We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great alternative to expensive Banff Hotels”
Review of Days Inn Canmore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Days Inn Canmore
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Canmore
Reviewed 10 September 2011

The property is older so there were some creaks in the floor and our fireplace had some duct tape decorating it. Some would probably feel the decor is somewhat outdated. However, our main objective was to explore the beauty of Kananaskis Country and Banff area. There were many pluses that we appreciated - microwave and fridge in the room. There was a jacuzzi tub which after biking and touring was great. The linens were exceptionally soft - the best of all the Choice Hotels we stayed at on the way. The mattresses were comfortable and of good quality. The room was very clean. All staff we encountered were friendly and very helpful. It was a great alternative to camping with the bears.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Servicecounts4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (542)
There are newer reviews for Days Inn Canmore
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

509 - 513 of 542 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2011

My wife and I and two kids stayed for one night on our way to BC. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were clean but that's the only thing good they have going for them. The decor and furniture needs updating, there wasn't enough towels in the room, the toilet barely flushed and the screen door was broken. The food in the breakfast room tasted cheap and stale. The fitness room is tiny and only has three pieces of exercise equipment. The price was reasonable but I feel like I could have found a nicer hotel for the same rate.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We stayed here in the early 2000's when it was still the Best Western Green Gables Inn, and hoped that it had improved now that it's the Econo Lodge Canmore (aka Canmore Mountain Lodge), but it hasn't at all. Other than a change in signage and a more earthy colour scheme, it still has the exact same problems as it did years ago. Previously, we could barely get out to our balcony/patio because of sliding doors that were almost impossible to slilde because of an extreme lack of maintenance and lubrication.... problem still exists and more. This time they also had the screen door on the same channel as the glass door, which meant you couldn't even have the door open to get the fresh mountain air because the screen door was unusable and without it the mosquitoes would just pour in.

The carpets are still stained and shoddy looking, and when you went behind a chair or table to plug something in, there was wrappers and paper and fuzz etc. from not being vacuumed for long periods of time.

Then there is the internet.... worst wireless I have ever encountered, completely unusable. Managed to connect once for about a minute only, but that minute was taken up just trying to load a single webpage of average complexity. Therefore the free wireless is a joke. And forget about using the provided computer in the lobby, it had an out of order sign on it. Saw one gentleman in the lobby trying to use his laptop, but he still wasn't getting a very good connection.

The bathroom..... the shower was good, no problem there. The toilet seat was loose though and sitting off center, was going to fix that for them but though nah, what's the point lol.

What can I say, the reviews are being too kind to this place, it is still like it was when it was the Green Gables Inn, much in need of renovations and improvements. The location is very good on the main road (Bow Valley Trail), but still a barely passable place to stay, unless you just want a room just for a quick shower and sleep. And be sure to ignore the yellow tape wrapped around the broken pillar out front, lord knows how long it will take for them to get around to fixing that.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rman2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

The service was excellent - the front desk was manned by 'Jason' and he was very helpful and served with a smile and made us feel very welcomed.
The room was modern and clean , the view from the window was amazing.
The location of this hotel is excellent as we were with kids , the kids could go and get a bite to eat any time. Lots of places to eat walking distance and a 15 minute walk you could go to the Canmore Town Centre. To get into the Banff National Park you are 20 mins away.
We liked the service given , we had several questions and the front desk 'Jason' was excellent in supporitng us getting us answers to our questions.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front had views of mountains .
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SloughHoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Stayed 3 nights here while exploring Banff/Lake Louise. Check in was quick and efficient. Stayed in a double queen room which was fairly spacious. The only thing I have to complain about is the lack of a microwave in the room though there is one in the breakfast room.

Breakfast was the usual assortment of cereal, muffins, yogurt etc though you do have a option of paying six dollars to upgrade to a hot breakfast. The hot breakfast is served at the attached French restaurant, so unless you are really missing bacon or sausage the provided breakfast should suffice.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Techboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.4 km away
Ramada Canmore
Ramada Canmore
#16 of 28 in Canmore
983 reviews
0.2 km away
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#14 of 28 in Canmore
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Best Western Pocaterra Inn
1.8 km away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
1.2 km away
Coast Canmore Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Canmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Canmore

Address: 1602 2 Ave | Highway 1A, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1M8, Canada (Formerly EconoLodge Canmore Mountain Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Canmore
Price Range: €85 - €182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Canmore 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently renovated in 2016. Close to Canmore Elevation Place and Canmore Nordic Centre Provincial Park. Welcome to our Days Inn Canmore hotel near Banff National Park Gate and Canmore Nordic Centre Provincial Park. Our location is 100% non-smoking with breathtaking mountain views and a 24 hour front desk to handle your every need. Enjoy special conveniences such as our onsite restaurant and fitness centre. Get ready for outdoor recreation with a delicious free breakfast. Start each day with our free enhanced breakfast with healthy options, then plan out your day using free WiFi access from the comfort of your room. Our onsite fitness centre and business centre make it easy to keep up with your daily routines, while our ample free parking allows you to come and go with ease. Guest rooms are equipped with work space, air conditioning, a fireplace, microwave, mini-refrigerator, and a Keurig coffee and tea maker. Additionally, pet-friendly rooms and meeting space for up to 80 guests are available onsite. Wander through effortless natural beauty or try your luck at the casino. If you love the great outdoors, than our Canmore location places you at the center of all the action. Feel the breeze as you mountain bike and hike through the Johnston Canyon and Canmore Nordic Centre Provincial Park. Delight in the climbing wall and aquatics centre at Canmore Elevation Place. Other attractions within reach include Stoney Nakoda Resort & Casino, Kananaskis Country, Lake Minnewanka, and Lake Louise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Canmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing