We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
US$372
US$275
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
US$529
US$410
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
US$280
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Station House Inn(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
US$290
US$227
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
US$323
US$295
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
US$252
US$227
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marriott's Timber Lodge(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
US$545
US$413
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Stardust Lodge(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
US$283
US$265
Stardust Lodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
US$236
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Landing Resort & Spa(South Lake Tahoe)
US$709
US$599
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (253)
Filter reviews
253 results
Traveller rating
42
63
53
30
65
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
42
63
53
30
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom was cleanfree breakfastski weekendoffice staffqueen bedcheck in was easycoffee potflat screenslopes
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 253 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2017

The rooms are gross. The carpets were visibly dirty and stains on the sheets. The shower had mild dew and what looked a lot like black mold on the ceiling. The heater is either on or off, there is no thermostat, so the room is either sweltering hot or freezing cold. You'll be up all night just turning it on and off in order to maintain the temperature The worst part is though is the walls are so thin you can hear people snoring on both sides of you. The breakfast is essentially just bread and frosted flakes, really nothing of value. The attached Pho restaurant is top notch though. I give the two stars because the staff was very friendly, and the location is close enough to walk to the Heavenly gondola. We were so grossed out by the room we left a day early, would not recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Joncn111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RTP64, General Manager at Super 8 by Wyndham South Lake Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2017

Thank you for your feedback. Both the electric and gas heaters have controls for the temperature. If you were having problems with them we would have gladly addressed the situation. If unhappy with accommodations, a room move could have been done to please you. As listed on our website, it is a simple continental breakfast which is included with your stay. Please come to see us again when you return to Lake Tahoe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2017

I realize it is an Econo Lodge but for some reason, I thought with the location and it being Tahoe that the room would be nicer. I guess that was wishful thinking. Expect a basic motel room. Period. The pluses are the location not far from the Raley's shopping center and the amenities: free breakfast, free wi-fi, free parking and the pool.

Check-in was easy and the staff was friendly. They highlight the amenities but once I got to the room, all that went away. Old furniture and TVs. I mean really, with Choice Hotels being a world-wide hotel group, they can at least upgrade to flat screen TVs! You had to jiggle the handle on toilet. One of the locks on the door wasn't latching correctly. The beds need mattress covers, that should be a no-brainer these days! Thankfully, it was only for one night.

Stayed: September 2016
1  Thank SacCali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RTP64, General Manager at Super 8 by Wyndham South Lake Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We strive to accommodate every need of our guests. Any maintenance issue would have been responded to immediately if the front desk had been notified. Since your stay with us, all rooms have been updated with new flat screen TVs. I'm glad our amenities were to your liking. Please come see us again on your next trip to beautiful Lake Tahoe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2017

Stayed 3 nights over a holiday weekend as a family of 4. It is basic budget accommodation which we were fine with. The Saturday night was clearly the busiest as all night we could hear car doors and doors slamming. The walls are pretty thin. We could hear the occupants upstairs and were happy they had checked out by the Sunday night :). The heating worked well. The fan in the bathroom was very loud. There was a problem with our TV but the guy at the front desk came and fixed it straight away. Staff were lovely.

The free wifi was pretty much useless the whole time we were there which was disappointing. Couldn’t even browse. Location though was great, five minute walk (with kids and snow gear) to Heavenly Village which has Raley's for grocery shopping. Shuttle stop at the front when returning from Ski Run Blvde.

We had a great meal at the onsite restaurant, Lotus Pho, and the complimentary breakfast of cereal, oats and toast and was a convenient way to start the day. Would stay again for a brief visit.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happysoul007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RTP64, General Manager at Super 8 by Wyndham South Lake Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2017

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our hotel for your recent stay at our hotel and thank you for chosing our hotel for your accommodation needs while visiting beautiful South Lake Tahoe.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your 3 night stay at our hotel. We hope to see you again on your next visit to our area.

Sincerely
Econo Lodge
Lake Tahoe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2017 via mobile

Tons of snow covered the parking lot and pool.. the room had an awesome heater that kept the whole room too warm!! The bed was comfy, however the shower was very small, and the towels were just as small.. I'm not a large human, tall, but not wide and the towel barely fit around my waist. As we laughed he could barely fit it around him as well, so we asked the front desk for some more towels and happily they gave us a couple pool towels. Same size.. haha safe to say when I come back we'll be bringing our own towels! :)

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jaslynn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RTP64, General Manager at Super 8 by Wyndham South Lake Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. Yes we had way too much snow, even too much for ski resorts at one point. I'm glad the heater kept you warm during your stay. Happy we were able to accommodate you. Looking forward to seeing you again on your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2016 via mobile

I booked this room as other chain hotels were sold out and I had a free night with Choice hotels. Had I paid for this room I would've been completely disappointed.

I didn't expect much from a budget hotel but this was bad. The shower was either scalding hot or cold, the floor had a wet spot on the carpet when we got in, the ceiling was moldy, the bed was super hard, and we heard rats or some animal in the ceiling!! Yeah, we felt dirty the whole next day even after showering. (See attached photos)

The "breakfast" consisted of toast, Raisin Bran, Frosted Flakes, and instant oatmeal. Weak.

There isn't a lot of choice in Tahoe in the medium range (one holiday inn express) as most are either resorts or budget motels. My suggestion is to book something decent early and avoid what we went through.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Robjob18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews