We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$324
US$301
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aston Lakeland Village Beach & Mountain Resort(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
US$384
US$335
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Americana Village(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$216
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$231/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 27/07
US$237
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$159
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$414
US$319
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Marriott's Timber Lodge(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$322
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Stardust Lodge(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Azure(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
US$382
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (477)
Filter reviews
477 results
Traveller rating
177
215
54
19
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
177
215
54
19
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshi expresspancake machinethe breakfast areaoutdoor poolheavenly gondolatwo sinkswithin walking distanceyogurtdecent breakfasthotel is in a great locationwould stay here againshopping and restaurantsstayed for two nightsmicrowave and fridgecomplimentary breakfastroom was spaciouscasino hotels
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 477 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2016

Perfectly situated in the heart of South Lake Tahoe within easy walking distance to various attractions, casinos, restaurants, this is a typical Holiday Inn Express (which is not a bad thing). Great breakfast each morning, which is included in the price of the room, and that's always good. Rooms were clean, convenient parking, nice pool (except for screaming kids!), extremely courteous front desk staff. We had connecting rooms with a jack and jill bath, and the layout was a tad odd, but nothing to complain about.

My only suggestion to the owners would be to start replacing some of the mattresses ... ours was rather saggy.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank cabearcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2016

We were a group of 7 and had a wonderful stay in this hotel during our stay in South Lake Tahoe. The hotel is very well situated. The gondola is a walking distance and also has nearby great eateries and shopping areas.
The staff is very helpful and gave us tips for making the visit more enjoyable and efficient.
The hotel rooms are clean and very spacious. The breakfast spread is also good.
Definitely recommendable for family with kids.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amitabh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2016

Dear guest,
Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear we were able to make your vacation that much more pleasant. I'm glad to hear the staff was helpful in assisting you with taking full advantage of our location and making the stay enjoyable, as well as efficient. Efficiency is important when you only have so much time to do all these activities! We will see you on your next trip to Tahoe!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2016

This property is located within easy walking distance to casino's, shopping and restaurants. While the room itself was very clean the furniture and wallpaper is very dated, and the fabric on the chairs is worn and even thread bare in some areas. The bed was quite comfortable though. We stayed in one of the upper rooms in the back of the property and was very quiet. The breakfast was nice and very well organized, even seem to have more choices then other Holiday Inn Express properties we have stayed at in the past. Would recommend this hotel to others but I'm hoping there is some updating and renovation plans in the near future.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper room in the back of the property, these rooms are quieter and slightly larger. Plus they are slightly larger.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Blue6sky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2016

Thank you for your review. We do have a large renovation happening at the end of summer this year, starting in October. We are glad you enjoyed the location and hope you'll be able to find some time to come see us when our renovation is finished!

Sincerely,
Shari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2016

Clean hotel with decent breakfast. I'm an Intercontinental Gold member so we were upgraded to a one bedroom suite which amazingly huge! Very surprised to find a room like this at a Holiday Inn Express.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Robzworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2016

Thank you for choosing us for your Lake Tahoe stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2016

The title says it all. We have always been pleased with the accommodations at Holiday Inn Express. The property and room was well maintained with free parking, internet, one of the best freebie breakfasts you'll find anywhere in a hotel of this caliber. Friendly and accommodating front desk personnel. Although we didn't use them, the pool area and whirlpool looked very inviting and clean. They both close at dusk. I didn't see a gym.

If you like Italian, the restaurant sharing the property is a former coffer shop that has been transformed in a wonderful contemporary Italian restaurant with a romantic atmosphere. At Izabella's, dinner for two with a bottle of wine, dessert, and tip, about $125. For those with children, an Applebee's is a few properties away.. State line casinos are within walking distance, although if you're not into gambling, much of the night life is on the California side of the line with several nightclubs offering late night drinking and dancing.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wsj3200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2016

Thank you for describing our hotel perfectly in this review. We're always glad to hear positive feedback and are also glad you liked Izabella's. We hope you'll be able to return soon!

Sincerely,
Shari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews