We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old dated pub”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Esplanade Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Devonport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2017

Stayed at this establishment for one night in September 2017. Was given a room that had a leaking radiator heater the carpet beside the radiator was wet and rotten around the leak the smell in room was horrendous had to sleep with window wide open. As this was opposite the ferry terminal this was very noisy.
The shower floor was filthy soap scum on tile base so just about slipped over when stepping into shower. Rest of room was very dated. Cracked floor tiles in bathroom and dirty grout between tiles.
No radio or clock in room. When walking up to second floor room paint chips from flaking paint all over stairs didn't look like it had been cleaned in quite some time. Peeling wallpaper. Mentioned to gentlemen at checkout that the radiator was leaking onto carpet was advised it was known about and that it was getting fixed shortly. Considering the amount of carpet damage and how wet and smelly the carpet was this wasn't a recent leak absolutely disgusting that they were giving this room to guests. Will never stay here again or ever recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawndebenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Front Office M, Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Many thanks for your review. Unfortunately, you had stayed right after we had a nasty flood (following some roof work that has now been rectified) and we were awaiting the assessor prior to repairs. I thought we explained this. I recall we moved you into a different room but were 100% full the first night. However, we ndid try to make up for your inconvenience and am sorry we did not meet your expectations. I hope you enjoyed the rst of your trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 18 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

IMO it is a little over priced for the type of accomodation, it does have a lot of character however it is a bit dated and showing its age. My room only had 1/2 of the window netting as the other half was missing, looks like it either rotted or was ripped away. I had a great view of the Devonport ferry terminal, harbour and Auckland city lights however it can be a bit noisy as there are rooms above the pub/bars, as mine was so caution for Friday’s and Saturday’s. With all that said it was tidy and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom and shower was good with plenty of shower water pressure and hot. Not quite 4 stars I would feel 3 1/2 is more accurate.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank Shane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

It was our last day in New Zealand, and we drove from Auckland CBD to Devonport. The journey was only around 20 minutes. We parked our car and wanted to find a place for breakfast, and there it was, the Esplanade Hotel, standing right opposite the wharf. We just could not resist its charm and went in for breakfast. Very nice interior which still retains much of its character with old details and fittings. We asked the management to see if we can look at some of the rooms and their friendly staff showed us to one of the room facing the waterfront, and we immediately knew that this will be the hotel of our choice next time visiting Auckland.

A wonderful petite size hotel with character.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Douglas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

This is a lovely, quaint hotel, located straight across the road from the Devonport ferry terminal. The first impression when we walked in was that we had come to stay at "Fawlty Towers", as the reception check-in desk is tucked under the stairwell. It is all very charming though!

My husband and I stayed here last year for a friend's wedding at the naval base, and recently with our son when we were going to a concert at Spark Arena - it's so handy getting the ferry across to the Auckland CBD (just a 12 minute ride away!), and not having to worry about finding a car park in the city!

The rooms are smallish, but they've have been refurbished and the bathrooms (consisting of a toilet, sink and shower) are a good size and look reasonably modern.

A nice touch is the complimentary bottled water and chocolate for each guest.

We paid an extra $85 for our son to stay, and we had a room with a single bed and a queen sized bed. Whilst an extra charge has to be made for the extra guest we thought it was a little steep, however breakfast is included in the rate so it wasn't all bad!

We chose to have an early drink and snack in the on-site bar prior to getting on the ferry for our concert. The fish goujons & shoestring fries were yummy and good value (we thought) at $9.50 each. It would have been perfect if it hadn't been for the fact that when I tried to order a glass of cider the foreign waitress informed me that they didn't have cider. Then, the same waitress came back 45 minutes later and told me that they did have cider, it was just that they were changing the "tanks" earlier and that is why I couldn't have it when I initially tried to order it! It would have been helpful if the staff member had given the right information at the start of the night, rather than when I was ready to leave!

Also, whilst we were there was a sign which indicated that it was "happy hour" from 5pm to 7pm, but nothing on our receipt showed that we had received any kind of "happy hour" discount - for any of the beers, wines, or food, that we had ordered!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chynna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Front Office M, Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Hi and thanks for your review. I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay here. The building is well over 100 years old which is charming but the age does mean that we have to make do with the facilities of the time.
That is a good point about the bill. The prices automatically get charged at the happy hour rate rather than discounted. So, the change doesn't show up. But it is worth considering to show the discount.
thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

An old classic (Georgian) just on the Harbour-front and at the bottom of the main drag. Relaxed, low key, boutique property , reasonably priced and the definitive place to stay in Devonport. You can walk everywhere from here. Friendly bar, with usually a smattering of visitors. Solid if not spectacular menu.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank VincentBSwift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Front Office M, Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Hi and many thanks for your review. I am pleased that you had an enjoyable time here. The building is well over 100 years old which is charming. The menu is deliberately targetted at the local, substantial and low cost.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Devonport
5.1 km away
The Spencer on Byron Hotel
3.8 km away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,933 reviews
6.2 km away
Poenamo Hotel
Poenamo Hotel
#4 of 7 in Takapuna
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,389 reviews
5.7 km away
Emerald Inn
Emerald Inn
#3 of 7 in Takapuna
125 reviews
3.1 km away
VR Takapuna
VR Takapuna
#1 of 1 in Bayswater
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Esplanade Hotel

Address: 1 Victoria Road, Devonport, Auckland 0624, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > North Shore > Devonport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Devonport
Price Range: €113 - €192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Esplanade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esplanade Hotel offers Auckland boutique hotel accommodation, right on the waterfront in Devonport, Auckland, New Zealand. Nestled in the heart of Devonport village, just across the harbour from the heart of Auckland City, The Esplanade Hotel dominates the Devonport foreshore and enjoys unrivalled harbour and city views. This boutique hotel was built in 1903, has been elegantly restored and has a character and charm all of its own.It is only a ten-minute ferry ride to downtown Auckland, without the hassle of the inner city. After a busy day sight-seeing or on business, The Esplanade Hotel is a haven to escape to at the end of the day…sit back and relax in the bar or restaurants and watch the Auckland city lights and harbour activity. The Esplanade Hotel has seventeen rooms, all with ensuite bathrooms, including the luxurious Blake Suite and the two bedroom ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Auckland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing