We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best fish and chips around ....but buy now while stocks last!”
Review of Henleys

Henleys
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$24
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Located on the Beach side of the A7 main road opposite the El Zoco Shopping Centre. Next to the McDonalds Dona Lola Resort Complex.Henleys is situated on the second row of Restaurants at the 'Malaga'end of the row of Dona Lola Restaurants
Reviewed 5 July 2017 via mobile

This is my third review of Henleys in five years, so yes, I am biased, but I just had the fish and chips again for the first time in a long while. They were cooked to perfection and beautifully presented.

Henleys is a great stop for good quality food - consistently well cooked and always well presented. You never have a poor meal here with a good variety of dishes for starters through to desert.

David and Shirley, the owners, have created the friendliest restaurant down on this coast where you are always warmly greeted - regular or first timer.

Yes the fish and chips are great and there are several restaurants on the strip at Dona Lola who have tried to copy the success, but they fall a long way behind. Don't bother with the imitators is my advice.

The bad news is that Henleys is closing at the end of October after twenty something years, so if you want to try it, be quick! I'd thoroughly recommend that you do!

Thank kellerman00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
henleys2000, Owner at Henleys, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

Thank you Kellerman for another very complimentary review. As you say this will be our last season and at the end of October we will be hanging up our aprons after 17 years.
It has been an enjoyable and very social hobby which we will miss.
We have always tried to give consistently good quality food and offer a genuine and sincere welcome to our customers. Service quality first and treating customers with respect.
Trip advisor has given us the platform to tell others about Henleys but more recently we have slipped down their rankings. Our reviews have remained consistently excellent but because we don't generate enough of them, we get lost. Those businesses that import large numbers of reviews of varying quality find themselves at an advantage under the current rankings.
Anyway off my soapbox, but more important, thank you for being such a loyal customer over all these years. We look forward to more fish and chips between now and the end of October

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2017

So many people had told us how good Henley's was that we thought we should try it. Our first visit was excellent as we tried out their famous fish n chips and we could see why their reputation was so good. So this week we went again to sample the other delights on their varied menu. The liver and bacon was possibly the best we have tasted, anywhere. The other great feature is the the excellent service and and the brilliant staff. We were made to feel very welcome and will be happy to return again and again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
henleys2000, Owner at Henleys, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to contact Tripadvisor. We set up Henleys 17 years ago and have enjoyed the contact with Customers along the way. We have always tried to give of our best with quality food and friendly genuine service. This will be our last year when we will be hanging up our Aprons. Its been a great time for us both and we will miss everything that comes with Henleys and meeting people like yourselves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017 via mobile

I never thought I'd say that a meal at an English restaurant was one of our best in Spain but it truly was. The chef and waitress owners incredibly warm and friendly, the wine excellent and inexpensive, the portions ginormous, the food exquisite. A lovely lovely evening!

Thank jeffnshoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
henleys2000, Owner at Henleys, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

Thank you for your kind and spontaneous review. Shirley and I are always encouraged when we hear from Customers and especially when they take the time to contact Trip advisor. Thank you for coming to Henleys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017 via mobile

On our last night in Spain we we advised to try Henleys!! Wow, you really should try it here! Great food, great staff, GREAT PLACE

1  Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
henleys2000, Owner at Henleys, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2017

Thank you for your very complimentary review Keith . It's always good to get such comments, it gives us all the lift to know we are pleasing new Customers. Thank you for contacting Trip advisor and telling them all about us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017 via mobile

After a couple of years away I was delighted to be able to return to Henleys during my recent trip to Spain. Shirley & Dave are still incredible hosts and the menu has had some excellent updates. Take my advice and reserve a table for every night of your stay (except Saturday when they have a well deserved day off) and just work your way through the menu. There is no such thing as a bad choice at Henleys! Amazing food, good portion sizes and great value. And you must try the strawberry G&T.

Thank coppij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Henleys also viewed

 
Sitio de Calahonda, Mijas
Sitio de Calahonda, Mijas
 
Sitio de Calahonda, Mijas
Mijas, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Henleys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing