We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food”
Review of Sumi

Sumi
Ranked #8 of 32 Restaurants in Tofo
Price range: US$4 - US$15
Description: A unique and intimate space serving authentic Japanese cuisine including sushi. A wine cellar with a large selection of wines for all occasions, fresh cocktails made from seasonal fruits. Daily chalkboard menu depending on local available produce. Also a great vibe when hosting live musicians. Lush garden and wooden furniture setting, comfortable sofas invite you to unwind and relax.
Restaurant details
Description: A unique and intimate space serving authentic Japanese cuisine including sushi. A wine cellar with a large selection of wines for all occasions, fresh cocktails made from seasonal fruits. Daily chalkboard menu depending on local available produce. Also a great vibe when hosting live musicians. Lush garden and wooden furniture setting, comfortable sofas invite you to unwind and relax.
Reviewed 22 March 2018 via mobile

A Japanese restaurant in Mozambique. The food was delicious. The restaurant is run by a husband and wife team, very welcoming and personable happy to chat with patrons.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank LindaSorro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2018

We are from Vancouver, Canada which has a large asian population and therefore great sushi - this place competed with them all! This is by the most beautiful restaurant we have seen in Tofo Beach (It actually used to be the owners personal house). The owner and server were both very attentive and made sure we understood everything on the menu before we ordered and that everything met our expectations. A definite must try in Tofo - the menu changes daily, so you know its always fresh! Not the cheapest place in Tofo, but completely worth it - Will go back on our trip!

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nashf19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

The place only recently opened and is easily one of the best restaurants in the country and can rival any restaurant outside the major cities on the continent.

The food is absolutely delicious, the setting is very tasteful and the service is excellent.

The owners are South African and actually Japanese, which you'd not necessarily expect in Tofo so everything is authentic and yummy.

Craig, the SA owner, is always at hand making sure everyone feels comfortable and when something doesnt work (like the electricity grid cutting out) he runs fast to fix it (in this case to switch on the generator).

We loved it very much and would tell you off for not eating there at least once when in Tofo.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Constantin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018 via mobile

The first time we ate here it took us a little to find it because it isn’t exactly where it shows on the map, it’s located on the same street as diversity one east west street over in the owners former house.

The food is outstanding! We ordered most of the menu both times. Some things were the same but the also had many new items the second time. The food was so good we couldn’t help from eating it before we took pictures so don’t have any to add here.

They have amazing fresh fruit juice that they use in there top notch tropical cocktails. The Maracuja Caparoshki is the best! (Probably spelled that wrong).

The owners are amazing and have something really special here in this amazing African beach town. If you are in town you must go here!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank wanderlustnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2018

I have come to Tofo numerous times over the years and I have to say that Sumi has elevated the standard of dining enormously. Set amongst lush tropical plants, perfect lighting and beautiful bonsai's, the restaurant itself is remnant of what you might find in Bali or Thailand. The food is the best Japanese I have had, you can really tell how fresh the produce is and how much effort goes into its preparation. It is owned by a Japanese lady so it really is authentic - something quite unexpected in this part of the world. The wine list is extensive and the fresh fruit cocktails are the perfect thirst quencher for the African heat. I would 100% recommend going to the place for a tasty meal, a draught beer and a great atmosphere.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Service
    • Food
Thank luceyourself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sumi also viewed

Tofo, Inhambane Province
Tofo, Inhambane Province
 
Tofo, Inhambane Province
Tofo, Inhambane Province
 

Been to Sumi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing