We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice grounds, easy access”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Club Delta Mar Crown Resort
Reviewed 3 April 2009

Just back from a 1 week stay in unit C2/2 of the Delta Mar resort (Crown resort property). This was an RCI exchange, booked to allow us to use some Delta FF miles to fly to Europe over my wife's spring break.
Since it is the low season the check-in at this resort was not currently staffed (RCI had warned us of that), and when we arrived (at 23:30) we were met with a darkened building, but also with a sign that clearly indicated we should push a button/buzzer for reception. A cheerful voice answered immediately, and a car was dispatched to lead us to the main desk check-in a couple of km away, arriving in a few minutes.
Check-in was flawless, and they were very willing to help us arrange a unit with a sea view (one of my wife's only requirements). Staff was very accommodating and spoke excellent English. In short order someone was leading us back to the resort to open up the unit for us.
Our unit was a smallish kitchen (apt sized fridge and stove/oven, microwave/toaster over, coffee maker, electric teapot, regular toaster, clothes washer, and all the necessary pots/pans and dishware/glassware/silverware you might need for 6), dining area with table and chairs and a buffet, living room with sleeper sofa, loveseat, TV and (non-functioning) fireplace, large balcony with table and chairs, master bedroom with queen sized bed, 2nd bedroom with 2 twins, and a large bathroom with sink, shower/tub, toilet and bidet. It overlooked the gardens/pool area and had tile floors and stucco walls in good repair. Once daylight broke we could see the Med in the distance (about 1 km) from the balcony and master bedroom window (making my wife very happy). Parking on the street was adequate and available right out front every day of our stay. There were no elevators for the building (4 stories) so be forewarned about toting luggage up the stairs. There is also no central heat or A/C. However, there was a portable heater that was more than adequate, and with the sea breezes I imagine it would be OK if you leave the windows open when it is warm (unless you like to keep the temp below 65F) We only needed the heater the first night since the unit had been closed up with the curtains drawn all day prior to our arrival.
The grounds were very nice, lots of plantings and green space, with a pool right outside our unit and one further down the hill that was heated. We didn't make use of the pool, but did stroll the grounds, and walked to the beach (reached by using an underpass to cross the A-7 out front of the compound)
About 1/3 km away was a small shopping complex with a few bars/restaurants, a video rental shop, and a mini-mall (opens at 9 am -- closes about 8 pm) that included a large grocery store downstairs , some gift shops, a bank, and a travel agency. On the corner was a good sized mini-mart open until about 1 am nightly.
The resort was a convenient place to use as a base for day trips and we went to Malaga, Granada/Alhambra, Gibraltar, Cadiz/Jerez, Ronda, and Tangier (Morocco) over the week we were there (each day trip was a 1 to 3 hours drive each way) We did go to the Flamenco show in the main resort one night which was OK but not as elaborate as you would see in Madrid or Sevilla (but it was free...) Dinner at the show was good, with an excellent paella. On the approach to the main check-in there are lots of restaurants and bars. A car is a definite plus in the area unless you just want to hang out at the resort.
I would definitely stay here again, especially in the low/off season when it is nice and quiet, the temperature is perfect and the area isn't too crowded.
NOTICE: Be advised (as of 4/09) that the location is NOT correct on the map link from the Tripadvisor site. Looking at the satellite view, resort is actually a couple of blocks south of the indicated spot, below the loop road and just north of the highway bordered by trees on the west .

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chienfou-n-LatinMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 83 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2008

This is a Crown's Resort. There are several in the area and you can use the facilities of all of them. A shuttle bus is provided, though check the timetable, they don't run constantly all day.

The Club Delta Mar has the friendliest and most polite staff I have ever come across on holiday so far. It is a quite resort not too far to walk to restaurants and bars (there are aren't many). The best restaurant bar was 200m walk away. Just turn left out of the resort. It is an Italian restaurant with a separate bar area. The staff are so nice. My father in law had his birthday during our holiday and we booked a meal there and requested a birthday cake for him. The staff brought the cake to him singing 'Happy Birthday' and then everyone there clapped.

The Club Delta Mar apartments were very clean. There is a heated pool with a bar / restaurant serving hot and cold food. Unfortunately it is not open in the evenings. There is another larger pool on site and it wasn't busy at all. Sunbeds were always available.

The area you are looking for when driving to the resort (towards Marbella) is the Rivieria. As you take this turning you will see the supermarkets/shops and restaurants. After driving past the shops, at the mini roundabout take the left, the resort is about 300m on the left. The turn in to the resort is a bit tight and watch out for cars coming out of the resort. The drive way is a bit steep.

The only other Crown resort we visited was the Club Marbella, nearby, via shuttlebus, one evening to use the restaurant and for the evening entertainment. Maybe we were unlucky that evening. The service was poor, they got the meals wrong and even forgot to bring our drinks and it wasn't busy. The entertainment was due to start at 9pm but by 9.20pm it hadn't started and we left to get the shuttlebus back at 9.25pm. The next bus wasn't until much later and we didn't want to be stuck there. We went for a drink at the Italian place.

This site is half way between Marbella and Fuengirola (I think I've spelt that correctly).

To enjoy this area you do really need to hire a car and we used, for the first time, Malagacar.com. They pick you up at arrivals and take you to their depot which is about 3 minutes drive away. This company doesn't take a deposit when you book online. When we got to the airport our name wasn't on their list. Don't let that bother you. The process was speedy and we even got a free upgrade on our car. Even better when you take it back, we were leaving early in the morning, one of their people got in the driving seat of our car and drove us to the airport.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wishtobeskinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2008

Was an exchange with rci very out of date for a timeshare, Only has entertainment once a week the pool bar is only open between 11am and 6pm and is poor value although the food was ok.No real holiday atmosphere about the place at all. The barman abdul was very friendly but run off his feet on a tuesday night which is entertainment night. Was there for 2 weeks and was only given clean towels on 4 occasions the apartment was never mopped at all infact housekeeping was very poor we were expected to empty our own bins. The only thing really going for this place is the well manicured gardens and the swimming pools although only one of them had a lifeguard.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bollybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2008

Club Delta Mar is between Fuengirola and Marbella. My husband and young daughter and stayed here for a week.

The apartment was fantastic with great views over the pool complex. The apartment was clean and spacious and perfect for the three of us.

You do need a car in this area as there is nowhere really to walk to. The main highway separates the apartment complex with the beach, so a car is necessary.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank buglybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2008

Booked via RCI exchange with my wife, daughter and two grandchildren aged 4 and 1. Resort address is Malaga but the resort is 40Km away and is 50 euros for a one way taxi that only carry four persons. We booked a mini bus via the resort via the internet and that was 104 euros including two child car seats.
The two bedded apartment was accessed via a locked gate, ours was on the ground floor and opened onto very well kept lawned area that was also enclosed and great for the kids. The apartment had an ensuite bathroom off the double bed room, a room with two single beds and a second very small shower room with sink and toilet. You had to maneuver round the door and close it before using the toilet. This second bathroom is still use full and much needed. The kitchen was fully equipped for any eventuality.
This is part of a complex of five resorts spread over the area known as Riviera Del Sol a free mini bus runs several times a day between the resorts and to a local beach which is worth a visit .One of the two pools was heated, which was needed especially the first two days of our stay which was cool and windy, The second pool in the gardens area and the two small children’s pools are not heated .A life guard was present at the heated pool and he was very vigilant. The pool bar was open from 12:45 – 17:00 serving chips with a variety of sandwiches and burgers and not particularly good value. Leaving the resort was a trial especially with a double buggy the hill to climb was very steep and was a problem up and down .Once out and about ,very limited a few bars two super markets a not too pretty beach area but with a good beach café that opened 11:00 – 20:00.We found Georges bar the best run by very nice people, again even given the poor exchange rate we found it poor value for money .The area is very residential with a high population of British .For us it was too close to busy roads which made walking any ware difficult .Even when there were completed foot paths they had planted trees in the middle of it so walking on the road was un avoidable.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shaunP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sitio de Calahonda
1.2 km away
Crown Resorts Club Marbella / Club Regency Palms
1.3 km away
Crown Resorts Club Calahonda
2.5 km away
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
#3 of 4 in La Cala de Mijas
1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
Eurostars Mijas Golf & Spa
1.4 km away
Ona Campanario
Ona Campanario
#10 of 27 in Mijas
174 reviews
1.2 km away
El Oceano Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Delta Mar Crown Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Delta Mar Crown Resort

Address: Calle Libra, 29650 Sitio de Calahonda, Mijas, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas > Sitio de Calahonda
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sitio de Calahonda
Price Range: €47 - €242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club Delta Mar Crown Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Club Delta Mar Crown Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Delta Mar Hotel Malaga
Hotel Delta Mar
Delta Malaga
málaga Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing