We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hilltop Accommodation Catlins
Nearby Hotels
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nugget View & Kaka Point Motels(Kaka Point)(Great Value!)
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
15
8
6
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
15
8
6
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsliving areatwin roomthe kitchenon arrivalhousecottagefacilitiesaccommodationscatlinscharacterfalls
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2016 via mobile

Had the lower house to ourselves for our one night's stay. This house has the bunk rooms and the room with ensuite. Old house with a character and fabulous sunrise view from our room. The owners are also very welcoming and within reach in case we need anything. We truly enjoyed our retreat style vacation in this house playing music, jenga and cooking simple dishes.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank 654mariels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart M, Owner at Hilltop Accommodation Catlins, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2016

It was great to meet you both, and we are so pleased you enjoyed your time at Hilltop

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights to see the sights of the catlins.

We had booked a double with shared bathroom, but on arrival we were upgraded to the double ensuite.

The room was amazing! The bed was huge and the bathroom was a decent size. There is a decent kitchen area with all bits that you need.

We didn't spend much time in the place as we were out exploring the catlins all day both days, but this place is a great base and great value for money!!

Stayed: January 2016
Thank kanabara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart M, Owner at Hilltop Accommodation Catlins, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2016

Thanks for taking the time to review. We are pleased you enjoyed your three nights with us, and found us such a great central base to explore both the northern and southern parts of the beautiful Catlins.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2015

We booked the bedroom with bathroom on suite in the smaller cottage and were fortunate enough to have the whole house to ourselves. The views were spectacular. Everything was spotlessly clean. The kitchen had everything we needed. A great stop over in the Catlins.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Thank Heather K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart M, Owner at Hilltop Accommodation Catlins, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2016

Thanks for your 5 star review. Pleased you enjoyed your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2015

I stayed in the dorm room along with my girlfriend and i have to say i was incredibly impressed! We were the only 2 booked in to the little cottage and it was lovely. The facilities were brilliant, the scenery is amazing, and overall an awesome little spot. Would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for either dorm accommodation or a weekend getaway, Especially for couples, Extraordinary!
Thanks guys for experience, A true hidden gem!

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank anadu21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart M, Manager at Hilltop Accommodation Catlins, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2016

Thanks for your comments. Pleased that the two of you enjoyed your stay Hilltop is great for a weekend getaway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2015

Utterly memorable stay at Papatowai. Typical laid back Southern hospitality where old fashioned virtues of trust and friendship still exist. We had the nicest evening in a fantastically well equipped home with lots of firewood and a wonderfully comfortable bed. There was even a bath if we needed one! Fantastic value for money. I will recommend this accommodation to all I talk to and would love to return any day.Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful part of our beautiful Aotearoa

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Deb R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart M, Owner at Hilltop Accommodation Catlins, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2016

We really appreciate your comments about hospitality, trust and friendship, and thank you for your recommendations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews