We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,920)
Filter reviews
1,920 results
Traveller rating
1,227
419
157
61
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,227
419
157
61
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviews deluxe villas beach club tennis courts molton brown toiletries don carlos resort private pool sea view short break puerto banus pools roman oasis taxis euro
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 1,920 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2019 via mobile

What an amazing place
We stayed at their villas everything you wanted was there
Staff very welcoming and friendly and they went that extra mile for their guests
Definitely will go back and recommend
DON CARLOS

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Isabel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonCarlosResort, Personal Assistant at Don Carlos Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2019

Dear Ms Isabel R,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with Tripadvisor’s members.
We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay at Deluxe Villas. This is our best reward.
We will convey to the Deluxe Villas team your nice words regarding their services.
We wish to welcome you back soon.
Yours sincerely,
Irene López
Personal Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2019 via mobile

We have stayed at The Don Carlos numerous times over the last 15 years. This weekend was great as always. Staff friendly and helpful as always. Fabulous breakfast buffet. Lovely big room with a sea view. We find the hotel very reasonably priced for the facilities and surroundings on offer. We’ll be back very soon

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Lesleyw1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonCarlosResort, Personal Assistant at Don Carlos Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2019

Dear guest,
First of all, we would like to thank you very much for your loyalty.
You know that our goal is that you feel home away from home and that you keep nice memories of your stay at Don Carlos Resort & SPA.
We wish to welcome you back soon.
Yours sincerely,
Irene López
Personal Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2019

We visited in early September as our first family holiday. Hate to be the person that says this but we have been on many 5* holidays pre children and booked Don Carlos because of the outstanding reviews.

Positives:
Very child and buggy friendly. Child pool is great and the pools themselves were nice/clean. Some staff are great including all those at the breakfast buffet/lifeguards.

The garden grounds and location on the beach front is lovely.

Breakfast buffet is great. Egg station and cava.

Room (once we upgraded- see below) - had a stunning view of the sunset (but we had to pay an extra €800).

Bar is good with live music

Negatives;
It is not value for money. Must be paying for the exclusivity of the area. Much more value can be had towards central Marbella or even Puerto banus. We booked out of season and needed to upgrade our room to avoid having a car park view and room for a cot.

This place is marketed very well on its website and instagram as a luxury hotel and the pool is marketed as vip experience ‘Don Carlos beach club’. This is just not the case. The pools are cracked concrete and need updating. The pool beds and umbrellas feel very tired. We would have loved to have been able to use the ‘daybeds’ which were very nice and near the sea/on the sea but there was quite a big surcharge - seems unnecessary for a hotel that was not full. There were lots of empty beds every day

There is no service at the pools, no offer of help with sun loungers, no offers of water. You have to go to the bar. You have to go and collect your towels. Staff are wandering round but you are never asked if you want anything. When you do order something at the bar, you get it delivered to sunlounger but then the dishes stay next to you all day.

The room we were given had a lovely view but the balcony needs work - a nice set of table and chairs so you can enjoy the view would be an easy fix.

Gym- small and not equipped very well. we were told on checkout that there was another gym in the tennis courts (a walk from the complex). why were we not given this information on check in?

Restaurants - only one was open when we went. Disappointing. Check before you go. The poolside restaurants were ok but very expensive. My husband ordered three red prawns for €30 and they were tiny.

We tried to speak to management about this a few times. A gesture was given that we were allowed to use a daybed for our last morning. They also said we could have a cocktail each, but when we went to the beach club we waited for service but again, didn’t happen. It just felt it was a little too late.

We had a lovely holiday but it was a shame on a number of points that it did not live up to expectation

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank sunjunkie85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonCarlosResort, Personal Assistant at Don Carlos Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2019

Dear guest,
First of all, we would like to thank you very much for your comments.
They are one of the tools that we use to improve our standards.
We are so sorry that you did not like at all your room but until September 15th more or less we are in high season and we need to assign to our guests the room contracted. If there is the chance to make an upgrade, of course, we can offer to you. It is nice to know that you have enjoyed a nice view of the new room.
We are sorry that we did not reach the level of service that you wait from us, mainly in our Beach Club. As you describe your experience we agree with you and this cannot be the service that we wish to offer to our guests. Please, accept our most sincere apologies. We have passed a copy of your comment to our Food & Beverage manager in order to check the services in our Beach Club and change some works methods.
Once more, we please ask you to accept our apologies and we hope that this incident does not affect your decision to come back to our resort for your next holidays.
Yours sincerely,
Irene López
Personal Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2019

My Family and I have been staying at the Don Carlos for the last few years mostly during the month of August.
This trip we stayed in the Deluxe 2 bedroom Villa for 11 days. Simply amazing, the villa was perfect the air con was so cold it was great on the hot days. The service from the deluxe villa staff is second to none anything and anything you wanted or needed they handled it and did it fast and super friendly. sp exceptional they even stocked the fridge with drinks and snacks that I requested prior to arriving. The deluxe villas come with the use of a mini cooper when its available and each time I requested the car was ready to go. The Villa private pool area is really nice clean and quiet with great service food and drinks from the service staff. The main hotle pool is fun and the Don carlos beach club equally as fun. The breakfast buffet is amazing ! wow anyting and everything you want is available..Kids had private tennis lessons and use dthe beach club water sports services as well loads of fun. Nikki beach is a 10 min walk from the villa so for us it was perfect. I cant say enough good things about our last trip the deluxe villa team really made it a great trip for us, i want thank the entire team, Salvador, Roman, Enrique, Yulia, Fran and of course the manager Maria :)) simply amazing see you all soon.

Date of stay: August 2019
Thank yeahrightyz3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2019

My wife and I visited the Spa at Don Carlos for her birthday. We have been before for our wedding; but only used the water facilities/spa/sauna on that occasion. By the way the facilities are fantastic. This time we booked a massage as well- and WOW! Patricia, Yesenia and Eva looked after us- great massage they even sang happy birthday and put out some balloons- which was such a lovely touch. Thank you. We both highly recommend the spa.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Nick_Holmes2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews