We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy, humble and quiet.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
44 reviews
The back of the cottage.
This is the viaduct at Monsal Head. The tunnels on the Monsal Trail have all been reopened for visit
If you are fit you can walk from the cottage through Biggin Dale and all the way to Dove Dale.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Biggin-by-Hartington, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dale B
1 review
“Cosy, humble and quiet.”
Reviewed 12 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

A superb place to rest and recharge. The open fire took me right back to my younger days. We enjoyed how quiet it was and I would recommend this place to anyone wishing to get away from it all to find some peace and a place to stay where life slows down to your own pace. Communication was good and we never had to chase any information up. We felt comfortable here.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Feb 2018
Thank you for this amazing review. Our cottage really is a peaceful place where you can recharge. Glad to hear you enjoyed the open fire.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm k
1 review
“Review cosy cottage”
Reviewed 5 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We had a great time at the cottage,local country pub within walking distance with great home made food I.e (home made chips) and guest beers to die for.good to be able to get to some fantastic walks with the dog.hightly recommended

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Feb 2018
Hi, so please to hear you enjoyed your stay in Biggin. The walks around here are wonderful and the local pub is always very welcoming to visitors.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasmine J
2 reviews
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed 16 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Cottage is lovely and we enjoyed staying there. The place is awesome. Kid friendly. Kitchen well equipped. Nice comfortable beds. Cottage was cold at first but once warmed up it’s very cozy. Has many games, books dvds. Good WiFi connection. Dovedale must visit beautiful place not far from the cottage. Waterloo in pub near by awesome food and Georgia,love lady who served us, very friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jan 2018
Thank you for your lovely review. So pleased you enjoyed your New Year break in Biggin and found everything you needed at the cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tythebarn...
Milnthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very well equipped and excellent value.”
Reviewed 29 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

We loved this little place. Excellent communication from the owner.

Don't expect all mod-cons, though it is very well equipped, clean, warm and tidy. The facilities match the style of the house, and it is extremely good value for such a lovely location.

Didn't expect Wifi, but it does work quite well at about 5MBs/sec - not bad for BT !!

Coal fire had been thoughtfully set for our arrival. Kitchen has good knives and everything that would be required for 4 -6 people ( only room for 4 max to sleep).

Bedrooms simple but very comfortable. Bathroom nice and warm, with adequate shower.

All in all ... excellent value - and would certainly book again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2018
Thank you for this excellent review. So pleased you enjoyed your stay over Christmas and found everything you needed.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBROWN201...
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy stay and great location.”
Reviewed 19 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Really nice cottage in a great location. Good facilities within the cottage too and we travelled with a 4 and 20month year old.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jan 2018
Thank you for taking the time to review our cottage. So pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found everything you needed for your little ones.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing