We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (786)
Filter reviews
786 results
Traveller rating
647
84
32
14
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
647
84
32
14
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rutland water special occasion tasting menu country house hotel michelin star birthday treat drawing room standard room a special place lamb beautiful setting excellent food fine dining whole experience our wedding anniversary an overnight stay main course
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 786 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2019

Son in law and daughters Christmas present.Had to wait until May to go.We just love this place although it is nearly a once in a lifetime visit.The attention is fantastic from the welcome at the door until leaving.Never seen such totally happy and switched on staff, that make you feel at ease straight away.The food is a joy to view and on the the palate.
Everyone was more than satisfied with the meals they chose and the cocktails were amazingly good.So keeping our fingers crossed for next Christmas perhaps!

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2019

Booked a three day stay to celebrate my birthday with a dinner, bed and breakfast package our stay was organised at the 11th hour and we were so pleased to obtain a room (Cedar) which had just been cancelled by another would be resident. Our arrival documentation was accomplished most efficiently by the receptionist (Katie). We were also very impressed by the young man who took our luggage to our room well done!! The staff without exception were attentive but remained unobtrusive. The standard and presentation of the our meals was without exception, exceptional, fine dining indeed! We enjoyed our stay immensely and have already re-booked for a similar weekend later in the year.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2019

A charming hotel with excellent service and very high quality food and beautiful surroundings. Your welcome is quick and efficient and professional and the rooms are extremely comfortable. Plenty to do in the area and a delight to be on the Water.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Relais & Chateaux
Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2019

Had lunch here a couple of weeks ago and as on previous occasions everything was perfect - even the sun came out after lunch so we could have coffee and petit fours on the terrace. Yes it is expensive but when you think of the work involved in every course, it is well deserved. Nowhere better for miles around and the gardens are glorious. Staff are efficient but not stuffy and the sommelier will always find you the perfect bottle at an affordable price.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adrienne6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2019

Wonderful hotel, lovely grounds, great restaurant which you would expect given this hotel's status. The staff though when we visited really made our stay. They are from all corners of the earth and they really made my wife and I feel at home. So, to the French, Italian, English and the Rumanian who looked Egyptian (Paul) thank you. Other mentions are for the Maitre D' and the reception staff. We look forward to a return visit

Room tip: The view over the lake is the side to be on
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews