We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (264)
Filter reviews
264 results
Traveller rating
170
72
16
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
170
72
16
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews security man on site restaurant sauna and steam room sister hotel regular visitors quiz night maintained grounds children's club home from home heated pool crazy golf working order puerto cabopino children's activities two week holiday bed apartment spanish lessons
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 264 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2018 via mobile

We were booked to stay at the sister hotel Dona Lola however upon finding it was having some work done to the pool area we requested a change to the Playa Leila which was accommodated.

We stayed in a 2 bed apartment. It was very clean and had everything you could want in the kitchen for a stay. Even a lovely few supplies to get you started (bread, milk, eggs, juice etc). Not sure if this is what everyone gets though. We were on the bottom floor so we could hear noise from above quite often but for some this isn’t an issue and I never spoke up about it. If I did, I am sure we could have swapped rooms but once we’d unpacked; we were settled!

The grounds are gorgeous and very well Maintained. The on-site restaurant is lovely but it doesn’t open to 11.30am. A 5 min walk across the toad to a supermarket and a few other shops, and La Luna restaurant within walking distance we were kept happy. It’s not in a great location if walking to restaurants and lunch for dinner is your thing but reception easily called a taxi for us and we were on our way.

Would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Simon and Beth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastián U, General Manager at Macdonald Leila Playa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Thank you Simon for recommending our resort. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Leila Playa and hope you will visit us again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2018

Been here many times and love the place.Lovely views, Quiet and relaxing, Staff always very helpful and friendly. The boardwalk has certainly added to the area with a pleasant walk along the coast.
Will be returning again with family in June 18 for a week

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Thank RichardJH2622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastián U, General Manager at Macdonald Leila Playa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2018

Thank you Richard for taking the time to post your comments. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018 via mobile

Love it here . I’ve been coming since I was 8 yrs old and now I’m bringing my kids . We love it . I can not wait to come in September this year ... they know us as a family ... Mr Paul and Cathy Eales

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Dawn Nadine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastián U, General Manager at Macdonald Leila Playa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Thank you Dawn for taking the time to post these positive comments. We look forward to seeing you in September.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2018 via mobile

We have stayed with the McDonald group many times in UK. This was a first in Spain is the same very high standard .The apartment is very well equipped and comfortable for our family of 3 adults, with lovely views across the bay from the patio. Food at beach bar restaurant is excellent quality mostly around €50 for 3 mains and drinks.
The road to cross to the local shops is a motorway so very loud and busy. The resort is a quiet haven lovely gardens with waterfalls .

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
3  Thank DerbyshirePeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastián U, General Manager at Macdonald Leila Playa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2018

Very heated and sheltered pool which made our holiday as it was an unseasonably cold week in April. Nice beach restaurant in close proximity. Apartments had all the appliances you need for a holiday. Children enjoyed the pool. Close proximity to Gibraltar, Maijas and Malaga

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Thank GavinS1233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastián U, General Manager at Macdonald Leila Playa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Thank you Gavin for your positive comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews