We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect snorkeling, people and food although not a postcard "commercial beach" setting”
Review of Isla Hayahay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Isla Hayahay
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Calape
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 January 2011

Here is an extract from my email to the owners after returning home:

Thanks for your kind attention such as the special birthday cake, arranging the island tour and caring for my daughter’s foot when she scratched it on corral. My daughters described the snorkeling experience as an awesome visit into Nemo’s aquarium…. We are all hoping to revisit your quiet retreat at the end of the mangrove causeway some day and scuba dive when we do.

Recommendation: take only a half day tour to Chocolate Hills, the rest of the Bohol tour is of lesser interest when compared to the marine life and quiet isolation available at the resort.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ZOOPING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
There are newer reviews for Isla Hayahay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

170 - 174 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2011

What a brilliant holiday! The perfect combination of relaxation and things to do - the solution to all of our previous holiday struggles!

Paul and Ara were wonderful. They made us feel so welcome and comfortable and that we must do exactly what we wanted to do when we wanted to do it. Everything just pottered along swimmingly, and we soon got into the swing of life at Isla Hayahay: if we wanted to snorkel later, we'd snorkel later. If we wanted to eat early, not a problem. Everything was tailored to however our day panned out - and there wasn't a hint of stress or a deadline in the air and we lost track of time almost instantly.

The activities were great - and just the right balance. The boat trip out to the islands was out of this world - you just don't ever think you'll get to see such places except on postcards. There is snorkelling off the little beach, and our favourite was taking a boat out to snorkel over the giant clams. The tour of the island was absolutely fascinating, and I really recommend taking one of their package deals which includes all of the above and more. There were plenty of people staying at the resort who went diving everyday too - we're just not that brave yet....

The food was fantastic -proper home cooking and the tastiest we've had in the Philippines, and plenty of it. The staff were outstanding - full of character, warmth and charm. They worked hard but seem to love their work, and their employers.

The accommodation was nothing fancy, but it was very clean and spacious and we spent most of our time outside or in the main area anyway. The airport transfers were efficient and the flight from Manila only an hour.

I'm not surprised at how highly this is rated on Trip Advisor. We will be going back without a shadow of a doubt - our best holiday yet!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JMS97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2011

We booked a 4-day, 3 night stay at the Isla Hayayay. It was a truly amazing experience.

We really enjoyed the remote location (1-hour drive from the airport) and cottage feel. There are 8 lodges in total. The accomodations are simple, but clean and comfortable. There is also a common area where you can gather that has television/dvd player as well as a library of books and DVDs. In this area, there is also free wifi access.

The resort owner (husband Paul and wife Ara) were great, nice and friendly. We were picked up promptly by Paul at the airport. When we first arrived to the resort, we were treated to a nice delicious meal. Ara is an amazing cook, cooking all three delicious meals of the day, many of which were seafood caught on the same day. Her curried crab and giant prawns (cooked in mounds of garlic butter) are to die for. Huge portions. You won't go hungry.

Paul/Ara arranged great tours for us - which are all paid for as part of your packages. On our first full day, we enjoyed a day of island hopping - including visiting this beautifully remote and tiny island. We also arranged a separate introductory scuba diving tour that took us 11 meters deep. The marine life is beautiful, the corals alive with life - unlike some of the ruined corals in the Caribbean.

The second day, we did a full-day country side tour, seeing the cool Chocolate Hills and tarsiers among other things.

We really enjoyed this resort experience. It was simple, nothing fancy/more cottage like, but very clean, down-to-earth and comfortable. The only suggestion we have is to bring bug spray with you, because during dawn/early morning and dusk, the mosquitoes are out in full force.

We recommend this place - and a pair of friends have already booked it. For those who do take us up on our recommendation, have an awesome time!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

Stayed here with my boyfriend in early November. Like many of the other reviewers we did a 4 night, 3 day package with an extra day tagged on. If you're looking for a place off the beaten track to relax with some brilliant excursions thrown in this is the place for you. If you're looking for luxury then it isn't a luxury resort. The service is brilliant - from our pick-up at the airport (after we were delayed for three hours, they were still waiting patiently!) to the food which was some of the best we've had on holiday. We were the only people there which sometimes felt a bit isolated, but that's not necessarily Paul & Ayla's fault! The rooms aren't the most luxurious by any standards, they could do with a revamp. There is air-conditioning which works but it's very noisy - so if you're a light sleeper who needs air con it might not be the best option. The fact there there is TV & the owners let you use their internet, read their books etc is really good especially when the tropical storms hit! The tour of the island is brilliant - well worth doing! Definitely go to the chocolate hills.
All in all it's really good value for money - if you're after a remote backpacker paradise this is the place for you. Thanks to all the staff for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travel0830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2010

This isn't the place you go to party...this is the place you go to relax!! As long as you have your mind set on relaxing, you'll enjoy it.
Stayed here as the only guests in late november. Chose a package deal which was worth every penny. Spent 4 days and 3 nights not having to think at all...the food was absolutely delicious(all in all the best on our 2 month trip!)
The day trips were interresting...Snorkelling near the giant clam sanctuary was brill actually, nice to see that the corals and marine life were thriving. 2 months and MANY snorkelling trips later, this came in 2nd place, only Coron was better. Accommodationwise; the beds were dead comfy, the a/c worked/ there was pleany of water WITH pressure, and it was clean. Telly with plenty of channels for the rainy days.
The owners Paul and Ara and the rest of the staff were friendly, at times funny and helpfull. All in all, I had a great time here.
P.S; tropical climate with tropical, rather hungry mosquitoes...don't forget the repellant!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trine1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calape
29.7 km away
Ocean Suites Boutique Hotel Bohol
Ocean Suites Boutique Hotel Boho...
#1 of 11 in Tagbilaran City
396 reviews
82.6 km away
J&R Residence
J&R Residence
#2 of 6 in Anda
223 reviews
82.8 km away
Anda White Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
79.1 km away
Amun Ini Beach Resort & Spa
78.2 km away
Blue Star Dive & Resort
27.4 km away
MetroCentre Hotel & Convention Center
MetroCentre Hotel & Convention C...
#2 of 11 in Tagbilaran City
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isla Hayahay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isla Hayahay

Address: Barangay Lomboy, Pangangan Island, Calape, Philippines
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Bohol Province > Bohol Island > Calape
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Calape
Price Range: €24 - €58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Isla Hayahay 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Islahayahay is a fully equipped boutique resort, and it is situated in the peaceful Barangay of Lomboy on Pangangan Island, Calape, Bohol. Pangangan Island is designated as a marine conservation area, and is an ideal location for snorkeling, diving and ecological adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Isla Hayahay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isla Hayahay Hotel Calape
Isla Hayahay Hotel Bohol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing