We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An ideal overnight stop for the Rosslare ferry traveller”
Review of Ashfield House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ashfield House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Killinick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2017

We have been staying overnight at the Danby for more years than I can remember. It has so much going for it. Near to Rosslare Harbour to relax after the crossing from Pembroke, to have a drink and a meal before retiring to your room in preparation for your onward destination in Ireland. Danby Lodge is a pair of bookends for our frequent business trips via Irish Ferries. We stay there on our evening arrival in Rosslare and on the evening before our early morning return journey departure to Pembroke.

Prices are reasonable but can be variable. But good deals can be found on the internet.

Staff and service are first class in reception, bar and restaurant.

All bedrooms have more than adequate space and we have slept in many of them. Wifi is an essentail for me and I always use it here to upload large files to my website, as I did on this latest visit.

I recommend the king prawn starters but leave you to decide on any of the mains, which we always enjoy.

My only negative is having Radio Wexford clashing with Sky News television in the bar/restaurant. I've never had the courage to ask, 'Please, can we have one or the other'.

Room Tip: Best rooms are nearest to reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (377)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 377 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2017

We stayed one night prior to an early ferry departure in the morning from rosslare. The hotel is very covenient for the ferry port. Stayed in a king size room which was excellent and very comfortable and clean, and we were pleasantly surprise by the quality of the room would stay again as a stop over. The bar is not particularly cosy but the food was good, with friendly staff and good value. Rooms at the front of the hotel can be noisy with night ferry traffic.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter due to night ferry traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Stevep5553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017 via mobile

Quite a standard 3star. Staff are very friendly, if somewhat forgetful in the bar. Food is ok, breakfast I would rate as good. Room was too warm for a good night's sleep and the quilt was better suited to mid-winter than June, but if you stayed in December it might be ok.

Somewhat out of town, so nowhere much to go without driving.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank AnotheranonDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2017

We stayed here the night before we travelled to Wales by the ferry. It is most conveniently placed for the harbour. We had a very pleasant room, good bathroom but overall the hotel is quite ordinary . However it has excellent grounds and they are a pleasant place to sit. We had dinner in their restaurant and the food ws quite good and we also enjoyed a bottle of wine, a limited list but adequate. The staff were helpful and ery pleasant. I would stay here again for the easy to the ferry.

Room Tip: Hotel is well set back from the road which is busy so all are probably very quiet. We had a ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Abogail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DLHSM, Manager at Ashfield House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2017

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 0539158191.

Sincerely,

Aoife Sambou
Best Western Danby Lodge Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017

What a lovely little hotel! Room was very clean and tidy. All of the staff during our stay here were happy to help with any need, friendly and mannerly. There is a nice bar and the food is really nice. Perfect spot for a trip to the south east or a stop of to or from the Ferry! :)

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killinick
2.9 km away
Talbot Wexford
Talbot Wexford
#4 of 5 in Wexford
1,686 reviews
10.6 km away
Hotel Rosslare
Hotel Rosslare
#4 of 5 in Rosslare
291 reviews
3.3 km away
Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
Kelly's Resort Hotel & Spa
7.9 km away
Churchtown House
Churchtown House
#1 of 1 in Tagoat
104 reviews
26.8 km away
Horse & Hound Inn Hotel
Horse & Hound Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballinaboola
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashfield House

Address: Rosslare Road, Killinick, Rosslare, Ireland (Formerly Rosslare Danby Lodge Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Rosslare > Killinick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Killinick
Price Range: €60 - €198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashfield House 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rosslare Danby Lodge Hotel is located in the beautiful South East of Ireland. This delightful family run property is located on the N25 between Wexford Town and Rosslare Harbour. An Ideal location in the sunny South East with the wonderful Rosslare strand nearby, this family friendly hotel has much to offer. Whether it is a relaxing break or a stopping point for the ferry, the Rosslare Danby Lodge Hotel will welcome you like you are one of their family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Ashfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danby Hotel Killinick
Danby Hotel Rosslare
Danby Lodge Hotel
Ashfield House Killinick, Rosslare, County Wexford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing