We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Covid procedures”
Review of The Duke of York

The Duke of York
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Flagg
Price range: US$6 - US$35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Duke of York is conveniently located on the A515 between Buxton and Ashbourne. Approximately 12 Miles from Ashbourne and only 6 Miles from Buxton. With ample parking, we offer Real Ales, Log Fires and Traditional homemade food.With our Main Menu, Senior Menu, Childrens Menu and Specials we hope you fill find something for everyone. Vegan/vegetarian and Gluten Free options are also available. Our Sunday Menu includes a traditional Sunday Roast with homemade Yorkshire pudding and is available 12-6pm (subject to availability) The campsite has stunning views of the Peak District and offers All Year camping facilities with 27 hard standing pitches. An additional 10 tent pitches are available April to September. The shower/toilet block has underfloor heating. Friendly Dogs on leads are Welcome in the Bar and on the campsite.
Reviewed 13 August 2020

It was very reassuring to see that this pub is implementing the Covid procedures properly. After being at other establishments that were patchy in their implementation, this one made me feel safe.

I chose the chicken curry from the menu, which was nothing to write home about but the pint of Trooper was spot on.

There is plenty of room to spread out here and a large marquee in the garden where meals are served. Large car park too, which is handy given the pub is a long way from anywhere. That said, it is an easy walk from the campsites in Flagg.

Date of visit: August 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank BonnieRed850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (428)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 428 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2020

Staying on the campsite, which itself is lovely, so we had a meal in the pub. Great service, lovely food and very welcoming. Looking forward to our next meal later in the week.

Date of visit: August 2020
Thank Smee76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2020

We booked to eat here while staying across the road at Pomeroy campsite. I am glad we did book, as the evening we ate it was quite cold and windy (typical British august weather) and it was clear that due to social distancing several people had to be turned away.
As a party of 7 we were split over two tables, which was fine but meant that we had a spare seat on one of our tables - considering we had booked together surely we could have all sat together, especially when it meant another customer (an elderly older gentleman, who was clearly alone and needing to get dinner was told he had to eat outside - in a gazebo, which didn’t have heaters)
The food was good and had good portions, and did offer several gluten free options (apart from desert) which for me was nice. Sadly the place did lack atmosphere and while I appreciate they are clearly following guidelines regarding Covid 19, a little more warmth from the staff would have been nice. We had to remove our own drinks and food from the trays they were brought to us on, while not really an issue a warning about a hot plate would have been nice.

I can see that this is clearly a lovely pub, I just would have liked to see a little more humanity when clearly the older gentleman just wanted his dinner and a pint with his dogs. I was just about to offer our spare chair to him when he asked for his food to take away. (A good service that the pub is offering) I know that rules need to be followed, but sometimes we also need to be human and realise that some people need the human connection that they haven’t had in several months.

For me, the lack of humanity when serving the older gentlemen was disappointing, if they couldn’t seat him, they should immediately have offered him a takeaway service, rather than suggesting he sit outside in a cold and windy gazebo and this is the reason for my average review.

Date of visit: August 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Monostu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2020 via mobile

Probably the worst eating out experience I’ve had post COVID-19. The service was so robotic and the woman serving behind the bar doesn’t acquire any level of customer service skills. We left a bad review and we then received a curtesy call after thanking us for the bad review in the most sarcastic way possible. Avoid this place at all costs

Date of visit: August 2020
Thank sarahjK600YN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bridgetd36, Owner at The Duke of York, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2020

Thank you for your comments. It is helpful if everyone helps us with our COVID secure steps during your visit - so to refuse to assist our staff with plates etc at your table, to insist on ignoring our one-way system and to leave sarcastic comments and drawings on our track and trace slip makes things a little harder for our staff in these different times. The follow up phone call was to ensure we held the correct phone number for you. Please be kind to our staff and other staff at places you visit in the future. They are all doing their best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2020

Stayed at a nearby cottage for a week with the family and ate takeaway from the Duke of York 4 nights during our stay. The food and service was excellent. Very nice roast dinner on Sunday and various other dishes the other nights from their menu. Very pleased all in all.

Date of visit: July 2020
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Duke of York also viewed

Quarnford, Staffordshire
 
Crowdecote, Peak District National Park
 

Been to The Duke of York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.