We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Family Get-a-Way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village
Ranked #23 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Reviewed 30 July 2017

If you have a family and looking for a place that is close to everything, offers an apartment style atmosphere including a kitchen this is it. Located at the base of heavenly right by the tram and opens up to the courtyard of restaurants, shops, pee wee golf and the movie theatre. Nice pool, daily activities and very friendly staff.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cindypJ2035XO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (799)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 47 of 799 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2017

This hotel was very family friendly, at check in a week long schedule of events was provided that outlined the free events at the hotel like family movies, snacks available, workout classes all included. The breakfast was a nice bonus. The room was outdated and did need some work, but kitchen in room was stocked with essentials to cook your own meals. Our room opened out to the pool area with slider door. I did see parents with young babies get pack n play from hotel (convenient). Overall great place for family but a little outdated.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank C1423EZcarolb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark A, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the resort and we certainly appreciate your business. We continue each year to make improvements in our suites and take comments to heart when determining what to do next. We do hope to see you again at Forest Suites Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

Our 3 night stay (2 rooms) was less than we hoped. To begin our rooms were not ready until an hour after check in time and the front desk staff was not courteous or professional. On the plus side, the rooms were clean and having a hot breakfast was nice. However, the facility is quite dated, rooms included, nearly all the equipment in the fitness room was broken, and the pool by our room was down our entire stay for what appeared to be replacing a pool light. On the drive home I realized they only gave me a receipt for one room and when I called I was on hold for nearly 10 minutes. I hung up and called back and was told they were busy with check in and I would need to call back later.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Charity S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark A, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Apologies as to the inconveniences experienced during your recent stay and that they are being reviewed and addressed with various managers I an attempt to correct for future guest stays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017

The staff was not friendly or accomdetating. They always seemed too busy to help with any questions and concerns. The rooms didn't feel fresh and clean, the shower was clogged and house keeping had to call to ask if I wanted my room cleaned!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank X9035WMangelar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark A, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Appreciate your sharing your experiences and we certainly will be addressing with staff to insure corrections are made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

We were provided a 2-night, 3-day freebie to Forest Suites by Diamond International (timeshare) having stayed at Lake Tahoe Vacation Resorts in February 2016 and listening to a timeshare presentation.

Well I guess you get what you pay for. Free = not so good.

The plusses (+)
-free breakfast, average motel breakfast
-ideal location near Heavenly Village stores and restaurants and casinos at Stateline -- all in walking distance
-car ports (covered parking) for the winter
-free wifi with not security login (worried about hacking into your system?)

The negatives (-)
-This place needs major updating, it's super rustic - bathroom and kitchens are from the 70s
-it's old! Paint in rooms was uneven and spots were purposely or not missed, meaning areas where you can't see were not painted
-Kids went swimming twice in one day, luckily we kept our towels from the morning, as they did not replenish even after we asked for replenishing and then the next day I noticed they still had yet to replenish and clean the pool area
-when we tried to check-in at 2:30 the room wasn't available, which is fine and luckily we got to check-in at the 4:00PM check-in the other dozen or so people were not so happy b/c their room was not ready and there were other folks at the reception complaining about all sorts of other things
-the air conditioning in room 314 did not work very well, upon check out and letting the reception know about this they blamed it on the sun shining on that side during the day--um ok--and waived a night's worth ($15) resort fee; if I hadn't paid for the extra room for my parents I wouldn't have been as annoyed...should've had them stay at the casino instead

Maybe I'm used to "nicer" 4-5 star locations. If you're looking for an average place (1-3 star) that's mostly affordable and nearby to shopping and restaurants then this is your place. It's a family friendly place, meaning it's packed with tons of kids and big families and people taking Tupperware to free breakfast. Lol.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tracy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.2 km away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#9 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,114 reviews
0.2 km away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#7 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
927 reviews
0.3 km away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#11 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
251 reviews
0.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe
Holiday Inn Express South Lake T...
#21 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
467 reviews
1.5 km away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#6 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village

Address: 1 Lake Pkwy, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8834
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#9 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: €106 - €261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location, Location! Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village is a South Lake Tahoe resort nestled in intimate alpine environment located less than 100 yards away from Heavenly Ski Gondola and Heavenly Village. All of our over sized South Lake Tahoe resort suites sleep 4 to 6 adults. We are a few minute walk to the casinos, and a few blocks to the crystal clear waters of Lake Tahoe. Guests staying at Forest Suites Resort will experience updated rooms & furnishings, new decor & upgraded amenities. Our guests will experience high-speed wireless internet, hot American-style breakfast buffet, mid-week nightly wine and cheese receptions, weekend child activities including arts & crafts, "Green" exercise classes, movie nights, an XBOX game center & events throughout the entire year for the entire family to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Forest Hotel Lake Tahoe
Forest Resort Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing