We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sleep!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 South Lake Tahoe
Ranked #50 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

After a day of adventure we found this place for $180 on a Sat. It was a great check in with a friendly clerk and ample parking. It was quiet and fairly clean. I didn't check if there was an elevator since we were on the lower level but still was surprised by the quiet since there's a restaurant 2 doors from ours.
It's perfect on the main road within walking distance to a lot of places to eat and hang out. The room was spacious but had no microwave or fridge. The AC was somewhat sufficient but I couldn't imagine being in the room on a really warm day. The carpeted floors felt damp, which bothered me enough to wear flip flops every time I moved in the room. It was quiet and didn't smell weird so we stayed the night and the new beds are wonderful!!!!!! We know they were new cause the old ones were stacked across the way but wow, we got a wonderful sleep. They could use a pillow update since they've got the good mattress. I'd like to return and see if they fix the carpet issue. The shower was good. Towels ok. Continental offerings were stale and coffee was gone by 8:00. We had a coffee pot with cups but no coffee in the room. The lounge looked good but the gal at the counter said beverage selection was very slim and we'd have to wait until she checked the next guest to help us so we declined.
Oh, the pool was clean and a bit busy early in the morning but looked inviting. The laundry room was also clean.
All in all if you're in need of a shower and good nights sleep this is the place to go. If you want frills and even a lil fancy or collect shampoo/hotel soaps this isn't your spot.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank 559MoM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2017

The rooms are gross. The carpets were visibly dirty and stains on the sheets. The shower had mild dew and what looked a lot like black mold on the ceiling. The heater is either on or off, there is no thermostat, so the room is either sweltering hot or freezing cold. You'll be up all night just turning it on and off in order to maintain the temperature The worst part is though is the walls are so thin you can hear people snoring on both sides of you. The breakfast is essentially just bread and frosted flakes, really nothing of value. The attached Pho restaurant is top notch though. I give the two stars because the staff was very friendly, and the location is close enough to walk to the Heavenly gondola. We were so grossed out by the room we left a day early, would not recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Joncn111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RTP64, General Manager at Super 8 South Lake Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2017

Thank you for your feedback. Both the electric and gas heaters have controls for the temperature. If you were having problems with them we would have gladly addressed the situation. If unhappy with accommodations, a room move could have been done to please you. As listed on our website, it is a simple continental breakfast which is included with your stay. Please come to see us again when you return to Lake Tahoe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2017

I realize it is an Econo Lodge but for some reason, I thought with the location and it being Tahoe that the room would be nicer. I guess that was wishful thinking. Expect a basic motel room. Period. The pluses are the location not far from the Raley's shopping center and the amenities: free breakfast, free wi-fi, free parking and the pool.

Check-in was easy and the staff was friendly. They highlight the amenities but once I got to the room, all that went away. Old furniture and TVs. I mean really, with Choice Hotels being a world-wide hotel group, they can at least upgrade to flat screen TVs! You had to jiggle the handle on toilet. One of the locks on the door wasn't latching correctly. The beds need mattress covers, that should be a no-brainer these days! Thankfully, it was only for one night.

Stayed: September 2016
1  Thank SacCali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RTP64, General Manager at Super 8 South Lake Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We strive to accommodate every need of our guests. Any maintenance issue would have been responded to immediately if the front desk had been notified. Since your stay with us, all rooms have been updated with new flat screen TVs. I'm glad our amenities were to your liking. Please come see us again on your next trip to beautiful Lake Tahoe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2017

Stayed 3 nights over a holiday weekend as a family of 4. It is basic budget accommodation which we were fine with. The Saturday night was clearly the busiest as all night we could hear car doors and doors slamming. The walls are pretty thin. We could hear the occupants upstairs and were happy they had checked out by the Sunday night :). The heating worked well. The fan in the bathroom was very loud. There was a problem with our TV but the guy at the front desk came and fixed it straight away. Staff were lovely.

The free wifi was pretty much useless the whole time we were there which was disappointing. Couldn’t even browse. Location though was great, five minute walk (with kids and snow gear) to Heavenly Village which has Raley's for grocery shopping. Shuttle stop at the front when returning from Ski Run Blvde.

We had a great meal at the onsite restaurant, Lotus Pho, and the complimentary breakfast of cereal, oats and toast and was a convenient way to start the day. Would stay again for a brief visit.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happysoul007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RTP64, General Manager at Super 8 South Lake Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2017

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our hotel for your recent stay at our hotel and thank you for chosing our hotel for your accommodation needs while visiting beautiful South Lake Tahoe.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your 3 night stay at our hotel. We hope to see you again on your next visit to our area.

Sincerely
Econo Lodge
Lake Tahoe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2017 via mobile

Tons of snow covered the parking lot and pool.. the room had an awesome heater that kept the whole room too warm!! The bed was comfy, however the shower was very small, and the towels were just as small.. I'm not a large human, tall, but not wide and the towel barely fit around my waist. As we laughed he could barely fit it around him as well, so we asked the front desk for some more towels and happily they gave us a couple pool towels. Same size.. haha safe to say when I come back we'll be bringing our own towels! :)

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jaslynn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RTP64, General Manager at Super 8 South Lake Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. Yes we had way too much snow, even too much for ski resorts at one point. I'm glad the heater kept you warm during your stay. Happy we were able to accommodate you. Looking forward to seeing you again on your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
1.1 km away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#33 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
274 reviews
0.8 km away
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
#24 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
238 reviews
0.2 km away
National 9 Inn - South Lake Tahoe
National 9 Inn - South Lake Taho...
#40 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Trailhead
The Trailhead
#43 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
48 reviews
0.2 km away
Americana Village
Americana Village
#8 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
414 reviews
5 km away
Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe
Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe
#51 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 South Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 South Lake Tahoe

Address: 3838 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8905 (Formerly Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Area)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: €31 - €115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 South Lake Tahoe 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer 120 spacious recently remodeled rooms. We have many amenities for all our mutual guests to enjoy. We are close to all major activities for the summer and winter. Our front desk associates are happy to help all our guests while staying with us and in South Lake Tahoe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 South Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn & Suites Casino Area Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Quality Inn And Suites Casino Area
Quality Inn Area
Quality Inn Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing