We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hobby Horse Syston”

Hobby Horse Farm, Dining & Carvery
Ranked #1 of 1 Quick Bites in Syston
Price range: US$6 - US$19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Family dining with Fresh Carvery, homemade cakes, full bar and menu.
Reviewed 24 June 2017

Dropped in on the way back from Leicester just
To have lunch, we both had the Carvery and although plenty to choose from non of it was hot.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank MargaretEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 June 2017

Thank you for your feedback, we pride ourselves on our carvery and therefore apologise that this was not up to scratch and will investigate why!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (804)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

375 - 379 of 807 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2017

Worse food and serving ever. Sever should. Be stacked waited 20 mins to order as only one person a till then waited 10mibs to be served food waiting in a line with nobody serving and then eventually was served no sorry or smile just food chucked on plate. And then food was cold. Just wouldn't bother again

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 June 2017

Thank you for your review Helen. We apologise that you did not enjoy your visit to us and hope that you would consider trying us again, but thank you for bringing this to our attention so that we can improve and rectify our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017

So we went hobby horse farm yesterday and I've never seen such awful food in my life!!!! We had two carverys and a kids meal 1 carvery we upgraded so you get two sausages and extra Yorkshire and they had ran out of sausages so we paid extra for nothing! Also they had ran out of mash potato so they offered to bring some to the table when it came it was like glue tasted like porridge it was so vile the roast potatoes were so black I wasn't sure if it was stuffing balls because they were so burned,Then lorenzos fish fingers were so burned he spat it out said yuck and couldn't eat it!!! Never again will we go there it isn't the first time we have had this experience there should have learned our lesson there were a number of people complaining so it wasn't just us!!!#dontwasteyourtimeandmoney

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank 511chelsear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 June 2017

Thank you for giving us feedback on your visit. We apologise for the terrible experience you were given and we are very disappointed in ourselves that your problems with us were not rectified before you left. Sometimes we can get quite busy unexpectedly and then may run out of certain items however we are horrified to find the product that you had then waited longer for did not come out to the standard that we promote and I will be discussing this with the team. These are not the visits we want our guests to experience and apologise again! Thank you for bringing this information to my attention and hope you would be open to try us another time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017

Tried this restaurant for the first time , wasn't impressed , staff seemed run of there feet ,table sticky , food server couldn't raise a smile , roast potatoes burnt to a cinder , cauliflower cheese ,watery ! although meat was very nice , PVC food cover dusty and dirty . I was disappointed and certainly won't be going back ,

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank willcoo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 June 2017

We are very sorry to hear of your experience with us. We are very disappointed that we did not deliver for you on this day and will look into why our standards had dropped on your visit as we do not accept this, and apologise profusely! We hope you may be open in the future to try us again as these are not the standard that we want you to leave thinking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017

Great Food, loved the carvery. Portions are ginormous! Service and care from staff was very attentive. Excellent play area both in and out for the children

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank JBee51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 20 June 2017

Great stuff! Thank you for your lovely feedback! We can not wait to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hobby Horse Farm, Dining & Carvery also viewed

 
Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 

Been to Hobby Horse Farm, Dining & Carvery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing