We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise on Earth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Bunga Raya Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pulau Gaya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2012

This hotel is located on a preserved island (Pulau Gaya) in front of Kota Kinabalu. This part of the island is reserved for the hotel’s guests.

The hotel’s staff is very friendly and professional and they do everything they can to make you feel comfortable.

Snorkeling is such a pleasure there! After a few meters you can see many lovely fishes of all kind. Snorkeling kit is complimentary, as well as kayaks.

The beach is large and private for the hotel’s guests. The infinite pool is very pleasant.

We were in a Deluxe Villa – large and very well furnished. Amazing view from the balcony.

The restaurant is very pleasant with a sightseeing view. If you like the wine, they told me that they have the best wine cellar in Malaysia! I had the opportunity to visit it and they do have 4,000 bottles of the best wines in the world! Some of them are not for sale because they belong to the resort’s owner.

Just a remark – when I was there, there were sand flies on the beach and it was difficult to protect oneself against them. As the resort forms part of a natural park, they can’t apply any chemical product to repulse them.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Remi_Sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (505)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

352 - 356 of 505 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed here for the first 3 night of our honeymoon as a special treat and that it certainly was. We were in superior villa no. 28 which had views through the jungle out over the beach. It's a bit up the hill from the beach but the very friendly and professional staff will come get you in one of the 30 buggies (golf carts) and bring you anywhere you want to go in the resort. The room was amazing, by far the nicest we've ever stayed in; spacious, v clean and super comfortable with great ac, music system, mini bar (soft drinks and beer free!), frette linens, v spacious wrap around balcony and every little thing you could think of like rain jackets, flip flops, mosquito reppelant (worked a treat), umbrella, great selection of teas, fresh baked biscuits... The list goes on. I can't commend the staff enough! They were all so friendly and professional and nothing was ever any hassle. The food was great and we had a fantastic dinner one night in the private dinning pavilion at the Koi restaurant. Expensive but worth every penny. The setting is stunning and the sunsets as good as they get. The snorkelling off the beach/jetty was really something. As experienced divers we were well impressed. Lots of pristine coral and every type of fish. Smirk ing kit is compimentary. We did the canopy walk, zip lines and the 4 hr hike from Bunga rays over to the sister resort gayana. Gruelling but doable and definitely worth while. Our guide Chris was very knowledgeable and motivating too. Really can't say enough good things about this place. We certainly hope to come back sometime although as we live in Ireland we might be saving up for a while! It is one if the more expensive resorts to go to in Borneo but it's money well spent and you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PaulandJustine2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

The beach side villa view is to die for! Clean white sand beaches, romantic villas and outstanding villas and the Staff are extremely attentive, remembering all the names of our group!

Snorkeling is free just simply borrow the equipment to walk to the deck and dive in! The corral is quite nice and there is lots of interesting ocean life including giant clams in which the sister resort Gyana islands has a Giant clam conservation resort.

Trips by boat is free between Gyana and kota kinabalu.

There's lots of activities, for a fee, that include a guided hike, zip lining, guided snorkeling/scuba diving (on gyana), kayaking, massage, etc.

The only Negative is the food, breakfast was included and very good, but dinner and lunch is rather pricey and not very good, I would just take the free boat to KK and get lunch/dinner there.

Would definitely go back again as we did not have enough time to participate in all of the activities!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evie_e007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012



We used a company called Black Tomato to arrange our Borneo holiday - they are simply the best. We stayed here for the first 4 nights of our stay in Borneo and it was just perfect. The staff were extremely welcoming and attentive .Santos our Personal Assistant, was assigned to us on arrival and made sure anything we wanted/needed was dealt with straightaway. It was the ultimate in relaxation - your own plunge pool - we were in a beach villa, spa treatments, golf buggies to drive you to the hillier parts of the resorts, dinner on the beach or in your private balcony, snorkelling and then when we were totally chilled a gym to bring us back to reality - you have to see the view from this gym. It does take the pain out of your workout.

There is a fridge in your room, the drinks in this are all free of charge, apart from the wine. Every night there is a little treat in the room, which is left by the staff at turn down. The resort bar is fully stocked and you really must try the Gimlets - lovely.

There are two restaurants, both menus offer plenty of choice for meat and fish eaters. As vegetarians, and despite the resort being notified in advance, we found the choice limited - one evening I was given green salad for both courses!

I cannot recommend this resort highly enough it really is a little piece of heaven.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Gingersheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

My husband and I spent 5 nights at Bunga Raya resort last week in a pool villa. The entire experience was incredible. The room was fantastic - large, right on the beach and the plunge pool was great (bigger than we expected). The minibar was complimentary including tiger beer which impressed my husband.

We went snorkelling at both Bunga raya and Guyana which was great. We also went on the flying fox. We both had massages in the spa- very relaxing!

I asked the hotel to organise a fishing trip for my husbands birthday, which was fantastic. The hotel even cooked come of our fish for dinner and didn't charge a cent for it.

The staff were overly friendly. It was very quiet while we were there which was the only thing we were upset Aout. More people should experience this beautiful place.

A few recommendations to make it even better:
- replace the minibar with cooled drinks. We occasionally wanted a drink but they were warmed
- keep the plunge pools filled up because we had to refill ours to keep the pump working well
- maybe use a shampoo that is a little less strong (the hotel actually gave me a different one when I mentioned it)
- have a return boat from kk a little earlier than 10:30 or later than 4 to kk. We had to go to kk one night for dinner and would've liked to come back a little earlier

Definitely keep up the happy hour free drinks!!

Special thanks to all the wonderful staff. In particular johnny (fishing trip), Zam and Zan, Lydia, Jennifer, Chris (flying fox), fauzi (for your dancing!) and all of the other staff who made our trip so memorable.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Pip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Gaya
3.7 km away
Gayana Eco Resort
Gayana Eco Resort
#3 of 3 in Pulau Gaya
480 reviews
20 km away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
13.8 km away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#10 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 km away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,207 reviews
7.7 km away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
7.8 km away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bunga Raya Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunga Raya Island Resort & Spa

Address: Polish Bay, Pulau Gaya 88778, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Pulau Gaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pulau Gaya
Price Range: €192 - €436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bunga Raya Island Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As sensual and exotic as the hibiscus flower that bears its name, Bunga Raya Island Resort is a luxurious jewel set on a coral reef island just off the coast of Borneo. A secluded island hideaway of 47 timbered villas, the resort is framed by white sand beach and virgin jungle. Hillside villas reflect the simplicity of the Borneo architectural style. A hilltop spa blends the finest Traditional Asian and Western treatments using restorative powers of indigenous plants and oils. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Preferred Hotels, Agoda, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bunga Raya Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bunga Raya Island Resort And Spa
Bunga Raya Island Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing