We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
US$529
US$410
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
US$280
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
US$372
US$319
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Station House Inn(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
US$290
US$227
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
US$435
US$295
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$274
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
US$252
US$227
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stardust Lodge(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
US$283
US$265
Stardust Lodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
US$236
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,167)
Filter reviews
1,167 results
Traveller rating
573
401
110
51
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
573
401
110
51
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbedroom villafull kitchenheavenly gondolaice restaurantheavenly villagetime sharevalet parkinggrocery storemarriott vacation clubwasher dryerwithin walking distancepool areakids clubper daymovie theaterconcierge desktimeshare property
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 1,167 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2018

We spent a few days here before Christmas in a newly renovated 1 bedroom suite. Overall we were very happy with our accommodations. The kitchen was brand new and very clean. As a Marriott Gold level member, I was expecting an upgrade and better view, instead of the street. The bathroom was only partially renovated (shower was not redone). Great location. Walking distance to everything. Gondola right outside the door. More private than Marriott Grand Residence property, next door.

Beware - you are forced to pay $29 per night for valet parking. This resort does not offer self parking and street parking is not available. I wasn't happy about this

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank TravelForLifeNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Timber Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and leave a review. It is very important to us. We look forward to delivering the 5 star experience on your next Marriott Vacation Club stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

Beautiful place. Thought we would have to pay parking fee to stay there, but didn’t. So we were thrilled about that. Marriott always does a great job, that is why we own with them, superior quality. Tahoe was great too. Recommend to anyone.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank neeneedb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Timber Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Thank you for a perfect review! It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us here in Tahoe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2017 via mobile

We spent the Christmas holiday here with my family of 4, including 2 teens. The place could not be any more conveniently located - right at the base of the mountain and in the heart of Heavenly village. Valet parking is required ($29/day) and the staff is friendly and helpful.

Stayed: December 2017
1  Thank drajhansa4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Timber Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Thank you for a perfect review! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us here in Tahoe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2017

My wife and I stayed at the Marriott Timber Lodge for 4 nights from December 2nd
to and including December 5, 2017. It is beautiful South Lake Tahoe hotel located right next to the Heavenly Gondola. Our arrival and check-in were very efficient. The front end staff always greeted us with a smile and a "hope you have a great day". We used the hotel valet parking as street parking nearby is very scare and the parking garage is problematic. The valet guys were friendly and very efficient. The hotel concierges were also great and very helpful with suggestions on dining and things to do. The pool was heated to 84 degrees and the hot tubs perfect at 104 degrees. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The hotel is in a perfect location with the Stateline casinos practically next door and surrounded by artsy shops and nice restaurants. We had a nice stay due to friendly hotel staff, and a comfortable and impeccably clean room.

Room Tip: Pool View Rooms are nice
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Timber Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and leave a review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and the location of the resort. We hope you will join us again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2017

We normally go to Tahoe in the late summer early fall but due to other obligations, we delayed until December this year. It was cold with a little snowfall one night but overall extremely comfortable environment and accomodations.

First, the gas fireplace in the room not only added ambiance but also provided some very effective heating. Still used the heater but it was a nice burst of heat to warm cold hands after going outside.

The rooms, as usual, were well appointed and had everything we needed. We weren't in the renovated building but it was still very comfortable. Since we don't eat out often and rely on kitchen supplies, we were right at home. Everything we wanted or needed to cook with was available. Even cookies!! There are enought place settings and utensils for all our needs.

One of the things we appreciated the most was that every room has it's own portable humidifier. The air is drier than we're used to so we found the humidifier in the closets and filled them with water and let them continuously run. We had no problems with dry skin or breathing dry air. When filled and set on the highest setting, it would run for about 12 hours before needing to be refilled. Don't worry, it shuts off automatically when the water runs out.

The other great benefit was the in-room washer and dryer. With wet clothes from a little snow play to grandkids, it was nice to wash and dry clothes on demand. They are in their own closet in the kitchen area and they were very quiet.

All in all, another great stay at the Timber Lodge and I would recommend it to anyone going to Tahoe.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Timber Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed another stay with us here in South Lake Tahoe. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and leave a perfect review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews