We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hilltop Accommodation Catlins
Ranked #1 of 2 Papatowai B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 May 2017

Although Hilltop was very central to The Catlins and the view magnificent on a clear day, we found sharing the kitchen facilities and the size of the twin room was not what we expected. The open fire was very welcoming on arrival. Thanks to Toby and Stuart for their help and understanding.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianeC380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2016 via mobile

Had the lower house to ourselves for our one night's stay. This house has the bunk rooms and the room with ensuite. Old house with a character and fabulous sunrise view from our room. The owners are also very welcoming and within reach in case we need anything. We truly enjoyed our retreat style vacation in this house playing music, jenga and cooking simple dishes.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank 654mariels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart M, Owner at Hilltop Accommodation Catlins, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2016

It was great to meet you both, and we are so pleased you enjoyed your time at Hilltop

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights to see the sights of the catlins.

We had booked a double with shared bathroom, but on arrival we were upgraded to the double ensuite.

The room was amazing! The bed was huge and the bathroom was a decent size. There is a decent kitchen area with all bits that you need.

We didn't spend much time in the place as we were out exploring the catlins all day both days, but this place is a great base and great value for money!!

Stayed: January 2016
Thank kanabara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart M, Owner at Hilltop Accommodation Catlins, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2016

Thanks for taking the time to review. We are pleased you enjoyed your three nights with us, and found us such a great central base to explore both the northern and southern parts of the beautiful Catlins.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2015

We booked the bedroom with bathroom on suite in the smaller cottage and were fortunate enough to have the whole house to ourselves. The views were spectacular. Everything was spotlessly clean. The kitchen had everything we needed. A great stop over in the Catlins.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Thank Heather K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart M, Owner at Hilltop Accommodation Catlins, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2016

Thanks for your 5 star review. Pleased you enjoyed your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2015

I stayed in the dorm room along with my girlfriend and i have to say i was incredibly impressed! We were the only 2 booked in to the little cottage and it was lovely. The facilities were brilliant, the scenery is amazing, and overall an awesome little spot. Would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for either dorm accommodation or a weekend getaway, Especially for couples, Extraordinary!
Thanks guys for experience, A true hidden gem!

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank anadu21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart M, Manager at Hilltop Accommodation Catlins, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2016

Thanks for your comments. Pleased that the two of you enjoyed your stay Hilltop is great for a weekend getaway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Papatowai
19.7 km away
Owaka Lodge Motel
Owaka Lodge Motel
#1 of 1 in Owaka
55 reviews
8.5 km away
Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls
25.7 km away
Waikava Harbour View
Waikava Harbour View
#1 of 3 in Waikawa
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.4 km away
Nugget View & Kaka Point Motels
31.4 km away
Mike & Jennys Kaka Point Accommodation
19.9 km away
Catlins Area Motel
Catlins Area Motel
#2 of 6 in Owaka
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilltop Accommodation Catlins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilltop Accommodation Catlins

Address: 77 Tahakopa Valley Rd, Papatowai, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Papatowai
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Papatowai
Price Range: €64 - €66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peaceful country accommodation in the heart of the Catlins, overlooking the Southern Scenic route. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hilltop Accommodation Catlins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing