We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Banff Gate Mountain Resort
Nearby Hotels
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE(Dead Man's Flats)(Great Value!)
US$194
US$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Big Horn Motel(Dead Man's Flats)
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE(Canmore)(Great Value!)
US$267
US$238
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE(Canmore)(Great Value!)
US$302
US$238
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$273
US$196
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blackstone Mountain Lodge by CLIQUE(Canmore)(Great Value!)
US$185
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$144
US$133
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Mystic Springs Chalets & Hot Pools(Canmore)(Great Value!)
US$349
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$297
US$289
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveller rating
34
61
27
20
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
34
61
27
20
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main lodgegames roomupstairs bathroomindoor poolmurphy bedthese cabinsrustic settingnice chaletwest facingjacuzzi tubshort drivegravel roadlake louisemaster suiteshuffleboard tabletennis courtsmule deer
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 155 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2018

Stayed at this resort in February, Very nice Chalet with a beautiful view of the mountains. Nice to wake up to. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. Had a couple of visitors one day, 2 Elk grazing on the grounds. A beautiful sight ! We all had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Armed Forces Vacation Club
1  Thank DebraJ4474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2018

We were looking for a place close to ski resort for some of our family and a place to be together and have fun. Our grand children had a good place to sled and play in the pool and recreation room. Staff was very accommodating.

Room Tip: Hide-a-beds are being replaced while were there. I think that will make it better.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank dennisandjuliannal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banff Gate M, Front Office Manager at Banff Gate Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! We appreciate your feedback and are so glad to hear that you and your family had such a great here at our resort! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2018

Stayed at the Banff Gate Resort over New Years. Enjoyed our time there. Beds and bedding are great. Kitchens are getting to look a little dated but still fine. Could use a few more kitchen tools such as garlic press and wine bottle opener and a sharper knife for food prep. But those are just nice to haves. There was a nice jetted tub in the master suite but there was a sign saying not to use it as it leaks. The sign looked like it had been there for awhile, so not sure why it had not been attended to. but tub was still usable just not jets. Other than that it was a very comfortable stay and the mountain views were spectacular

Stayed: January 2018
1  Thank JOANNE5527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banff Gate M, Front Office Manager at Banff Gate Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

Dear Joanne,

thank you for such a nice review! We love to hear you enjoyed your stay here. We realize our cabins are a bit dated and need some attention, however every year we are doing our best to improve cabins and make your stay more pleasant. it is a slow but steady process. We look forward to showing you all of our progress on your next visit.

Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018

Specific cabins have Murphy beds, mounted in the front entrance. Very useful in providing another separate bedroom. We used it full time, and absolutely to our advantage. Don't go to Banff Gate Mountain Resort looking for a "5-Star". You'll be disappointed. But if outdoor activity is your primary focus, either summer or winter, you'll be tremendously rewarded. As for accommodations, separate cabins are unusual. We found peace and tranquility exceeds pampering. Good indoor hot tub and excellent indoor pool for families. This is a family oriented facility if you can accept establishing your own daytime itineraries. Enjoyed our stay quite immensely.

Room Tip: Consider Murphy bed equipped cabins. As for beds, all were comfortable. We read a Trip Advisor review that was totally off the mark on this point (i.e. beds hard as a board) - totally incorrect by our experience..
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Cliff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banff Gate M, Front Office Manager at Banff Gate Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

Hi Cliff,

Thank you for your review! We are so happy to hear that you and your family thoroughly enjoyed your time with us at the start of the new year! We aren't THE Four Seasons, but if being close to nature is your thing, then we are the perfect place for ALL four seasons! ;)
We look forward to having you and your family back for a visit soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018

Great location close to Canmore and Banff. Great mountain views from all chalets. Nice, quiet place. Chalets need some updating, but resort has been working through upgrades for several years and have made significant progress.

Room Tip: Be sure to book well ahead.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Christopher A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banff Gate M, Front Office Manager at Banff Gate Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

Hi Christopher,

Thank you for your review - we are sorry that you felt that your stay with us was only a 1 out of 5.
It is true that our cabins are a bit dated, but you are correct in that we have been working diligently on upgrades and improvements around the property.
It is a slow yet steady process and we think you will be impressed at all the work we've done just even over the last two years.
We look forward to seeing you again next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews