flair, perhaps it’s because one of its proprietors (Peter) hails from Switzerland.

The Lady Macdonald building site was once home to an expansive farmhouse, then later in its life was turned into an apartment building, however a build-up of soot in one of its chimneys caused a fire that leveled the structure. The building was reconstructed in the mid-90s and soon became a bed and breakfast. Peter and his wife Tammy purchased the property about five years ago and have been running it ever since.

The Inn has a beautiful porch in which to relax, as well as a nice common area that is always stocked with freshly made cookies, nuts and chocolates. Oh, and for those cold nights there is a lovely fireplace and plenty of hot drinks to keep you warm.

Tammy is an accomplished chef and will prepare you an amazing breakfast! One morning in particular she artfully plated breakfast that included two mini waffles with a berry reduction sauce, two sausage links and a side of international fruit that included: dragon fruit, star fruit, grapefruit, blueberry, raspberry, a large orange berry of some sort and a miniature coconut (about the size of a macadamia). All the various colors, design and textures were just wonderful!

Peter and Tammy are also very knowledgeable of the area and can give you all kinds of suggestions on places to visit, hikes, restaurants and more. Given that Banff is such an international destination and because Peter is from Switzerland with some European connections, you’ll often be in the company of people from around the world at the Lady MacDonald…which makes for some fascinating and worldly conversations.

As I said, the location of the Lady MacDonald is right in the heart of town, however that convenience comes at a price for guests situated in rooms that face the street as the noise level can be a bit of a burden for some. Ear plugs are provided and the noise is a small inconvenience given all the other wonderful things associated with the Inn. Given my lodging experience, I found the rates to be very fair and much less than you would pay if you were staying right in Banff for comparable accommodations.

Canmore itself is a lovely community with lots of neat shops, galleries, museum and great restaurants to choose from…all in a great walkable downtown area.

If you find yourself visiting the Banff, Canmore or Calgary area…check out the Lady Macdonald Inn B&B for your lodging accommodations, I think you’ll be quite impressed.

Tags: Banff B&B, Banff Bed and Breakfast, Banff Lodging, Canmore B&B, Canmore Lodging, Lady Macdonald bed and breakfast, Lady Macdonald Country Inn, Visit Banff National Park, Visit Calgary, Visit Canmore Alberta, Visiting Banff, Visiting Canmore

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MikesRoadTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
There are newer reviews for Lady Macdonald Country Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 175 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2010

Accidental find. Most friendly and acomodating owners. Pick your favorite room..outstanding views with gas fireplaces in most rooms. Breakfast was all fresh with unusual ingredients from around the world. Directed us to some local yummy, upscale eateries.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yougharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2010

From the first stay at the lovely Lady Macdonald Country Inn, we knew that it was a place that we would return to time and time again. This was our fifth visit. As always Tammy and Peter made it so special. Coffee and tea are always available, with snacks on the table in front of the fire place. The beds are so comfortable that you don't want to get up in the morning, but, the smell of the scrumpcious homemade breakfast forces you to head to the breakfast room. Tammy's lovely breakfast presentation and the flavor are blended together perfectly. Peter is always right there making sure we have everything we need.
I must say that the view from the Cascade Room is spectacular. We had 4 big windows around our bed and the mountain view was amazing.........We'll be back!
Reg and Shelley, Three Hills

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReShel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2009

We stayed in the Three Sisters Room for three nights to celebrate our 10th anniversary. The room was large and very comfortable. Huge bathroom and the biggest bathtub I've ever seen! The absolute BEST part of our stay was breakfast each morning - fabulous and exceeded my high expectations from all I had read. We arrived on the hosts' daughter's birthday and were invited to share her gourmet birthday cupcakes that were unbelievable. We loved the dinner recommendation to the Crazy Weed and the fish & chips at the pub just right next door. They shared hike info with us. Just a warm and comfortable inn to recharge and reconnect.

There was not central air, but they did pull out a room unit for us and set it all up and it did it's job. The internet was a little slow, but we were happy to have it. We had been camping for a week before and had another week of camping left so it was a great place to be pampered. They are able to accomodate parking for our 24 foot RV. I will say this is the most money we have ever paid for a hotel night.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScubaMandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2009

Excellent and comfortable place to say in a convinient location. Loved Canmore and the area around Kananasis, but did not stay long enough to do them justice. Very helpful hosts with delicious home cooked breakfasts, cakes and pastries. Would very much like to return. Rooms of adequate size and comfort. The only drawback was the stairs to the bedrooms with heavy cases and although Peter initially offerred help, a service lift would be a useful addition.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_BeesNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canmore hotels
1.1 km away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
1.2 km away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
0.0 km away
Georgetown Inn
Georgetown Inn
#9 of 28 in Canmore
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Coast Canmore Hotel & Conference Centre
1.4 km away
Best Western Pocaterra Inn
0.4 km away
Ramada Canmore
Ramada Canmore
#16 of 28 in Canmore
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lady Macdonald Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lady Macdonald Country Inn

Address: 1201 Bow Valley Trail | Box 2128, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1P5, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Canmore
Price Range: €86 - €182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lady Macdonald Country Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 12 room country inn filled with cozy charm. Start each morning with a sumptuous breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Lady Macdonald Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Canmore
Canmore Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing