We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value... lovely lunch! ”
Review of The Duke of York

The Duke of York
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Flagg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Duke of York is conveniently located on the A515 between Buxton and Ashbourne. Approximately 12 Miles from Ashbourne and only 6 Miles from Buxton. With ample parking, we offer Real Ales, Log Fires and Traditional homemade food.With our Main Menu, Senior Menu, Childrens Menu and Specials we hope you fill find something for everyone. Vegan/vegetarian and Gluten Free options are also available. Our Sunday Menu includes a traditional Sunday Roast with homemade Yorkshire pudding and is available 12-6pm (subject to availability) The campsite has stunning views of the Peak District and offers All Year camping facilities with 27 hard standing pitches. An additional 10 tent pitches are available April to September. The shower/toilet block has underfloor heating. Friendly Dogs on leads are Welcome in the Bar and on the campsite.
Reviewed 16 June 2018 via mobile

4 of us Popped in for a bite of lunch on a Saturday, we sat in the bar as had dogs with us, we had booked but there was plenty of room.
Warm welcome from friendly team.
We had 3 courses, mains were gammon, curry and hunters chicken, beautiful homemade apple crumble!
Really good value, highly recommend.

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (428)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 109 of 428 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2018

This was our first visit here, and we will most certainly return. We stayed on the campsite in our motorhome. The views from the site are amazing. Watching the farmers working the fields, listening to the cattle and sheep nearby and the wonderful sound of birdsong all contribute to a restorative, tranquil experience. OK, the pitches aren't completely level, but not bad enough to be an issue, and levelling is not very difficult to do. The site is high up in the hills, and as a result it does get breezy, but the plus side is that you can see for miles. The showers and toilets were clean and well looked after, although I understand that the previous week someone had rammed a nappy down one of the gents toilets instead of bothering to put it where it belonged. This had caused a real problem blockage, but I understand that this was sorted out as quickly as possible once Bridget had been informed that there was a problem. Unlike other reviewers, we did not find the showers too small. We had a really lovely meal in the pub and were very well looked after by the staff, whose professionalism and friendliness cannot be faulted. We will most certainly return to this lovely place, and I envy everyone who lives close enough to visit on a regular basis.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kathryn1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bridgetd36, Owner at The Duke of York, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2018

Thank you for your lovely review! We look forward to seeing you again sometime :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

What can I say, visited here numerous times and never faults. Anything from a snack to carvery/specials. Staff are welcoming and honest, dogs welcome (but they do advise you to book for a table with a dog) lovely views from campsite and beer garden, very clean and nothing too much trouble for the staff. Always fairly busy when we go so we do book. Has been tidied up a lot Over the past year. Traditional country pub in a lovely setting, what more could you want! Would definitely recommend and will be back soon.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank elmo95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018

Thoroughly enjoyable food and great atmosphere. The owners, Bridget & Gary, always ensure we are well looked after and fully satisfied with our meals (which are consistently great quality). The menus are diverse, catering for all dietary requirements with a specials board which is regularly updated. Highly recommend popping in whilst on your travels on the A515!

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Z5508AWmichaels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018

Ok let’s start with the camp site, pitches not level, paid for water hock up but then had to let a motor home use my tape ( not a issues ). Only two toilets in the gents along with Two showers, ( busy weekend ) hence you had to wait, if your a large person your going to struggle in the shower, plus nowhere to put your shower things. Then one of the toilets went out of order leave one, which isn’t the site fault but the person that broke it, however wasn’t fixed for two days. Washing up area no good without a plug....plus side, great views from our pitch.

Now the pub, if you have a dog, forget it unless you’ve booked a table, food was nice on our first night, but when our friends joined us we thought we would all go back for the last night and sat in the garden, went to the bar to order and was told that we had to wait 30 minutes before they would take our order, so we all left and went down to Royal Oak and spent £120 there instead.

The whole setup needs reviewing.

Would I go back again. No I’ll go over to the site on the other side of the road.

Dave

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank david w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Duke of York also viewed

Quarnford, Staffordshire
 
Crowdecote, Peak District National Park
 

Been to The Duke of York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.