We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Loughcrew Megalithic Centre
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Oldcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$10
Restaurant details
Reviewed 29 March 2016

Wonderful lunch near the Loughcrew ruins. The staff was super friendly and helpful, food was excellent at a surprisingly reasonable cost. We visited on a tour and they let us place our orders, then we hiked to the tombs, and our lunch was ready when we returned. Sandwiches, soups and salads were some of the best we had in Ireland. The buildings are all traditional pre-stonework mud wall with thatched roof which adds to the charm and character. Indoor and outdoor seating, immaculate grounds and a wonderful experience overall. Highly recommended! Great for families or couples.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank donovang275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fechin H, Manager at Loughcrew Megalithic Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2016

Hi Donovan

Great to hear you enjoyed the food and the tour. Make sure to come some time and try a night in our cottage. It's wonderful to wake up to the sun rising over the hill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 58 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2016 via mobile

A time capsule of rural Ireland from before 1950. Very interesting to visit and see video. Extremely friendly hosts.

1  Thank Joey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fechin H, Manager at Loughcrew Megalithic Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2016

Hi Joey

Our presentation on the cottage really makes the place feel like a home. Hearing the stories about the people who lived there and seeing first hand the items that they would of used. Delighted you enjoyed it. Thanks for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2016

Spent quite a few hours here different days of last summer, after a climb up those big hills and all the fresh air,I was ready for a coffee and this place always hit the spot!! Great food, highly recommend it, but twice as good AFTER the hill climb!!!

1  Thank meezygo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fechin H, Manager at Loughcrew Megalithic Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2016

Hi Meezygo

Thanks for your review. The hills really are wonderful. Hope get a chance to visit again and maybe stay the night in our cottage hostel.

Regards
Fechin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2016

We stopped off on our Extreme Tours Day Tour and the young men here were very friendly and the food was excellent. Would come to eat again any time. Thanks Guys!

1  Thank JaneHalpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fechin H, Manager at Loughcrew Megalithic Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2016

Hi Jane

Glad you enjoyed our food and service. We do our best to reward people after their climb to the top of the highest point in the Boyne Valley. Hope you can call again and maybe spend some time in our accommodation. Lots more sites to see the area.

Kind regards
Fechin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2016

We stopped off here, expecting a reconstructed megalithic village or something of the sort. The parking space is generous, and there is a courtyard with buildings on three sides. One is a reconstructed cottage showing how people would have lived here a century or two back. As there was an admission fee and time very limited for us, with Neolithic era our priority we decided to call in at the cafe on side wing and then head up the hill.
There did not seem to be anything I could eat in cafe (being on a gluten free, dairy free, tannin & caffeine free and alcohol free diet has strict limitations), and prices not displayed, so we ate gf sandwiches our B&B had provided, and did not benefit from the knowledgeable staff. We had not realised the cairn would have a gated and locked passage, nor that the key is not kept at the Megalithic centre but at Loughcrew gardens which I think from memory were about 5 or more miles back on the main road before we had turned off as directed for the cairn.
It is probably a good thing we had not asked in the cafe as we might have turned back and missed a fascinating cairn after quite a walk uphill. I am 70, neither superfit nor totally unfit, and managed it easily, although it would not be a walk to take in bad weather. The cairn is clearly marked from the centre, and it makes a sensible stopping off place.
Toilets were available at the centre, and given a longer visit to Eire than two and a bit days, we might well go back and take a more leisurely look around the centre and the surrounding area.

1  Thank Gill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fechin H, Manager at Loughcrew Megalithic Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2016

Hi Gill

Thanks for your review. I'm sure it will be very helpful for people. We do make gluten free sandwiches and hope you can call again to try them. We also hope to give you the full tour of the cottage and it's history from 1700's before the Cairns were discovered. It also has a great story of one of the first tourists to the site. We are newly opened and are looking to have a key at our premises to help people get the most out of the wonderful megalithic site. With your support and other tourists we hope that will happen soon. If you come back again, you are welcome to stay in our hostel or campsite.

Kind regards
Fechin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Loughcrew Megalithic Centre also viewed

Virginia, County Cavan
Oldcastle, County Meath
 
Oldcastle, County Meath
 
Oldcastle, County Meath
Virginia, County Cavan
 

Been to Loughcrew Megalithic Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing