We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Richmond Motel & Holiday Park(Richmond)(Great Value!)
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pear Orchard Lodge(Richmond)(Great Value!)
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oxford Court Motel(Richmond)(Great Value!)
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marama Vineyard(Richmond)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gladstone Motel(Richmond)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Treehouse(Richmond)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveller rating
43
20
5
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
43
20
5
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfirst floorthe main roadmain bedroomheat pumpjubilee parkoutdoor swimming poolnelson cbdlight sleeperfamily unitabel tasman parkcomfortable bednew zealandmotelnzfieldinternetsports
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 72 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2017

We decided to stay here as a fixed base as we explored the local bike trail network. Originally we had planned to eat dinner in Nelson, but were pleasantly surprised to find a full range of excellent restaurants only a few hundred meters from the motel.

Roomy and quiet rooms

Helpful owners , who let us park our bikes in the garage at night

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BeeGee99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parksidemotel, Manager at Parkside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

Thank you for your positive review. We agree that Richmond, although close to Nelson with its vibrant restaurants and nightlife and Abel Tasman with its outdoor activity, is a great place to stay in and caters well for most travelers. For cyclists the other advantage is that we are located on a fork in the cycle trail and from here you can travel in easy sections south to Nelson, north to Spooners and west to Motueka and ultimately Kaiteriteri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2017

The rooms are spartan, clean, functional, adequate. Small kitchenette for longer stays. Bed was reasonably comfortable but not great. There's a pool outside, but we did not use it. Decor is nonexistent. I live permanently in New Zealand and this is a typical, functional motel. It's on the main street but traffic noise isn't a problem. It's a suite, but guests using the sofa bed have to access the bathroom by walking through the main bedroom. Not the best thought-out floor plan. Covered parking underneath the 2nd story rooms. Internet is a bit slow, but it's free and works. Good access to the Coastal Highway that heads toward the Abel Tasman Park and Takaka and Golden Bay. Richmond is a nice little town, but it's basically the local retail area, not really a tourist stop.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parksidemotel, Owner at Parkside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Thank you for your review. The room you stayed in was a one bedroom Executive spa bath unit and designed primarily single or double occupancy not a couple with 2 teenagers. The bed in the bedroom is a near new premium model. The Sofa Bed is in the living area. We provide free internet which depending on external internet traffic and an individual device can achieve speeds in excess of 30mbs through our Guest WiFi . Richmond is a separate town on the boundary of Nelson City from which vineyards, crafts and the Great Taste cycle trail are easily accessed. From Richmond Nelson City , Able Tasman and Nelson Lakes within easy driving distances.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017

This was our second stay at Parkside Motel. We chose to stay here again because the units are spacious and very clean(one and two bedroom units) Although it is a busy street the units front onto Jubilee Park. The complex is small with friendly and helpful staff. The pool is large and very relaxing area with pool towels provided. It is an easy drive to Nelson CBD and central to all that the Tasman area offers.

Room Tip: Have stayed in Units 7&8, Both upstairs overlooking pool
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank janetw1862016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2017

Just spent 3 nights at the Parkside Motel while on a business trip and I can't fault the place. Great facilities and the most comfortable bed I've slept in whilst away from home. Great location, clean and tidy rooms, great pool and a good breakfast....The dog enjoyed it too.

Highly recommended and we'll definitely be back when I'm next in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _jc_bayliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2017

very, very, very slow internet, but on there sign stood FREE WIFI CORPORATE RATES. also was the manager not so friendly, he started with telling us, that we couldn't have a party and further conditions of our stay, and we had to sign for that! and it was outside the rooms very slippery, because of de rain. Last point is, it was very noisy , because of the busy road and the plains.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anne-Dirk K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parksidemotel, Owner at Parkside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2017

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We provide free Wi-Fi through a newly upgraded Guest Wi-Fi system which provides good coverage of the site and speeds most of the time of in excess of 35/15 mdps to most portable devices. There are times when as a result of high volume traffic on site or in the surrounding area or issues with the local system the system slows. Our check in procedure includes by signing a registration, acknowledgment form of our standard policies which includes no smoking, no excessive noise (parties) and responsibility for any damage caused. These are in place and discussed with our guests when they check-in and we are extremely surprised that this is guest is not aware of this sign in procedure. The room reserved in this instance was our entry level studio and is priced accordingly. We have done all we can to limit the noise however for some this is not sufficient.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews