We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful bike friendly accommodation”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 1 Barton Lodge

1 Barton Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
1 Barton Lodge
Kitchen Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
1 Barton Lodge
Kitchen
Living room
Dining Room
Master Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Whippingham, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Soruman
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful bike friendly accommodation”
Reviewed 17 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We rented this wonderful cottage for a pretty intense cycling long weekend.
The location was quite convenient for us as we wanted to explore the island with our mountain bikes.
The house had everything what a cyclist wish to have on a cycling trip:
A nice and fully equipped comfortable accommodation where to recover your body, a sheltered area where to leave your bikes during the night, a hose in the garden for cleaning your bike and, last but not least, a barbecue and a nice garden where to enjoy the evening after a great ride.

What´s more, the owner was very friendly and left us a pump for our bikes, which was really helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of accomodation
Liked least: Road close to the property
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jun 2015
We're so glad that you liked the house and found it good as a sporting base. Please tell your friends! Brgds Amber
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoe H
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Stay - Great Location”
Reviewed 12 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We all had a lovely stay at Barton Lodge. The house had everything we needed and a beautiful garden backing onto fields, with a bbq.The bedrooms are spacious with lots of storage space and the dining table and living room great spaces for relaxing and eating together.
The house is also in a great location!
We would strongly recommend a visit!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2015
Thanks so much for you kind review - and come and see us again soon! Brgds Amber
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert D
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 28 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

First time visit to Isle of Wight and we could not have wished for a better place to stay with two children. Great well maintained cottage and all of us thoroughly enjoyed it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kids loved the garden!
Liked least: The road with ongoing traffic next to the cottage
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 May 2015
Thanks so much for your review which we really appreciate. We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna G
Windsor and Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent, spacious character property”
Reviewed 8 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Excellent, spacious character property. Friendly owners. Really good food at Folly Inn and lovely walk past Folly Inn along (to Newport) or around the water.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Apr 2015
Thanks for your kind review - we are always grateful!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnLiz20...
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal base for exploring the Island”
Reviewed 26 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Barton Lodge proved to be an ideal base for a a short visit to the Island. As regular visitors for many years (my wife is from the IoW) this time was for a family funeral and our choice of accommodation made a sad occasion much easier.

Within minutes of arriving on the ferry into East Cowes we were welcomed by the owners and shown round the property. A short while later it just felt like 'home from home' - it's that sort of property - comfortable and well equipped.

Worthy of special note were the beds which were (for our taste) a cut above anything else we've come across when staying in rented accommodation. Although located close by one of the busier roads on the island we didn't get disturbed by any noise, no doubt helped by the traditional thick stone walls.

Unless you're intent on a sand-and-spade holiday Barton Lodge will provide an ideal base to explore the Island and its increasingly varied selection of eating places supplying locally sourced food.

We intend to return and enjoy Barton Lodge and Island again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beds
Liked least: Not having time to light the wood burning stoves!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jan 2015
Thanks John for your kind review. Please come and see us again in happier circumstances.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing