We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Very many visitors.

It is a very interesting place to visit. But since it is more famous due to several happenings... read more

Reviewed 26 July 2017
Leo H
,
Jomtien Beach, Thailand
Excellent and interesting

Went here with my wife's Thai family it is a place the Thais go a lot and was very interesting I... read more

Reviewed 16 February 2017
Stuart P
,
Bristol, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 28 reviews
  
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
15
8
4
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
15
8
4
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2017 via mobile

This temple is very popular with the Thais, who believe that a visit to this temple will bring you prosperity. Many believe that visiting this temple will also help you choose the winning numbers in the Thai lottery. (I'm serious.). This is why there are hundreds of people selling lottery tickets at the temple.

The temple itself is nothing spectacular. The scared sites are across a bridge on what is actually a beautiful jungle island. You walk along this bridge that is flanked on each side by a recreation of the mythical naga, a snake with 7 heads that is rumored to live on the island. The actual temples on the island are extremely small, and are packed with Thais trying to pass through and pray. On the afternoon that we visited, it was so crowded that you could barely move between the sites without squirming through people.

The jungle on the island is actually very beautiful. There were many large bee hives bigness in the trees, and we even spotted a small swarm of bees hovering 5-10 meters above the crowd. I also spotted a large banana spider in a web hanging just above a walkway.

My recommendation for tourists is to visit if you are around the Udon Thani area, but I would not recommend traveling several hours from Bangkok or Chiang Mai just to visit this way. There are many more spectacular temples all over Thailand.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank Khundawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

Went here with my wife's Thai family it is a place the Thais go a lot and was very interesting I found myself doing all the activities even trying the lottery tree but I have to say that didn't work

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank Stuart P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2016 via mobile

Religious site for paying respect to Payanak (naga) Lord Srisuttho.

Peaceful and scenic walk (barefoot) in the forest via a bridge (pebble wash floor) flanked by two payanak sculptures.

Parking lots available in wat compound, also food stalls and some inexperience souvenirs.

Experience Thai heritage and religious beliefs. Recommended.

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank supersupha .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2016

Kam Chanot is a Buddhist temple near Ban Khan Chanot , Amphoe Ban Dung , Udon Thani Province in Northeastern Thailand .
It is located in the Wang Nakhin area at a lake where the Naga , amythical large snake , is supposed to be living .
Visited by many Buddhist form all over Thailand , believe to bring good into their lives
It really was quite an experience , hot outside , once you go in its quite cool , amazing

Date of experience: February 2016
Thank Scott J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Date of experience: December 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews