We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst place we've ever stayed” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fincourt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Fincourt
Ranked #3 of 5 Oldcastle B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Worst place we've ever stayed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

We stayed here for just one night in the self catering apartment which my friend booked for me. It looked nice on the website although a little old fashioned but thought it should be grand for the night that we needed. When we arrived at the hotel, we found the courtyard outside the apartment stank of urine, presumably from the night before. The apartment itself was not very clean at all, quite dusty and even my 6 year old put a bowl back in the cupboard and asked if there was a clean one. I sat on the bed for a while and got bitten by bed bugs. The sheets and towels were clean but the bedspreads hadn't been washed. The bathroom shower was streaked with soap stains. The television wasn't working. My husband asked one of the staff if he could fix it, he tried new batteries in the remote which didn't work then said he was off to find another television. He never came back. He told us there would be a bit of noise later, after we had checked in and paid. We were not prepared for the level. The door to the apartment was a large glass double door/ window. People were constantly peeking in through the curtains, trying to open the door and falling against it. The smoking area was directly outside and the place was obviously not insulated/ soundproofed. The smell of smoke filled the apartment and we may as well have been trying to sleep in a disco as the door to the dj was left open until the early hours. There was no cups/ mugs to make a cup of tea, although teabags, decaff coffee only, an opened bag of sugar and some 11 day out of date milk in the fridge were provided. The list just goes on, freezer completely full with ice. Someone's half drank carton of juice was left in the fridge. I was afraid to use anything in the kitchen before washing it thoroughly first. I think if you are drinking and going to the disco in the hotel and are 20 something and just want a place to sleep after falling in drunk, it's grand. But it is definitely not suited to families. On a positive note, they did provide us with bottles of water and biscuits, which was a nice touch. Oh yes, one more thing, screws and bits of metal were to be found on the mantelpiece, drawers, on the floor. And there was a socket which you could pull right out of the wall and wires were crossing large areas. The stairs was also quite dangerous for kids, no bannister. Crunchy towels. I would give it a minus 1 but I don't think that's possible. No comment card in the room, so they obviously don't really care what we thought, we weren't asked if we enjoyed our stay. Had paid for breakfast but after seeing the cleanliness levels we decided to go to the local supermarket and get something there instead. My kids stamped in the puddles of wee on the way out. We would definitely never go there again if someone paid us. I don't know how it's rated 3 stars.

Room Tip: I don't know what the other rooms were like so I can't comment as we only stayed in the self...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sinead H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    11
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
11
10
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2010

Myself and 5 others booked the apartment for a night during the Virginia pumpkin festival. We found the staff really helpful and friendly, there was a mix up about which door would open during the night for us to get in, but 2 of the lads came and sorted it out for us as soon as they heard. Admittedly it was a bit cold upstairs even though blankets and heaters had been provided. Breakfast was included in the price, all in all we felt our needs were met very well, and it was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Una F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaufort, Ireland
Level Contributor
115 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2010

Firstly, i want to premise this review by saying that the staff were very helpful and courteous. Their talents would be more suited to an establishment better than this.
1. This place is not a hotel, it is a pub with b&b at the back
2. We booked the 2 bed apartment for ourselves and 3 young kids. I specifically asked whether noise would be an issue to which i was told that the rooms were at the back of the building. Our apartment was directly of the courtyard Directly behind the pub. Sounds idyllic doesn't it. What wasn't mentioned was that the courtyard also acted as their smoking area. Consequently, we had shouting and roaring directly outside our glass door until 1.30am. My kids were terrified what with the very offensive language and people constantly falling against our door. Once the dance music finished after 1am and the crowd finally dispersed ( the pub has a DJ in it hence the very loud dance music ), we then had the noise of the staff cleaning until 2.45 am.
3. The beds were slightly damp ( I am presuming that no heating was on during the summer months )
4. No hot water. I went to the helpful barman who then put the heating on in the apartment and told us to wait a few minutes for it ( the water) to heat up. We gave it an hour and eventually had to have cold showers.

In 20 years of staying in hotels, I would definitely say that this was my worst experience by some distance in Ireland. If I got it free, I wouldn't spend another night here. My last bit of advice is if you can't find other accomadation within a 20 mile radius of Oldcastle, bring a tent. It will be warmer, dryer and quieter! Avoid this place at all costs!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dokgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2010

The staff here were amazing- we turned up worse for wear after a nearby event- the staff looked after us, got us up to our rooms and were generally lovely. When we finally surfaced about 1 O clock, we had a delicious breakfast served to us quickly. The barmaid even lent us an umbrella because it was raining. Hotel was clean and nicely decorated.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tigerdave79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oldcastle
9.1 km away
Lakeside Manor Hotel
Lakeside Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Virginia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
10.8 km away
Crover House Hotel & Golf Club
19.6 km away
Headfort Arms Hotel
Headfort Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 km away
Hotel Castlepollard
Hotel Castlepollard
#1 of 1 in Castlepollard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
9.0 km away
Ross Castle B&B
Ross Castle B&B
#1 of 5 in Oldcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
4.5 km away
Loughcrew House
Loughcrew House
#2 of 5 in Oldcastle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fincourt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fincourt

Property: The Fincourt
Address: Oliver Plunkett Street, Oldcastle, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Oldcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Oldcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fincourt is a family run bar & guesthouse located in Oldcastle , less then one hour from Dublin airport . We have 5 ensuite bedrooms , and 4 self catering apts. and house. Oldcastle is the home of the Loughcrew Cairns dating from 5,000 BC, and the birthplace of St. Oliver Plunkett. Oldcastle boasts fantastic cycling , walking and horse trekking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Fincourt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing