We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always good”
Review of Lord Nelson Inn

Lord Nelson Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 20 October 2017

Been going here a few years now and it never disappoints. Food has always been good and reasonably priced for the quality. Dog friendly is also a welcome bonus.

Thank Mitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2017

I and a friend had lunch at The Lord Nelson, when we walked in the young girl was so friendly and took our food order and drinks and said that she would bring the drinks to the table. The food was very good the pudding was very very good.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FoodieSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsbells66, Owner at Lord Nelson Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Hi thanks for your review
Our food is lovely
But the puddings are fabulous
Hope to see you again soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017

The only pub in the village and should be a decent "local". No frills decor, sixties music piped out, friendly staff, good service & choices of beers & food on offer. That said, the burger and pint I had were perfectly adequate but cost almost £20 ! These are Shoreditch prices, wages must be good around here.

Thank Bas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

This is our first time dining at the Lord Nelson Inn. It was a Friday night and there must have been skittles on that evening. The bar was bustling and the atmosphere was pleasant. There was a tempting array of sandwiches on the bar, unfortunately one of the older customers was having a good old cough over them.

We had reserved out table earlier and the waiting staff were very attentive. We were told our table was in the corner and were very happy with this location. Unfortunately we were seated right next to the kitchen door. We couldn't sit opposite each other comfortably, as staff were moving out of the kitchen quite frequently, so we sat side by side.

We enjoyed our food. I had food envy of my husband's choice off the specials board. I particularly liked the shot glass full of smarties when I paid the bill. The pub seems half bistro, half village pub, which didn't seem to flow. But the staff were excellent and delivered a high standard of customer service. I'm glad I've been and had a visit, but I expected a little more.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nicky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsbells66, Owner at Lord Nelson Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Hi thanks for your review we are a village pub through and through and certainly not a bistro
The main stay of our business is provided by our wonderful locals in our fantastic village
Too many village pubs are closing due to not being supported by local people we feel lucky for the support
The lord nelson is always a vibrant and cheerful place full of local colour .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

Four adults and three children is often not a recipe for an enjoyable Sunday lunch out, but The Lord Nelson seems to cope admirably. We arrived in good time, and the adults shared two roast lamb dishes, which come with roast potatoes, vegetables, and a carving knife and fork to deal with the lamb. It was excellent, and thoroughly enjoyed by all. The children's menu is good, with generous portions, and although the quantity defeated the smaller one, the meal was thoroughly enjoyed. The staff are always cheerful and helpful, and I thought the lunch was not only excellent, but good value, too. The little glass of smarties with your bill is a great touch - though I only got one!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsbells66, Owner at Lord Nelson Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Hi Robert
Thank you for your lovely review , Sunday's at the lord Nelson are always fun and lively , we love seeing families together relaxing and enjoying a hearty lunch
We hope you return soon and extra smarties can always be provided !!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lord Nelson Inn also viewed

Chiselborough, Somerset
Stoke sub Hamdon, Somerset
 
South Petherton, Somerset
Haselbury Plucknett, Crewkerne
 

Been to Lord Nelson Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing