We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Couldn't wish for more!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ramblers Barn

Log burning stove
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Log burning stove
Plenty of character. It doesn't get better than this. Low lighting for romantic, classics rests away from work and the big smoke
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
63 reviews
Log burning stove
Plenty of character. It doesn't get better than this.
Low lighting for romantic, classics rests away from work and the big smoke
Ramblers Barn is on the left by the road
Paintings for sale
The Round Robin walk up the lane by the barn
A break with a unique different
Home comforts in our beautiful barn
Painters, artists, musicians, writers and walkers are welcome
Parking space
Gardens
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Biggin-by-Hartington, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 63 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Holls-Ee
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Couldn't wish for more!”
Reviewed 10 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Stayed here early March for two nights with my boyfriend as we both wanted to get away for peace and quiet after a busy few months. Arrived to a lovely welcome basket from the owners, the barn was inviting and comfortable. Has everything in it you could possibly want for a short break! The weather wasn't great so we couldn't go walking however we walked the short distance to the pub and visited local villages with the car. Our evenings were spent playing Scrabble in the gorgeous downstairs living area! Thank you again for a wonderful stay!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2014
Thankyou very much for your lovely review. We do hope that you come back again soon.
Many thanks Tuyet
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JVH2014
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfortable and in a great location”
Reviewed 17 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Fantastic, peaceful location - there are beautiful walks from the barn in every direction. The barn itself is very comfortable and we would certainly return for another stay. Thank you!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Mar 2014
Many thanks for your review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Come and enjoy the warmer months with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarahredm...
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 11 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We stopped here from the 8th of march to the 10th and was not disappointed. Ramblers barn has brilliant reviews so we booked for my birthday weekend. We were greeted with a lovely welcome pack full of wine and chocolate. The barn is unique, cosy and beautiful. Cannot fault the place! It's in such a peaceful location and would recommend the walk down by the river dove. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and will definitely be back. They have a over head projector which allows you to watch films on the wall, like at the cinema! Loved cozying up with the blankets and hot water bottle! Wonderful view of the lambs from the kitchen window. Reminded me of the cottage out of "the holiday" can't wait to return!!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Mar 2014
Thank you so much for this review, its great. 'Cottage out of the holiday' that is just so lovely, for those who have seen that film. Thanks again hope you come soon,welcome anytime x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magda2312
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Contemporary meets rustic”
Reviewed 4 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

My husband and I booked the Ramblers Barn for a mid week break in February. We anticipated some bad weather whilst we were away so took some activities with us. We both like reading and decided to take a selection of novels with us but there was plenty of reading material already there. I also took some craft work to finish.
'Contemporary meets rustic' is how I would describe the newly converted Barn. The kitchen is modern and fully equipped and comes with under floor heating. The outlook from the kitchen window over the field is pleasing, even with the snow. The main living area is spacious and comfortable (although a little cold on our first night) with a television and a large comfy settee.
The dining area is generous and has a table with seating for six people, so plenty of room.
The bedroom is bright and airy with two skylights, however it would have benefitted from a small chest of drawers to store clothing. There is sufficient sleeping room for a family with children. The double bed is extremely comfortable and warm and makes for a very peaceful night's sleep.
The toilet /shower room (ground floor) is small but clean and functional.
There was a Welcome Pack on our arrival (milk, tea, coffee, biscuits etc) which was a lovely gesture, thank you.
The surrounding area is a wonderful walking area and also great for bicycles on the nearby Tissington Trail (especially in the drier weather)
Communications with Tuyet (the owner) is very good and responds to queries within a day.
We are intending to return in the warmer months to maximise the experience of this lovely little retreat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Welcome Pack and little home comforts
Liked least: No storage space in the bedroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2014
Thankyou very much for your review, we are glad you enjoyed it. The chest of drawers in on our shopping list we will have one by the end of the month.
Many thanks, hope to see you again soon.
Tuyet Ramzy x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caleb1983
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing cycling retreat”
Reviewed 24 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

My Wife and I have recently got into cycling, so we were very keen to test our wits on the Tissington trail and the Ramblers Barn was ideally situated. The price led us not to expect much, but were amazed at what we were getting for our money, We ended up taking a lovely walk to The River Dove as recommended to us, which was absolutely beautiful and much needed. The whole place is full of character and we couldn't have asked for more. We will not only come again but are planning to stay several times a year to allow time to truly explore, what can only be described as a magical part of England's Countryside.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The building and surrounding areas
Liked least: The weather (which can't be helped!)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Feb 2014
Thankyou so much for your review, you are welcome anytime to come back. Many thanks and we hope to see you again soon. Tuyet Ramzy x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing