We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$724
US$299
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Gaya Island Resort(Pulau Gaya)
US$514
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$423
US$182
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Hotel Kota Kinabalu(Kota Kinabalu)
US$26
US$23
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$178
US$168
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu(Kota Kinabalu)
US$171
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Celyn City Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
US$36
US$29
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
The Klagan Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
US$67
US$55
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu(Kota Kinabalu)
US$144
US$129
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (535)
Filter reviews
535 results
Traveller rating
294
152
50
26
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
294
152
50
26
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplunge poolpantai grillwild boarcanopy walkwine cellargolf buggieskoi restaurantour honeymoonsuperior villazip wiremonsoon seasonlong housefree soft drinksmini barmacaque monkeysthe general managermain restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
370 - 375 of 535 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2012 via mobile

Just back from our honeymoon at Bunga Raya, what a paradise of beautiful nature, warm & blue ocean, fantastic service and luxury accommodation. We stayed in an Ocean Villa with Plunge Pool and were completely spoiled. It is pricey, but worth every cent if you want peaceful and luxurious service.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SarahPiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We recently stayed for a week at Bunga Raya and we were delighted with it.

The resort is set in its own bay surrounded by jungle. The sea is calm and warm and teeming with fish ( at least when we were there) the sand is really soft, like flour, and is cleaned at least once a day by he hotel.
There are two restaurants and the food is excellent in both. (We struggled to understand previous reports on TA of poor quality). You can pretty much have whatever you want for breakfast and the setting is lovely, either looking at the sea or the Koi pond. Happy hour is 5 to 7 where first drink is free and the second half price. A nice touch.
The accommodation is spectacular. We were lucky to be able to stay in one of the two tree-houses. Amazing! Big bedroom with everything you could want. Nice bathroom. Balcony with plunge pool and even a pavillion. All totally private. We looked at one of the beach cottages and this looked really nice too, also with a plunge pool, though you can walk directly onto the beach.
This resort is on he edge of pristine primary jungle and this should be considered if you are uncomfortable with being close to nature. The resort is in a national park and, therefore, they are not allowed to use pesticides - we were bitten by sandflies (we are told as we never saw the little blighters). Nothing was dangerous or scary though. I didn't even see one spider, thankfully! The hotel arranges jungle treks with a guide and they have an extremely high canopy walk inside the jungle close to the resort. Our guide was Chris who was knowledgable about everything in the jungle but also told us all about the many different hibiscus plants grown there, (Bunga Raya means Hibiscus in Malay and is their national flower). All this for free.
There is a free shuttle boat to sister hotel Gayana. Only takes about 15 mins. Guayana is nice but we just wanted to return to our paradise, Bunga Raya.
Beautiful surroundings, luxury accommodation and a totally facinating place. But .... It was the staff who really added to our wonderful stay. I am not sure if its their motto but I frequently heard " If you are happy then we are happy" ALL the staff were really lovely. Considerate, caring and friendly. They come across as a big happy family. We were sorry to have to leave.
I really do hope that I can return one day.

Room Tip: All cottages seem good but for total privacy, if you can afford it ! , the treehouses are spectacular and private. If you are really rich you could rent The Royal Villa at USD 10k per night! But you do get your own cook and butler!
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Manx/Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomasAndersen, General Manager at Bunga Raya Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Dear Mr and Mrs Crowley,

Thank you for your review, we thoroughly enjoyed sharing our home with you. You will be pleased to know, since you departed we have intensified our fight against the sand fly and seem to be making some headwind. I shall share this review with my staff, I am certain they want to know when the service they deliver is appreciated. Anyhow we thank you for your visit and look forward welcoming you back again.
Best regards

Tomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012 via mobile

We absolutely loved our stay at Bunga Raya and were delighted from the moment we stepped off the boat and saw the beautiful clear blue water & white sand beach (in stark contrast to the brown and polluted water at Kota Kinabalu).

We would rate Bunga Raya much higher than the sister Gayana resort where the water isn't as nice for swimming. Gayana is worth a day trip for the snorkelling, marine ecology research centre and a meal at the Chinese seafood restaurant. Ofcourse, the snorkelling is also good off the jetty at Bunga Raya and there are other activities such as zip lining and a canopy walk that are fun.

The location of your room in the resort depends a bit on the luck of the allocation. Rooms up on the hill are accessed by buggy and therefore less convenient.

All room types are expensive but the bill for meals/extras at the end wasn't too bad reducing the overall cost of our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KJChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomasAndersen, General Manager at Bunga Raya Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Thank you for the review on Trip Advisor, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
I agree with you that Bunga Raya has one of the most beautiful locations around Sabah and being situated in Marine Sanctuary and within a National Park only adds to its uniqueness.
I hope to see you back in Bunga Raya in the not too distant future.

Best regards

Tomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

There have been a few changes since our last stay and for the most part they are changes for the better!

Food is good (contrary to other reviews) at Grill, Koi, and room service - a greater selection on offer this year and more reasonably priced than last year. Grill open the entire time we visited except for the one beach buffet night.

Overall service has improved throughout with staff more efficient and professional whilst maintaining the casual nature of the resort. Check In and check out slick with staff happy to assist with transfers, airport check in, etc, etc. There is still room for improvement with restaurant service sometimes inconsistent.

Motorised water sports gone (hooray). Peace as it should be in this place of beauty.

Pre-breakfast baskets delivered to room gone (boooo). But breakfast at the Koi improved with greater choice.

Sing Song on arrival and departure gone (boooo). But replaced with personal and attentive welcome and goodbye.

Flying Fox live (hooray). Great way to see the forest and beach from the top of the trees - not a massive adrenalin rush but good fun and value all the same.

Cocktail hour (free last year) gone (boooo). But retained free first drink and half price all those following for the hour.

Pool Villas remain the room of choice for me as the location is sublime and pools better than we remembered (I think better maintained too).

This place is relaxed, beautiful, and truly ideal for those wanting to get away from it all. You will not regret staying here. We have never returned to a hotel before for a holiday together as there is so much of the world to see but we couldn't resist returning here. When in the region I do not believe there is better (and we have stayed in a few!).

Room Tip: Beach Pool Villas are great, try to avoid the ones closest to the reception jetty as they are set back from the beach (just a couple of rooms)
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank SMB_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We stayed here a week as a stopover on the way to Sydney. The resort is in a splendid location rivalling the Maldives, on a par with Zanzibar and has a remote feel like Madagascar. At these five star prices you expect five star service. The food is massively overpriced and when it arrives which in our experience could be anything up to 45 minutes after ordering, the portions were small. Generally we had to chase the staff for everything including the bill, twice we eventually just left the table having not signed off the bill as we couldn't get anyone's attention !
Organisation in the restaurant is poor. One day three different waiters asked if you wanted coffee the next day you couldn't get the attention of a waiter (this happened on several occasions and in both restaurants). Often a waiter would forget that you had requested something and you would have to chase them for milk or water, or after 20 minutes a different waiter would cone to the table and ask to confirm what had been ordered. All of this with a lovely smile.

The person who wrote 5 star location, 4 star room, 3 star service and two star food got it sabsolutely pot on.

We are both certified divers and had looked forward to diving here. Suffice to say after one dive we decided the organisation in the restaurant was better than on the dive boat and decided one dive was enough.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wilberwreckage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomasAndersen, General Manager at Bunga Raya Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Thank you for your constructive comments. We are fully aware we do not get our service right all the time, although we aim to. Needless to say we fell below the mark during your visit with us for which i am truly sorry for.
You will be pleased to know that we have taken significant steps in improving our restaurant service and food options. Our staff who joined us in August have improved and are showing consistent high level of service.
Please do let me know if your travels brings you back to Borneo, I would love to share our improvements with you.

Best wishes.

Tomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews