We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hen Party” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loughcrew House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Loughcrew House
Ranked #2 of 5 Oldcastle B&B and Inns
Kildare, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hen Party”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A great venue for a hen party....10/10. I can say without doubt that all 19 ladies had a day and night of fun that will be remembered for a long time. The itself house was unique, quaint and quirky. It was warm and welcoming and the beds were very comfortable (some even had electric blankets). When we arrived we all headed straight to the adventure centre and despite the pouring rain we all joined in the activities. There is plenty to do but we decided to skip a couple of challenges in favour of hot showers and an afternoon by the fire. Early in the evening 3 lovely ladies arrived to cook and set up for dinner. Everyone (including the Vegetarians and Vegans ) agreed that the 3 course dinner was delicious and well presented. The grounds surrounding the house are beautiful and impressive. It would have been nice to stay on another day to explore but family and work awaited and we all departed exhausted but happy. Well done and thank you to the fabulous team at Loughcrew House & Adventure Centre.

  • Stayed March 2017, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LTEEVAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
County Meath, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2016

I had my Hen party here and what a fantastic time we had. The house is beautiful and the 2 cooks that came in to cook our dinner were lovely. The food was fab too. We did the murder mystery during the dinner and we had great fun. Would highly recommend this place. A little gem in the countryside.

  • Stayed September 2016, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 671catherineoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

Words cannot express how much i love Loughcrew!
It made our wedding into the most unique and amazing experience which we will never forget.
The staff at the venue are so lovely, helpful when you need them and then quiet and unobtrusive the rest of the time. We are so happy that we found the perfectly private venue that we were looking for.
As for the house and its surrounds, it made for the most stunning backdrop for our weekends festivities and everyone commented on how interesting and special each and every corner of the house and surrounds were.
If you are considering Loughcrew for your wedding or even just for the weekend i can honestly say you will not regret it.
I wish we could have the weekend all over again.

Thanks so much
Aoife and Mark xxx

Stayed July 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gaoife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2016

We are a big group of friends who gathered at Loughcrew House this weekend to hang out with camping, music and dancing. The venue is wonderful. The staff could not have been any more gracious. The handyman ( Joe?) made us a flagpole. Dermot was on hand to advise and guide us. Agnes and Donna managed the house beautifully. Managers Caroline and George were extremely helpful. The security guy, Andrew, is a genial paramedic.I would recommend Loughcrew House and its adventure centre to anyone, especially if you are a large group who want to self cater and relax. Enormous thanks!

  • Stayed August 2016, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank colettewoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2016

We booked the house for a hen party weekend and we are so happy we did. Everything was great. The booking process and staff contact before hand was very efficient, helpful and super friendly. All of the rooms are beautifully decorated and could easily accommodate our group of 16 girls. We had a chef come in to cook us a beautiful meal which was served by the loveliest lady. Both were great fun and helped out as photographers as well! We had so much fun in the house that we didn't leave it for the whole weekend except to go to the adventure centre to do the activities which were also fantastic! Would definitely go back here for another party with a group of friends/family.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are so different so just explore them all!
See more room tips
Stayed June 2016, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lliana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oldcastle
11.1 km away
Lakeside Manor Hotel
Lakeside Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Virginia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
17.5 km away
Crookedwood House
Crookedwood House
#6 of 6 in Mullingar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
14.8 km away
Crover House Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.4 km away
Annebrook House Hotel
Annebrook House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Mullingar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
12.1 km away
Hotel Castlepollard
Hotel Castlepollard
#1 of 1 in Castlepollard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
1.8 km away
Loughcrew Megalithic Hostel
Loughcrew Megalithic Hostel
#1 of 1 in Oldcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loughcrew House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loughcrew House

Property: Loughcrew House
Address: Loughcrew, Oldcastle, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Oldcastle
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Oldcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Loughcrew House was designed by Charles Robert Cockerell and was built in the 1850’s. The house is on 200 acres of parkland and sits in a valley below the Loughcrew Cairns and beside Loughcrew Gardens. The interior has been decorated with Emily Naper’s great artistic flair with an emphasis on comfort and relaxation for all guests. There are many beautiful walks and a private tennis court. Loughcrew House can sleep up to 18 people. The house has 4 double rooms, 4 twin rooms and 2 single rooms (one of which is a child’s room). Loughcrew House is available to you for self catering. The house can only be rented in its entirety from one night to long weekends and week long breaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Loughcrew House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing