We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (227)
Filter reviews
227 results
Traveller rating
156
54
7
8
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
156
54
7
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsisland hoppingcountryside tourchocolate hillsthe owneroff the beaten tracktarsier sanctuaryincluded in the packagestar fishriver cruisea wonderful staycity lifetables and chairsalona beachdolphin watchingspacious bathroomtourist spotsamazing food
Filter
Updating list...
173 - 178 of 227 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2011

What a brilliant holiday! The perfect combination of relaxation and things to do - the solution to all of our previous holiday struggles!

Paul and Ara were wonderful. They made us feel so welcome and comfortable and that we must do exactly what we wanted to do when we wanted to do it. Everything just pottered along swimmingly, and we soon got into the swing of life at Isla Hayahay: if we wanted to snorkel later, we'd snorkel later. If we wanted to eat early, not a problem. Everything was tailored to however our day panned out - and there wasn't a hint of stress or a deadline in the air and we lost track of time almost instantly.

The activities were great - and just the right balance. The boat trip out to the islands was out of this world - you just don't ever think you'll get to see such places except on postcards. There is snorkelling off the little beach, and our favourite was taking a boat out to snorkel over the giant clams. The tour of the island was absolutely fascinating, and I really recommend taking one of their package deals which includes all of the above and more. There were plenty of people staying at the resort who went diving everyday too - we're just not that brave yet....

The food was fantastic -proper home cooking and the tastiest we've had in the Philippines, and plenty of it. The staff were outstanding - full of character, warmth and charm. They worked hard but seem to love their work, and their employers.

The accommodation was nothing fancy, but it was very clean and spacious and we spent most of our time outside or in the main area anyway. The airport transfers were efficient and the flight from Manila only an hour.

I'm not surprised at how highly this is rated on Trip Advisor. We will be going back without a shadow of a doubt - our best holiday yet!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JMS97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2011

We booked a 4-day, 3 night stay at the Isla Hayayay. It was a truly amazing experience.

We really enjoyed the remote location (1-hour drive from the airport) and cottage feel. There are 8 lodges in total. The accomodations are simple, but clean and comfortable. There is also a common area where you can gather that has television/dvd player as well as a library of books and DVDs. In this area, there is also free wifi access.

The resort owner (husband Paul and wife Ara) were great, nice and friendly. We were picked up promptly by Paul at the airport. When we first arrived to the resort, we were treated to a nice delicious meal. Ara is an amazing cook, cooking all three delicious meals of the day, many of which were seafood caught on the same day. Her curried crab and giant prawns (cooked in mounds of garlic butter) are to die for. Huge portions. You won't go hungry.

Paul/Ara arranged great tours for us - which are all paid for as part of your packages. On our first full day, we enjoyed a day of island hopping - including visiting this beautifully remote and tiny island. We also arranged a separate introductory scuba diving tour that took us 11 meters deep. The marine life is beautiful, the corals alive with life - unlike some of the ruined corals in the Caribbean.

The second day, we did a full-day country side tour, seeing the cool Chocolate Hills and tarsiers among other things.

We really enjoyed this resort experience. It was simple, nothing fancy/more cottage like, but very clean, down-to-earth and comfortable. The only suggestion we have is to bring bug spray with you, because during dawn/early morning and dusk, the mosquitoes are out in full force.

We recommend this place - and a pair of friends have already booked it. For those who do take us up on our recommendation, have an awesome time!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

Stayed here with my boyfriend in early November. Like many of the other reviewers we did a 4 night, 3 day package with an extra day tagged on. If you're looking for a place off the beaten track to relax with some brilliant excursions thrown in this is the place for you. If you're looking for luxury then it isn't a luxury resort. The service is brilliant - from our pick-up at the airport (after we were delayed for three hours, they were still waiting patiently!) to the food which was some of the best we've had on holiday. We were the only people there which sometimes felt a bit isolated, but that's not necessarily Paul & Ayla's fault! The rooms aren't the most luxurious by any standards, they could do with a revamp. There is air-conditioning which works but it's very noisy - so if you're a light sleeper who needs air con it might not be the best option. The fact there there is TV & the owners let you use their internet, read their books etc is really good especially when the tropical storms hit! The tour of the island is brilliant - well worth doing! Definitely go to the chocolate hills.
All in all it's really good value for money - if you're after a remote backpacker paradise this is the place for you. Thanks to all the staff for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travel0830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2010

This isn't the place you go to party...this is the place you go to relax!! As long as you have your mind set on relaxing, you'll enjoy it.
Stayed here as the only guests in late november. Chose a package deal which was worth every penny. Spent 4 days and 3 nights not having to think at all...the food was absolutely delicious(all in all the best on our 2 month trip!)
The day trips were interresting...Snorkelling near the giant clam sanctuary was brill actually, nice to see that the corals and marine life were thriving. 2 months and MANY snorkelling trips later, this came in 2nd place, only Coron was better. Accommodationwise; the beds were dead comfy, the a/c worked/ there was pleany of water WITH pressure, and it was clean. Telly with plenty of channels for the rainy days.
The owners Paul and Ara and the rest of the staff were friendly, at times funny and helpfull. All in all, I had a great time here.
P.S; tropical climate with tropical, rather hungry mosquitoes...don't forget the repellant!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trine1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2010

My mom and I stayed there for 3 days 2 nights. Had the countryside tour on the second day and we were accompanied by no less than the owner herself Ms. Ara. The experience was great and she and the driver were patient enough as my mom & I were enjoying the scenic view. Afterwhich, we spent some time snorkelling ang Sir Paul, like his wife, was truly kind to assist me in my first-time snorkelling. If u're looking for the best spot to do some relaxation while enjoying great food, Isla Hayahay is definitely the place for u! Thanks a lot Sir Paul and Ms. Ara!

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Minchin08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews