We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairmont Vancouver Airport Restaurant”
Review of Globe@YVR

Globe@YVR
Ranked #14 of 1,008 Restaurants in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$150
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, View
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Vancouver International Airport
Transit: Canada Line at YVR terminus stop.
Description: Fairmont Vancouver Airport’s award-winning, signature fine-dining restaurant specializes in Pacific Northwest Cuisine. Its contemporary atmosphere combined with spectacular views of the runways and mountains provide an unforgettable dining experience. Serving breakfast, lunch and dinner, Globe@YVR offers travellers Fairmont’s high standard and quality service and a menu of fresh seasonal creations.
Reviewed 27 August 2018

This is a handy place to have a decent meal if you have time to spare between flights or if you happen to be staying over. Basically you can hang in the bar and then go over to the dining room afterwards. The food is always good, and the breakfast buffet is excellent. The wine list with dinner has some superb Oregon reds to check out. The service is sometimes a bit slow, but who cares if you are not in a rush!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GM8868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontYVR, Manager at Globe@YVR, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2018

Dear GM8868,

We would like to thank you for sharing your dining experience. We are glad you had a great time while visiting Globe restaurant and, Jetside bar at Fairmont Vancouver Airport. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


With best regards,

Farrah Landert
Assistant Outlet Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2018

I ate here a few times as I was staying at the Fairmount - thought is was fantastic and the food and service was excellent. Has a great range of local dishes which included in season produce. Would definately recommend it.

Thank NiknakNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontYVR, Owner at Globe@YVR, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Dear NiknakNZ,

We would like to thank you for your review; we are pleased to note that you enjoyed your dining experience at the restaurant throughout your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With best regards,

Farrah Landert
Assistant Outlet Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018

This restaurant was comfortable but not lavish; the food was good but not great; the service was adequate but not wonderful. In effect, this restaurant was what one might expect of one in a fine airport hotel like the Vancouver Fairmont Airport.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RandyRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontYVR, Manager at Globe@YVR, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018

Dear Mr. Ross,

Thank you very much for dining at the Globe and we appreciate your feedback. We are happy to note that you had a good time at the restaurant and we have shared your feedback with our culinary and service teams. We hope to have an opportunity to cater to you again. Please reach out to me at francis.rodricks@Fairmont.com if you would like to provide further feedback.

With best regards,
Francis Rodricks
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2018

I visited the Globe on a bustling Friday night in winter, with some Taiwanese business colleagues.

I was surprised at the brusqueness of the older server that took our section. We were in a slightly darker corner of the restaurant due to the noise, but as a result were almost completely ignored.

She made multiple mistakes with the order, was unapologetic and took ages to 'Main Away' our starters after we had finished. What should have been a quick, bish-bash-bosh feeding before much desired sleep developed into a tedious and repetitive, sad fight for attention from the staff.

Starters were nice, main course (A380 Burger) was overpriced and very greasy (onion rings in particular) and was not recommended.

Come on, people are paying top-whack here. Staff the place properly and don't take in more customers than you can handle.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lukeyboy95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontYVR, Manager at Globe@YVR, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2018

Dear Lukeboy95,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your valuable feedback. I would like to apologize for your experience. We will discuss your feedback as a team and use it to improve our services. Should you wish to provide further feedback, please contact me at francis.rodricks@Fairmont.com.

Thanking you,

Francis Rodricks
Restaurant Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2018

This is an expensive afternoon tea in an elegant restaurant - be aware that the setting is part of the experience so try to get a window seat to enjoy the gorgeous Coastal Mountains.

Overall a lovely experience. The exquisite offerings are petite and not meant to be a large meal. In particular, my group very much enjoyed the finger sandwiches and the corn chowder shot the most. Personally, I would have been happy with a bowl of the excellent corn chowder (sans black truffle foam - that was a bit Halloweenish) with a combination plate of the perfect mushroom grilled cheese and the equally delicious asparagus sandwich.

The two scones were very good too - but to be honest the clotted cream was thin (almost like under-beaten whipped cream) and could have been a smidgen sweeter to better offset the tangy jam (which was also a bit runny).

The cakes were lighter fare and not overly sweet; the swiss roll was top notch but the apricot panna cotta served in tiny jam jars was a bit bland. This restaurant used to have the most delicious bread pudding - maybe offer a jar of that in lieu. The strawberry short cake was quite nice too with the exception of the bottom layer which was a very thin flavour-less sponge as opposed to a biscuit crust. Some of my group liked the cherry mousse crumble, others didn't care for it.

The various loose leaf tea options were nicely presented in large individual large glass pots with a press so one could manage the desirable strength. There was more than enough and the tea kept hot.

I'm sure that the afternoon tea menu is constantly evolving; the above are just a few personal observations. Overall, this is a special treat with friends or family.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Moms-The-Word
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontYVR, Manager at Globe@YVR, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2018

Dear Moms-The-Word,

We would like to thank you and your group for coming to Tea at the Fairmont Vancouver Airport. We appreciate the detailed feedback and will share this with our culinary team. We are pleased to know that you liked our tea selection.
We look forward to welcoming you and your group back soon,hopefully to try our fall menu or maybe sooner than that.

Best Regards,

Francis Rodricks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Globe@YVR also viewed

 
Richmond, British Columbia
Richmond, British Columbia
 
Richmond, British Columbia
 

Been to Globe@YVR? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing