We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large Variety of Street Tacos”

Chimayo Tacos y Tortas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$12
Description: The most ridiculous tacos you've ever had. Not your traditional mexican spot but you'll have more fun
Restaurant details
Description: The most ridiculous tacos you've ever had. Not your traditional mexican spot but you'll have more fun
Reviewed 21 October 2017

Great place on Ski Rub Blvd, you can walk from Tahoe Vacation Resorts if you wish. Great atmosphere with a large variety of street tacos. If you leave hungry it is your fault.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChimayoTahoe, Owner at Chimayo Tacos y Tortas, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Thanks for making the walk Michael! By the time you visit again we'll have even more street tacos. We're collecting them like old beanie babies. Hope to see you again soon!

Kai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2017

This is the second time we have eaten at Chimayo's (March 2017 first time). They have changed their menu a bit since then, but it was still absolutely wonderful. The food is very unique and extremely tasty! Had a chicken fried rib that was so incredibly different and delicious. We split the BBQ brisket sandwich with honey. The bread was huge (10 to 12 inches), very soft and tasty in its own right. THEN the meat was piled on, extremely tender, moist and each bite a delight. Now we were there in the slow season for dinner, so only Pablo (sp?) was waiting on the front end. Thus, the service was a bit slow when some eight tables filled. He is very polite and apologized for any delay. Again, it was October, so things are normally slow, so only one waiter. BUT the food came out quickly. Nothing took away from the overall experience. Go to this restaurant for some unusual and wonderful food whenever you go to South Lake Tahoe. We will go back again!!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

They do close for mud season in November. Near Heavenly and owners are family and community oriented.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 487christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

Not only was the service exceptional, but the food was second to none. Their cauliflower nachos and lobster taco turned my frown upside down. We hit up Chimayo on our way back to The City and it was the perfect spot to bid adue to Tahoe until next time! Thanks for the great food and awesome service. We will be back!

Thank James I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

We found out about Chimayo BBQ on restaurants.com and wanted to try it with a certificate you buy on the site. The cert required purchase of $45 of food and non-alcohol drinks. We showed the cert to the waiter and all was good. For a couple we ordered the most expensive items on the menu to meet the requirements. I ordered the amazing lobster torts aka lobster roll at $22 and a BBQ rib appetizer for $2.50 and we both had our non-booze drinks. My spouse had the filet mignonette torts at $19 and a Brussels sprouts with bacon side at $3. The filet mignonette was wonderful and the freshly toasted rolls, were fantastic. The cup of Brussels sprouts were grilled and had a vinaigrette with the bacon, very tasty. We are dieting so it was hard not to eat the fresh rolls. Our waiter, Sa'id was extremely pleasant. We ate at 3pm, so we were the only customers for our late lunch or very early dinner. We passed on the dessert, but had to ask Sa'id what it was and it sounded delightful, a churro stuffed with berry/filling that I'm not recalling exactly, but it sounded yummy for $7. Our tab should have come to $50+\- before tax and tip, but was told the owner would not honor the certificate for some reason that was not spelled out on the certificate, but Sa'id did comp our sodas. Our check was $47.52 and I tipped $11. This is the 2nd time in 5 years that a South Lake Tahoe place has not honored their offers. The BBQ rib I ordered was not available to have, sadly. I love my ribs! This was a chicken fried rib, so I was curious. The decor was nice and clean with the typical semi painted concrete floors. Lots of outdoor seating if you desire. Most of the items on the menu were inthe $10-12 range and while the sign on the place says Chimayo Mexican BBQ Tacos and Tortas, there really wasn't much Mexican with what we had.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank garyd210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChimayoTahoe, Owner at Chimayo Tacos y Tortas, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Hi Garyd210, we honor restaurant.com gift certificates daily. Along with some other offers around town we always honor what we solicit for offers. What exactly wasn't honored? Feel free to contact me directly so I can understand better why the gift certificate wasn't taken. info@chimayotahoe.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chimayo Tacos y Tortas also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
Lake Tahoe (California), CA
 

Been to Chimayo Tacos y Tortas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing